December 17, 2017, 11:17:26 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Rolling hits and taking casualties or Planes vs Subs  (Read 2336 times)
IdaRed
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 59


View Profile
« on: August 19, 2015, 05:09:11 pm »
0

During combat phase we have always rolled separately for units that require special rules. e.g. aircraft and subs when no destroyer is present.  We just assumed that was how it should be or maybe we learned that in another game.  While reading through the rulebook, I just noticed that that is not how it works if you read it literally.  The rulebook actually says to roll for all units with the same combat value and then assign hits up to the maximum possible.  It says nothing about rolling separately for ships and aircraft.  Am I reading that correctly?

In other words, if I have a battleship, cruiser, 2 fighters and a bomber attacking an enemy battleship and 2 submarines, I can roll 3d6 and 2d6 without worrying about whether it was my ships or planes that hit as long as the number of hits do not exceed the number of eligible attackers. So when I roll 3d6 and roll 3 3's, the defender has to take his BB and 1 sub since the planes could not hit the second sub.  But if I only rolled one hit, then the defender could choose any unit as a casualty because it could have been my cruiser which scored the hit, regardless of which dice it was. Right?

   
Logged
drsnidely
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 58



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2015, 05:55:39 am »
0

Technically i think you're right but my group had always rolled separately as well. It's just less confusing that way and eliminates arguments.
Logged
Fuhrer of the Third Reich
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 24


I am Hitler, Commander of the Red army


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2015, 01:00:41 pm »
0

I believe you roll seperately for subs, as explained by the suprise strike phase in the rulebook. However, planes i believe roll with the other combat units. For example, i have 2 fighters and 2 destroyers vs a BB and 2 subs. before the attacker rolls, the defending subs choose to either submerge or strike. If they submerge, they immediatly get put back on the game board. If they choose suprise strike, they roll and if both roll on a 1, the 2 destroyers are removed instantly since subs cant hit fighters. Then, the attackers roll normally along with the defending BB. This repeats until the BB is destroyed.


Sincerely, Hitler
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4686


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2015, 04:36:24 am »
0

Obviously you have to roll separately in cases where it matters which unit(s) scored the hits.  Otherwise, how would you know how to assign the hits to legitimate targets?
Logged
IdaRed
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 59


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2015, 06:02:49 am »
0

I was hoping you would show up Krieg, with some official answers.  Yeah, I'm being a little bit of a rules lawyer here but making the rules clear is important. Pull up the 2nd edition rulebook and look at page 17, Step 3.  It specifically states to roll all units with the same attack values together and to assign hits up to the maximum legal targets.  Roll your eyes if you like--go ahead--but I think a small caveat should be included in that first paragraph.  FWIW.

Thanks for the official answer, reading the rulebook late I night gave me second thoughts about how we had always played it.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4686


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2015, 07:17:49 am »
+1

I see what you're saying, but the Rulebook actually says to roll them "at the same time", not "together".  So, if you really want to get technical about it, you should roll the dice for the ships with one hand and the planes with the other, making sure not to "cross the streams" (as that would be bad).   cool wink
Logged
Private Panic
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 6790


Never give up! Never surrender!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2015, 09:05:14 am »
+1

Thanks for a clear answer Kreighund. This was a good question that for a moment had me unsure. Perhaps the dearth of answers from elsewhere suggests others felt the same way?
Logged
Cow
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 8008


MOO


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2015, 09:11:18 am »
+1

color coating rolling.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!