• Hello, first post on aa.org! Did post this too on BGG, with some editing.

Just bought AA41, played Classic a zillion hours way back, was looking to scratch a wargaming itch and 3a-41 fits juuuuust fine. Friends (mostly poker and PS4 fiends) love it (“Like Risk on steroids”).

Still, the first two sessions were nowhere near to completion, but that’s only logical. 1st game I played all three Allies against two opponents, 2nd game I played both Axis.

In the 1st game Germany was reluctant to attack, so Russia buffed up Moscow pretty up to the max. If we had another hour, there was to be a 20 against 20 unit monster battle.

Second game, I took Moscow in four rounds, but UK put up very fierce resistance. So when we called it a night, it was pretty much a draw, with me having the initiative, but by no means was capturing another capital a cakewalk.

Now “they” say that you could play this game in two hours tops. I highly doubt it… I’m no expert, but I’m no noob either and my group will adapt very quickly. So I suspect we’ll have some long nights and I’m looking for ways to shorten them up.

Plus, I also did a solitary run and boy, it was something… I quit after three nights… it was a Slugfest to end all slugfests… anyway.

So I was thinking, what about some houserules, to fiddle with the setup, some transport rules, other small stuff and, most importantly, add a couple of special one-time use tokens. So here we go. Mind you, I have not tested anything, these are just some thoughts, am hoping on some feedback on how these might work out. The goal is to speed up gameplay, create epic decisions, shorten the game.

IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER:

• Reduce transport cost to 4 IPC’s …or… allow more troops to move (3 inf, 2 inf + 1 tank, 2 tanks)

• Destroyers can transport 1 infantry

• Special tokens (one-time use):
      o “Charge!”: all infantry attack with 2
      o “Rally the troops”: all infantry defend with 3