• I’m a beginner to Axis & Allies. I have the 1941 edition (the basic one, sometimes people seem to be talking about a different one when they mention 1941). I’ve played as the Axis twice and the Allies once against my brother. All three times the Allies have won (we haven’t played the game until the end, just until Japan is defeated).

It seems to us that the Allies have an advantage in 1941. While bearing in mind we are total beginners and made a decisions that didn’t turn out well; we did try varied tactics each time but the Axis side couldn’t win. I don’t know whether I am approaching the Axis side the wrong way. The big problem seems to be how the USA is greatly superior to Japan in economic power. The USA can recover quickly from losses while Japan struggles to recover in the short-term.

Here’s a rough description of the three games we have played as best as I can remember. I would appreciate it if someone could point out mistakes that I may not have noticed or better approaches to take.

First game (I’m playing as Axis)
    Japan makes gains quickly in China and Indochina, defeating the American infantry there. Later there is some conflict with British forces in India but Japan does not manage to expand any further. Australia and South East Asia was generally ignored. Japan’s forces on the mainland and naval fleet build-up but don’t really do much.
    Germany advances rapidly into Russia but I make the mistake of attacking Moscow too quickly (not realising how good infantry are in defence!) Germany’s military is severely depleted and does not capture any more territory. Germany’s navy is non-existent and the Allies have total control over the Atlantic.
    Russia really doesn’t do all that much in this game. Some territories such as Karelia and Ukraine move back and forward between Russia and Germany. The USSR is not really able to be offensive against Germany but Germany cannot defeat Russia either.