October 15, 2018, 06:57:14 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about submarines.  (Read 300 times)
JapanPlayer
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 16


View Profile
« on: August 18, 2018, 08:17:08 pm »
+1

Hello all. I haven't posted in a while. Apologies if this is spam. I've read the rules for this version a million times but I can't seem to determine the rules about submerging.

It states clearly that destroyers do not negate submerging but they do negate first strike.
I guess what I'm asking is: 1. When are attacking or defending subs allowed to submerge allowed to submerge?

2. Also there is a clause that states that defending submarines can choose to fire after attacking units have rolled to attack. If there are units that have scored one hit on one defending submarine does it still have the submerge option or does it have to shoot back like normal and die? I'm so confused. Sorry if this is spam again.
Logged
barney
A&A.org Fighter
*
*
*
*****
Posts: 1366


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2018, 11:34:30 pm »
0

Is not spam is a question Smiley

so if sub is attacked by a DD it has to take it's lumps and then has the choice to shoot back or submerge. If it shoots back, then the DD, if not slayed, gets to attack again ( along with the rest of the gang ).

So sub attacks, surviving defender units fire back. Sub is attacked with no DD, sub can submerge or fire back. Sub attacked with DD, sub has to take a round of shots and then can submerge or fire back.

Logged
JapanPlayer
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 16


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2018, 09:44:19 pm »
0

Barney, thank you so much. That was so much simpler than this rulebook. I can swear that even global has simpler rules regarding subs. Haha.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4723


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2018, 03:44:51 am »
+1

Sorry, barney, but that's not entirely accurate.  Defending subs must endure one round of attacker fire before they can submerge whether or not the attacker has a destroyer.  See the FAQ for extensive information about subs.
Logged
barney
A&A.org Fighter
*
*
*
*****
Posts: 1366


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2018, 04:02:44 am »
+1

No reason to apologize Krieghund, I appreciate the correction.

To think i've been playing it wrong all these years  tongue
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2018 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]

Latest Articles

I Will Never Grow Up Games



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Partner: Historical Board Gaming
Silver and Bronze Partners
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!