December 16, 2017, 01:47:42 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Kamikaze Carriers  (Read 1756 times)
leobarron2000
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 65


View Profile
« on: January 14, 2015, 09:25:39 pm »
0

I have never used kamikaze because it never came up. However, with the new rules they seem more plausible.

1. If the US fleet moves into the sea of Japan on a noncombat move (aka for taking points off of Japan) then can the Japanese, on their move, use the Kamikazes as part of a larger attack?

2. Kamikazes happen before the rest of combat. Does that mean that if they are used against destroyers and destroy them, then all the Japanese submarines get a sneak attack against the other ships in the defending fleet?

3. Does that also mean if the kamikazes are used against aircraft carriers (who are on defense) then the defending player cannot scramble aircraft from the carrier to defend against other attacks if the carrier is damaged from the kamikazes?

Thanks
Logged
knp7765
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 3057



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 09:59:04 pm »
0

I think you are confused about how to use Kamikazes. They are used on DEFENSE only. If an Allied power attacks Japanese ships in or launches an amphibious assault from any sea zone with the Kamikaze symbol, the Japanese player can use Kamikaze against the Allied warships.
Also, in the case of amphibious assaults, a Kamikaze strike counts as combat so it prevents bombardments from Allied battleships and cruisers.

In all three of your questions, it sounds like you are using Kamikazes on attack which they are not meant for.
However, in defense, if Japan has defending submarines and Kamikazes take out any Allied destroyers, then the defending subs to get to fire in the Surprise Strike phase of combat.
Also, if a Kamikaze scores a hit on an attacking carrier, while it does not keep any attacking fighters and/or tac bombers from the attack, at the end of combat the planes will not be able to land on that carrier, resulting in their loss unless there is a valid landing space in range.

I hope this helps you.
Logged
barney
A&A.org Fighter
*
*
*****
Posts: 1175


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2015, 11:00:00 pm »
0

just to add to knp's answer the kamikaze "attack" happens at the beginning of the combat.

so when US attacks Japan defends with a kamikaze "attack" anything killed by the kazis is removed before the US begins their attack
Logged
DessertFox599
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 79


Für den Vaterland!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2015, 08:08:00 am »
0

I like how the game implemented Kamikazes however having a limit to them sucks.  I am the kinda guy who would like to buy them maybe at 5 ipc? Any thoughts?
Logged
ShadowHAwk
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3384


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2015, 08:38:04 am »
0

I like how the game implemented Kamikazes however having a limit to them sucks.  I am the kinda guy who would like to buy them maybe at 5 ipc? Any thoughts?

Well atm they are kinda useless as the attacker can just attack with air+ subs + transports and then move in the carriers later. Which makes the kamikaze a non issue.
You idealy want to hit the carriers so the planes crash and you cannot do that on defence as the carriers will not be in the area.
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5301


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2015, 12:24:17 pm »
0

... Which makes the kamikaze a non issue. ...

At least they can prevent offshore bombardment.
Logged
ChocolatePancake
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 162


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2015, 01:05:09 pm »
+3

Eh, I disagree,  the Kamikazes are far from useless. If you're smart and keep your fleet mostly in Kamikaze zones like the Philippines, it often scares the allies off from attacking until/unless they have overwhelming force (which if they have, you've probably already lost in the Pacific anyways). It's a lot harder to defeat a Japanese fleet containing a bunch of loaded carriers and destroyers with just air + subs. Basically, they're highly useful as a deterrent.

I'm having difficulty imagining a scenario where being able to purchasing them for offensive purposes wouldn't be either completely overpowered or totally pointless, but that's really a discussion for house rules.
Logged
Young Grasshopper
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 6190


The Cliffside Bunker


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2015, 01:51:03 pm »
0

Just wanted to confirm what was menioned by KNP, that Kamikaze tokens may only be applyed to eligible sea units during the combat movement phase of the power attacking the Kamikaze sea zone.

Therfore, American subs and air units could clear out sea zone 6 of Japanese units, and then move their surface warships into the sea zone during the non-combat phase disallowing the legal use of kamikaze tokens.

I too think that kamikazes are fine the way they are, if they do get the opportunity to hit in a Kamikaze sea zone, they can be deadly to any allied attack using their surface warships (if used wisely), and the last thing Japan needs is a greater advantage.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 01:55:21 pm by Young Grasshopper » Logged
leobarron2000
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 65


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2015, 07:40:02 pm »
0

Thanks everyone. This helped clear up stuff.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!