September 22, 2018, 12:21:10 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Rules - Sub blocking a transport-only amphibious assault  (Read 8153 times)
Ashkayel
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 902



View Profile
« on: January 22, 2014, 11:36:22 am »
0

Hey,

I know I have seen this somewhere in a rulebook or in an errata (maybe in G40?), but IIRC a transport alone cannot amphibious assault from a seazone containing enemy subs because the subs can destroy it before offloading its troops. Am I right? Is this true for AA42?

For example, on G1, I destroy the SZ2 UK fleet and move a sub to the SZ next to France (SZ7 I think), does this move prevent the SZ1 UK Trn from unloading troops in WEu?

Thanks
Logged
dedo
A&A.org Artillery
*
*
**
Posts: 220



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 11:50:48 am »
0

"An enemy submarine and/or transport does not block any of your units' movement, nor does it prevent loading or offloading in that seazone." (AA42.1, Rulebook, p.11)

"An enemy submarine and/or transport does not block any of your units' movement, nor does it prevent loading or offloading in that seazone with one exception: a transport is not allowed to offload land units for an amphibious assault in a seazone containing on eor more ignored enemy submarines unless at least one warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the seazone at the end of the combat move phase." (AA42.2, Rulebook, p.11 and 13)

In my interpretation of the rules, the answer to your question would be: in AA42.1 you don't prevent the offloading, in AA42.2 you do.
Logged
Ashkayel
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 902



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 05:37:21 am »
0

Thanks. Krieghund, could you confirm this? I thought the rule was applied to AA42 and AA50 too.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4719


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2014, 08:25:40 am »
0

Dedo's right.  The rule was not retroactively applied to previous games.
Logged
Ashkayel
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 902



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2014, 08:27:44 am »
0

Ok! Thanks to both of you!
Logged
SteveO
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2018, 10:05:39 pm »
0

So happy to finally get the clarification on this. It's been bugging me. As usual, it's in the rulebook somewhere, just needed to find it!
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2018 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]

Latest Articles

I Will Never Grow Up Games



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Partner: Historical Board Gaming
Silver and Bronze Partners
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!