November 18, 2017, 08:37:55 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Sea zone hostile questions  (Read 2965 times)
Corpo24
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 91



View Profile
« on: August 29, 2016, 11:10:38 pm »
0

So I will do my best to explain these questions.  I have been playing every axis and allies game for years, but sometimes you always forget some rules lol. 

1.  On turn one Japan did not declare war on the allies and moved its massive fleet off French Indo China with two infranty on a transport.  On UK's turn, they sent a destroyer to join the huge Japanesse fleet off French Indo China.  That's ok because they are not at war with each other yet and they can share the same sea zone.  Boom! Anzac declares war on Japan on its turn.  On Japan's second turn that sea zone has now become hostile right?

2.  Since that sea zone which I'm pretty sure is hostile now, can the transport with two men unload into French Indochina? Or they can unload once the naval battle is over and Japan  obviously has  to win?

3. Last question:  since the sea zone which I think is again a hostile sea zone, can I bring in more naval units and transports with land units to unload? Or only on the non combat?

Let me know what you guys think.  Why does the UK destroyer have to make things miserable for everyone lol
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5257


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2016, 12:57:31 am »
0

1.  On turn one Japan did not declare war on the allies and moved its massive fleet off French Indo China with two infranty on a transport.  On UK's turn, they sent a destroyer to join the huge Japanesse fleet off French Indo China.  That's ok because they are not at war with each other yet and they can share the same sea zone.  Boom! Anzac declares war on Japan on its turn.  On Japan's second turn that sea zone has now become hostile right?

That's correct. To be precise the seazone has become hostile at the moment ANZAC declared war.

2.  Since that sea zone which I'm pretty sure is hostile now, can the transport with two men unload into French Indochina? Or they can unload once the naval battle is over and Japan  obviously has  to win?

The "Sea Units Starting in Hostile Seazones"-rules (page 13, Pacific Rulebook) apply. Japan has to clear the seazone before unloading.

3. Last question:  since the sea zone which I think is again a hostile sea zone, can I bring in more naval units and transports with land units to unload? Or only on the non combat?

During the combat move phase you can of course bring additional units for the purpose of supporting the naval combat and the amphibious assault.
In NCM you can bring additional units and unload, if the seazone is friendly then and the territory had been conquered before.

HTH smiley
« Last Edit: August 30, 2016, 01:17:25 am by P@nther » Logged
Corpo24
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 91



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2016, 07:16:25 am »
0

Thank you Panther for the quick response! Smiley
Logged
Bravehart
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 195



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2016, 04:22:04 pm »
0

A follow up Question,

If you option to attack the Hostile Sea Zone, but then want to retreat, where do you retreat to, one Sea Zone near by?

BH
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5257


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2016, 10:29:28 pm »
0

If you option to attack the Hostile Sea Zone, but then want to retreat, where do you retreat to, one Sea Zone near by?
...

The retreat rules still apply:

Quote from: rulebook, Pacific 1940, 2nd Ed. , page 20
Condition B - Attacker Retreats
The attacker (never the defender) can retreat during this step. Move all attacking land
and sea units in that combat that are along the battle strip to a single adjacent friendly space
from or through which at least 1 of the original attacking land or sea units moved. In the case
of sea units, that space must have been friendly at the start of the turn. All such units must
retreat together to the same territory or sea zone, regardless of where they came from.

So you need to establish a retreat route during the Combat Move Phase.
It would be enough to leave the Seazone and come back to the Seazone with one ship.
Or bring another ship (if possible).

HTH smiley
« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 10:31:11 pm by P@nther » Logged
Bravehart
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 195



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 19, 2016, 10:54:30 pm »
0

Thanks P@nther for the re fresher answer!

I assume if your option is for an exit is better than to attack, get out fast!

In some cases, rare I know, your enemy may have you surrounded in adjacent Sea Zone's, so you pick your best option.

BH
Logged
Mikrotiksn
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2017, 03:38:55 pm »
0

China needs to legitimize their hold over these fake island bases theyve conjured up. Every time they challenge us or some other power over them, and we back down, it makes their foot-hold a little more legit.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!