November 17, 2017, 01:23:15 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Official Answers to Questions by Krieghund  (Read 8631 times)
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« on: December 29, 2013, 09:48:30 pm »

Please do not post in this thread.  I will copy and paste questions and answers given by Krieghund here, so it is easier to look for his responses than sifting through 50+ pages in the FAQ thread.

As promised, here is the consolidated list of errata and clarifications, in order of appearance in the Rulebook.  It should cover all of your questions.  Larry and I have done some talking, and you'll find a couple of pleasant (I hope) surprises.  They are highlighted in red.


Original territories are the territories a major power begins the game with.  They are the territories that have only that power�s emblem on them.

If a minor power aligned to your power is mobilized by a friendly power, you take control of the territory.

If the colony of a minor power aligned to your power is moved into for the first time or captured by a friendly power, that power takes control of the territory.

If a minor power aligned to your power is captured by a friendly power, the capturing power takes control of the territory.  Only originally controlled territories can be liberated.

As the United States is neutral before it's at war, it has no friends or enemies; therefore it may not move units into territories controlled by other Allied powers.  It also may not load units onto transports before it's at war.

United States units may not be used to represent the mobilized forces of minor neutral territories before it's at war.

The Russian Revolution has the following effects:
Russia will no longer have a turn, and will no longer be considered to be either friend or enemy to any other power.
Serbia and Romania will be treated as minor neutral powers for the remainder of the game.
All Russian units outside of original Russian territories will be immediately removed from the board, and Russia will immediately relinquish control of any non-original territories it may hold, including those of formerly aligned minor neutral powers.  If units belonging to other Allied powers are in these territories, control will be established using the rules for moving all units on one side out of a contested territory (see �Land Units�, page 15), otherwise these territories will be uncontrolled until another power moves into them and will not mobilize units when entered.
Any original Russian territories that are contested at the time of the revolution will be considered to be shared for the remainder of the game.  Shared territories that have no Russian units in them will each have one Russian infantry added to them to represent Russia's interest in them.
Attacks may no longer be made by either side in original Russian territories that are either controlled by Russia or shared between Russia and the Central Powers.
The Central Powers may no longer move units into territories controlled by Russia.  Central Powers forces can move into or out of territories shared between them and Russia at any time, but the Central Powers must maintain at least one infantry unit in each such territory at all times.  Central Powers do not collect income from shared territories.  Rules restricting land unit movement out of contested territories (see �Land Units�, page 15) will not apply to these shared territories.
Other Allied powers may no longer move units into original Russian territories that are either controlled by Russia or shared between Russia and the Central Powers.  Any such units remaining in those territories at the end of their next respective turn will be removed from the board at that time.
Original Russian territories that are controlled by the Central Powers at the time of the revolution are considered to have no original controller for the remainder of the game.  If such a territory is captured by an Allied power, that power takes control rather than returning it to Russia.  If such a territory is left without units in it after a battle due to both sides being eliminated, it will not be controlled by any power (place any national control marker on it face down to denote this status) until a power moves units into it.


You can repair a battleship if it is in a sea zone that shares a naval base that is either controlled by you or a friendly power or is contested and was originally controlled by you or a friendly power.

Land units that begin the turn in contested territories can only be moved to territories that at the beginning of the turn were either controlled by your power or contained units belonging to your power.  (They can also remain at sea if moved by transport.)

Fighters may not fly over a neutral territory unless attacking it along with land units.
 
If the territory that shares a naval base with a mined sea zone is contested, only ships that belong to enemies of the original controlling power have to roll for mines.

If you are offloading units from a transport in a friendly sea zone and the transport has encountered mines during its movement, the mines are rolled for before the transport offloads.

If one of your loaded transports hits a mine in a sea zone it entered before it loaded some of all of the units, those units are returned to the territory or territories from which they were loaded and may not move in the current turn.  Of course, any units that were already on the transport before it entered the mined sea zone are lost.

If you are planning an amphibious assault or reinforcement, but some of your ships hit mines while attempting to deliver the units, you may call off the landing.

If you are moving units into a territory both by land and amphibiously, one infantry unit must move in by land, unless you already have one there.

When a defending multinational force gains air supremacy, all defending artillery are promoted.

If you take control of enemy capital on that enemy's turn due to his attacking you in that territory and losing, any units he purchased are returned to his storage box, and you collect the refunded IPCs.

You have to mobilize all of the units that you purchase in the same turn.

You can't mobilize sea units from a territory that was controlled by an enemy power at any point during your turn.

If you purchase a ship but realize during the Mobilize New Units phase that you have no eligible naval base to mobilize it with, it is returned to your storage tray, and the IPCs are refunded to you.

The British Empire cannot mobilize units in India if it is enemy-controlled.

Q.
I'm a bit confused by this excerpt:

"If you move all of your units out of a contested territory and leave only units from the other side there, the other side will immediately claim the territory (see Taking Control of a Territory, page 20). If the territory was originally controlled by a power on the other side, that power will take control (even if it has no units present)."

Do you have to leave an occupational force in captured enemy territory?

A.
No.  The rule says "and leave only units from the other side there".  If the territory has been captured, there will be no units from the other side in it.

Q
I think that means if you leave a contested territory.

A.
Correct.

Q.
If they attacked you, lost all their units, the territory stays theirs until your turn.
You can't leave, or it reverts back to their control.

A.
No.  If all of the units from one side are removed from the territory for any reason, it is no longer contested and will become controlled immediately.

Q.
Another question, can Austria-Hungary or Turkey declare unrestricted submarine warfare and if so does that force a US entry as well?

A.
No.

Q.
It remains contested even if the enemy killed themselves attacking you. But only in the case where they are trying to push you out of a territory they control.
If they fail to do so, it doesn't become yours until your turn.

A.
Wrong.

Q.
If the Ottoman Empire controls Constatinople, but has no naval units in sea zone 20, can a British battleship move freely from sea zone 19 to sea zone 20, where it rolls for mines due to the Ottoman naval base, and then continue on to sea zone 21?

A.
Yes.

Q.
The Russian Revolution optional rule is being used. Early in the game Russia had taken control of a neutral Holland upon a German attack and a few turns later was able, with British help, to drive the Germans out of Holland. Russian troops remain in Holland, which is controlled by Russia.
The next turn, the Russian Revolution occurs. Since Holland is Russian controlled, Russian troops remain in Holland, per the Russian Revolution Rules ("All Russian units outside of original Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories are immediately removed from the board, and Russia will no longer have a turn").
Does this mean that Germany and the other Central Powers may no longer attack Holland?

A.
Yes.

Q.
May Allied powers still move freely through Holland?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Once a particular power has been nominated to control a non-aligned neutral, or an enemy aligned neutral, it remains the nominated nation in that tt for that side for the rest of the game, even if the tt is lost and subsequently recaptured by one of my allies.

A.
No.  There is no concept of "nomination to control" - only to defend.  Control of minor neutrals is determined purely by whose units are present when control changes sides.  See "Taking Control of a Territory" on page 20.

Q.
Britain and France are defending in a contested tt. They have 1 infantry each remaining, and take one last hit. If they cannot agree as to who removes the last casualty, the attacking player decides.

A.
Yes.  See page 22.

Q.
"All Russian units outside of original Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories are immediately removed from the board, and Russia will no longer have a turn"
Why is this statement so confusing (guess it needs clarification though), after the Revolution happens the intent pertains to removing all Russian units outside of orig Russian territories.

A.
What's confusing about it?  Russian units that are in original Russian territories or Russian-controlled territories remain on the board.  Russian units that are in territories outside of Russia that are either contested or controlled by other Allied powers are removed.

Q.
This would include both types of territories possible where Russia might have units outside of original Russian tt.
Territories that Russia is contesting with the enemy out side of orig Russian tt.

A.
Yes, these are removed.


Q.
Territories that Russia has control of out side of original Russian territories. This would include Holland (if awarded the Russians), or any other territory that the Russians might have gained control of outside of orig Russian tt. It would also include both Serbia and Romania because they are not original Russian territories, they are minor powers aligned w/Russia.

A.
No, these stay.

Q.
The rule also goes on to say the CP is allowed to move in and out of original Russian territories that are controlled, or contested by the CP. The CP would have to leave an inf unit in a contested Russian territory though. The CP would continue to collect income from orig Russian tt they control, but I don't think they have to leave an inf in those tt.

A.
Correct.

Q.
If Holland is attacked the Allies nominate Russia as the controlling power of Holland. It does not matter if all the Russian units in Holland are eliminated, if the Allies hold Holland it remains under Russian control, and as the rules are written it is therefore immune to CP attack after the revolution.

A.
If Holland is attacked, the Allies nominate Russia as the defending power.  If the Central Powers take Holland and the Allies regain control, whichever Allied power regains control will have control of it.  Original control only applies to original territories.  See page 20 of the Rulebook.
However, if Russia happens to be the controlling power when the revolution occurs, Holland would indeed be off limits to the Central Powers.

Q.
I see what you're saying, and the rules do need to be clarified here that's for sure. There is also a one liner it the RR rules that says "effectively removing Russia from the war and the game". Once all Russian units out side of the Motherland are removed you would have to suspect the intent was to also give up control of said territory.

A.
Nope.  Russia gets to keep any territories it controls.

Q.
Can the US be chosen to represent forces in Switzerland if it is attacked on turn 1, if so is that an attack on the US and put them at war with the CP?

A.
No.  The US must be at war to be selected as the defending power.  This will be in the FAQ.

Q.
Also, what happens to allied units in Russia after a revolution. How do they get out?

A.
The same way as ever - they walk.

Q.
I have a question about activating/mobilizing a friendly minor power that is aligned to one of your allies.
Lets say Belgium (which is aligned w/France) hasn't been attacked yet. I know that the French can move in to activate Belgium on Frances turn, but if France doesn't bring them into the game, can the English move in to activate it and you place French units in Belgium?

A.
Yes.  The rules say "When the capital of a minor aligned power is entered by land units of a major power, whether friendly or enemy, the minor power�s forces are represented by pieces of the major power with which it�s aligned."  It is not specified that it must be the aligned major power.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2014, 08:24:22 pm by jim010 » Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2013, 09:58:34 pm »

Q.
The only thing is- why wouldn't the Allies always have Russia take control of any neutral power that the CP's attack, since in the event that revolution occurs, if said neutral territory is still russian controlled, the CPs cannot ever attack it?

A.
Let's use Holland as an example again.  The advantage of having Russia defend it is that if the Central Powers are pushed out and Russia ends up controlling it (this depends on a lot of factors, see pages 15, 19, and 20), it will be off limits if the revolution occurs.  The advantage of having a more local power, France for instance, defend it is that the defending units will be controlled by a power that has other units in the area that can attack along with those units if need be.  It depends on the situation and the players involved.

Q.
So if Russia takes Istanbul, and gets put into Revolution then the CPs can not liberate the Ottoman Capital?  This would be kind of gamey for the CP- they would back off of Russia so they could liberate Istanbul before Revolution occurs.

A.
That situation could occur, but I think it's highly unlikely.  Of course, it's always possible for the Central Powers to purposely avoid revolution if they want to.

Q.
Another question; can the UK freely move forces into Belgian and Portuguese colonies before the respective capital is activated?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Say Germany captures Angola. The the UK liberates it - does France get the Angola income even if Portugal has not been activated?

A.
No, the United Kingdom does.  Only territories originally controlled by a major power are liberated.  See page 20.

Q.
Can I assume from the above answers then that the UK can transport an infantry into Albania and activate that country (along with its 4 units) before Italy has even had a turn?

A.
Yes.

Q.
"'Say Germany captures Angola. The the UK liberates it - does France get the Angola income even if Portugal has not been activated?'

No, the United Kingdom does.  Only territories originally controlled by a major power are liberated.  See page 20."

Does that include Belgium? Or, do we consider that when Belgium was attacked and the French mobilized units to defend it, that country was first (and therefore originally) controlled by France?

A.
Yes

Q.
Or does "originally" in this sense specifically mean at the start of the game.

A.
That's what it means.

Q.
Austria-Hungary invaded Venice on turn 1, making it contested. On its turn, Italy pulls back to Tuscany, leaving 1 infantry unit in a still contested Venice. On Turn 2, can the Austro-Hungarian army leave some units in contested Venice and march the rest into Tuscany to be supported by an amphibious assault on Tuscany that does not require sea combat?

A.
No.  Tuscany was not contested at the beginning of Austria-Hungary's turn.

Q.
Lorraine is contested and contains French and German troops. Picardy is contested and contains British, French, and German troops. On its turn could Britain move troops directly from Picardy to Lorraine?

A.
No.  Lorraine did not contain British units at the beginning of Britain's turn.

Q.
Romania is contested and contains Ottoman and Russian troops. Galicia is contested and contains German, Austro-Hungarian and Russian troops. Budapest is uncontested and contains Austro-Hungarian troops. Could Austria-Hungary move troops from Budapest into Romania and then move troops from Galicia to Romania on the same turn?

A.
No.  Romania did not contain Austro-Hungarian units at the beginning of Austria-Hungary's turn.

Q.
I'm still a little confused by movement from contested tts into other contested tts:
(page 15)
Land units that begin the turn in contested tts can be moved... into tts that are also contested and already contain units that belong to your power.
Does this include those tts which have only become contested during the current movement turn?
`
A.
No.

Q.
Another situation I have is:
Venice is contested. Italy wishes to leave just one unit there and pull the rest back to Tuscany, which it controls.
If Austria on its turn amphibious assaults Tuscany from SZ 18, does this entitle Austria to move units from contested Venice through into Tuscany?

A
No.  (Is there an echo in here?)
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2013, 10:12:58 pm »

Q.
So an allied army can prowl around in the off limits territories, or walk from India to Finland and attack Sweden?

A.
Yes.

Q.
What if the allies attack and liberate a Russian territory on their way out of Russia.

A.
It becomes controlled by Russia.

Q.
Suppose France invades Spanish Morocco. Since this isn't a capital territory, no units are mobilized here correct?

A.
Correct.

Q.
And what about Spain? Does Spain mobilize units in response to this event or would it remain neutral?

A.
It remains neutral.

Q.
Can fighters being transported as cargo participate in amphibious assaults? And if so, can they be hit by defending artillery in the coastal fire?

A.
Yes to both.

Q.
While neutral, can American ships transport Allied units?

A.
No.  Allied units are not friendly to a neutral power.

Q.
Can neutral US share a SZ with Allies?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Can neutral US share a SZ with Central Powers ships?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Can neutral US be attacked separately by Central Powers ships while sharing a SZ with other Allies?

A.
No.

Q.
I think people are missing the fact that when you 'activate' a minor power, you don't 'own' it or 'control' it...you simply use your units to represent the power's army. Therefore, the only way Russia could 'control' Holland (as you pointed out) would be for the Central Powers to retake it, then have the Allies take it back, nominating Russia to control it.

A.
There are many factors that determine which power controls a territory when it becomes no longer contested.  These are outlined on pages 15, 19, and 20 of the Rulebook.  You don't always have a choice as to which power it will be, and when you do the choice may be limited.

Q.
If a US ship is lost to a German Mine is that considered an act of war against the US?

A.
No.

Q.
Kriegund seems to be saying that you cannot collect money from a neutral unless you take it by force.

A.
I never said that at all.

Q.
I had always assumed that if you defend as Holland, and win, you get to control and collect money for it.

A.
You do.  I'm just saying that the power that ends up controlling it may not be the power that was initially selected to defend it, depending on the circumstances.
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2013, 10:26:40 pm »

Q.
Continuing the minor country questions, if the UK activates Albania, who gets the IPCs and are Italian troops still used to represent the Albanians?

A.
Italy gets the IPCs and places the units.

Q.
Also, can non-infantry move to the capital without infantry if infantry are being purchased?  For example, I want to move an Austrian fighter from the east to the west with a stop in Vienna, but it is the only unit in Vienna at the end of the movement phase.  However, I have infantry that I purchased to be placed in Vienna at the end of the turn.

A.
No.  You must move infantry into a territory that doesn't already have at least one if you are moving other units there.

Q.
What is the status of the US navy before declaring war?
If their ships sail into SZs contested by the warring powers are they able to participate in naval combat, and under what circumstances?

A.
Only if they are attacked.

Q.
Say the US BB shares a tt with a French cruiser. A German cruiser moves in. Can the German ship:

1. Attack the French ship only, ignoring the (neutral) US BB?

2. Attack the US ship only, ignoring the French one (or must we assume that the US is at war the moment it is attacked, therefore the American and French ships defend together?)

A.
The German cruiser may either attack only the French ship or attack both.

Q.
Also, is it correct that if a tt with a SZ is enemy (i.e. not the original side) controlled the mines have no effect on either side?

A.
Yes.

Q.
I couldn't find these answear on this thread, forgive me if i overlooked it.
US can share a SZ with anyone until it declares war; but if US troops land on a french territory in europe with french troops on it, and germany later attacks that tt, do germany automatically declares war? Or can US share a land tt with the central powers as well (i guess not)?

A.
While the US is neutral, it is neither friend nor enemy to any other power.  Because of this, it may not move units into non-US territories, as such territories are neither friendly nor hostile to it.

Q.
Krieg, the rules do not say that, unless it is on another page.
On page 12 it states it may not move land or air units into Central Powers-controlled or Contested tts or attack CPs.
By omission, US units can land on Allied tts.
We all hoped this was not the case as we did not want to see US Units in Western Europe before it is at war, but the rules seem to say they could(by omission).
Please show me if I have missed this rule/point, thank you.

A.
I believe that is the definition of "neutral", is it not?
The rules allow the movement of land units into friendly, hostile, and contested territories (with a specific exception for minor neutral powers).  If no territories other than your own are friendly to you, you can't move into them.

Q.
Do US ships have to roll for both Allied and CP mines? (while neutral, off course)

A.
They don't have to roll for any mines, as they are no one's enemy.

Q.
If they US is neutral, can they attack another neutral such as Spain?

A.
No.  This will be in the FAQ.

Q.
Thinking about this a bit more; what if the US player moves ships including loaded transports into the SZ next to Kiel while still neutral during turn 4.�  Then the next turn the US is at war and may amphibiously assault Kiel without having to worry about the mines, because they are not moving into, or through a SZ containing mines.

A.
You need to think about it even more.  The US enters the war at the beginning of its fourth turn, not the end.

Q.
Britain captures Belgian Congo from Germany BEFORE Belgium is activated - who gets control/money?

A.
Britain.

Q.
Britain captures Belgian Congo from Germany AFTER Belgium is activated - who gets control/money?

A.
Britain.

Q.
Britain activates Belgium by entering before anyone else - who gets troops/control/money?

A.
France.

Q.
Britain liberates Belgium from Germany - who gets control/money?

A.
Britain.

Q.
Germany attacks Holland. Russia is nominated to control the Dutch forces, and they manage to defeat all the Germans - who gets control/money?

A.
Russia.

Q.
Germany attacks Holland. Russia is nominated to control the Dutch forces, and they manage to survive, but the tt is contested. Later, Holland is entered by France who defeat all the remaining Germans - who gets control/money?

A.
France.

Q.
Germany attacks Holland. Russia is nominated to control the Dutch forces, but they are all defeated. Later, Holland is entered by France who defeat all the remaining Germans - who gets control/money?

A.
France.

Q.
Are colonies of minor allies IN ANY WAY WHATSOEVER effected by what happens to their capital tt? Or are they, in effect, independent aligned neutrals with no defence forces.

A.
The latter.

Q.
Is Spanish Morocco, in effect, an independent non-aligned neutral with no defences?

A.
Yes.

Q.
It seems that neutral US land forces cannot enter non-American land tts, but they can share SZs with Allied ships; can they also share SZs with CP ships?

A.
Yes.

Q.
If CP ships attack Allied ships, do neutral US ships in the defending SZ take no part?

A.
That depends on the attacker, who may include the US ships in the attack or not.

Q.
Can the UK or Italy move into Congo/Angola/PE Africa at any time, and if so who gets control/money?� 

A.
Yes, and the attacking power would get control.
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2013, 10:33:56 pm »

Q.
Well this FAQ has certainly been helpful. Hopefuly we can have something written out by Friday? (at least the major issues)

A.
There will not be anything "official" by Friday, as we like to wait a while before publishing an official FAQ to see what issues pop up.  However, I will summarize the three errors in the Rulebook and the half dozen clarifications that I've made so far by then.

Q.
Has Krieg answered if battleships can repair at friendly ports? (not just their own)

A.
Yes, they can.  This is one of the errors I mentioned above - battleships can be repaired at any friendly naval base that is capable of mobilizing sea units.  The other two errors are that the US can't move units into neutral territories while it is neutral, and you must have been in control of a naval base at the beginning of your turn in order to mobilize sea units from it.
Note that control of a naval base is not the same as control of the territory that it's in.  You control a naval base if you either control the territory it's in or that territory is one of your original territories and it's contested.

Q.
This came up last night: Italy (on the same turn) took control of Trieste (by an unopposed land movement from Albania) and sailed a fleet into SZ 18.
Does Austria roll for mines against the Italian ships? My presumption is yes, since Trieste is Austrian controlled at the start of the Italian turn.
That is, all combat is considered simultaneous.

A.
Yes.  Italy doesn't gain control of the territory until the Conduct Combat phase.

Q.
To what extent does a fleet have to declare its intentions for a 2 space move?
I assume that a fleet sailing into enemy SZs can, if it hits mines in the first, decide not to continue to a 2nd even if it originally intended to.
But what if it intended to amphibiously assault after the 2nd move; is it still legal to call off the attack?
Example: Russian fleet sailing from Petrograd intending to AA Kiel but suffering from mines in SZ 11.

A.
Mines are rolled for after ship movement is completed, so you can't stop moving if you hit a mine in the first sea zone.  You can, however, call off an amphibious assault.


Q.
Are contested sea zones treated exactly as per contested land areas for movement purposes?

A.
There is no such thing as a contested sea zone.  Sea zones are either friendly or hostile, depending on the presence of enemy surface warships.


Q.
I guess to summarize, does control default to the original owner regardless of how the territory became contested?

A.
Yes.

Q.
OK, wrong terminology; what I meant was can a fleet sharing SZ1 with an enemy fleet sail away and attack an enemy fleet in SZ2 ignoring the enemy in SZ1?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Sorry if this has been asked already. I have some questions about amphibs asssults, air support and the order.
In an amphib does the defenders first strike art shot (kill shot) happen before the dog fight, or after the dog fight?
Sorry if there is more in the rule book about this, I very well may have missed it. What I've read about def first strike art don't mention air support (just says fire a kill shot at 3 or less). Plus and an attacking ftr offloading from a transport could be lost to def first strike art fire so there might not be a dog fight (from this thread?). I'm amusing the first strike art shot is done before the dog fight (and that's what I used below), of course if the dog fight was done first, them wouldn't it upgrade you def art for a kill shot @ 4 or less? (I'm so confused).

So you would do
1) Navy battle (if applicable).
2) Bombardment (if applicable).
3) Off load attackers units from transport
4) Defenders first strike art shot @ 3 or less (kill shot) if def has art.
5) Remove attackers causalities from units transported by sea from #4 , and they don't get to return fire (an attacking inf participating from adjacent land territory would suffice for "must have inf last man standing")
6) Dog fight to the death (if both sides have ftrs) determine air superiority.
7) Fight remaining land battle as normal (upgrading art if one side gains air support)

If the above order is wrong please set me straight

A.
The pre-emptive artillery strike is simply inserted before the land battle for assaults only (not reinforcements).  It is not affected by air superiority.  Any and all offloading units are subject to being hit, and are removed immediately.  The land battle ensues normally, with the exception of possible battleship bombardment being included (assaults only).  See page 22 of the Rulebook.

The order of events is:
1) Sea battle
2) Offload units
3) Pre-emptive artillery strike
4) Land battle (including battleship bombardment, if any)

Q.
In an amphib (sea battle was won by attacker, or nonexistent) if attacker has a ftr on a transport it does it participate in the dog fight as if it flew over right (subject to defending first strike art from above).

A.
Yes.  Remember, we're talking about battles that last weeks, if not months.  Amphibious air units (like tanks) are being unloaded in crates from transports and brought ashore.  During this process, they can be hit by the pre-emptive artillery strike.  After they are ashore (assuming they make it), they are prepared for fighting and may participate in the land battle.
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2013, 10:39:07 pm »

Q.
For the Revolution, must one of the "other" territories (the one needed in addition to the (at least) 3 adjacent territories) be a territory NOT adjacent to Moscow? In other words, if the CP control 4 territories adjacent to moscow but somehow control no others, does the Revolution occur?

A.
It can be any original Russian territory.

Q.
It's not terribly likely, but it seems that if other Allies are in Russia, they can cut off CP forces from being able to leave after the revolution occurs by liberating territories that would be on the CP routes out.

A.
Could be.

Q.
Looking at page 15, Germany, for example, cannot move out of a contested territory into a CP ally's controlled territory, correct? (sorry if echo)

A.
Correct.

Q.
Naval Bases belong to sea zones and territories, not just territories, correct? Ex., France cannot build sea units in zone 8 and 15, but only in zone 15?

A.
Correct.

Q.
For amphibious assaults, artillery firing at landing units are first strikes, however battleships are not? Seems odd...

A.
Yep.  It's all part of making amphibious assaults very bloody for the attacker.

Q.
Scenario: Germany owns Belgium and France owns Picardy. Neither are contested, and Germany has 2 transports loaded with 4 infantry in sea zone 9, while France has 4 artillery and 1 infantry in Picardy. Can Germany, on its turn, send 10 artillery into Picardy from Belgium, along with the 4 infantry from the sea, and bank on their being at least 1 infantry that survives the artillery bombardment? If so, what happens if they all die? Do the artillery have to retreat? If this tactic is illegal, what if France only had 3 artillery in Picardy, guaranteeing that at least one infantry would make it to shore. Is it legal then?

A.
This move is illegal.  At least one German infantry must enter Picardy by land.

Q.
You check for the "at least one required infantry being on each territory you control" at the end of your turn. If you don't have at least one infantry in a territory you control, you have to replace/demote a unit to an infantry.

A.
No, that rule only applies to newly mobilized units.

Q.
Can canadian units go into United States before they US is at war, so they can jump into american transports when at war.

A.
No.

Q.
Also can fighters take off from transports.

A.
No.

Q.
If a territory is controlled by an enemy power (their marker is on the tt and they are receiving IPC's), and the power that originally controlled the tt attacks, but all units on both sides are destroyed, does control revert to the original power, or the occupying power?
My best guess the occupying power, but it would be nice to get official clarification.

A.
From page 19 of the Rulebook:

Quote
In the rare event that no units from any power remain in the territory, the original controller of the territory will assume control. If the territory is a minor aligned power, the power that it is aligned with will assume control. If the territory is a minor neutral power, no power will assume control.

Once territories are contested (which happens as soon as an enemy force moves in), they have no "memory" of any previous controller other than the original one.  The original controller is the power whose sole emblem is on the territory (neutral territories, aligned or otherwise, have no original controller).
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2013, 10:41:03 pm »

Q.
So if someone spots that the rule is violated before combat begins, does the moving player have to take back the units altogether, rather than simply demote a unit?

A.
That's correct.  Of course, the error could also be corrected by moving an infantry unit in, if one could legally get there.

Q.
It says on page 15 paragraph 3 under land units, "if they are moved by transport, they may also remain at sea" therefor it implies they can be moved by sea from a contested territory but only to be moved into an existing friendly or already contested location

A.
Correct.

Q.
Are the other allies and the CP allowed to fight each other in original Russian territories if they are both in it contesting it at the time of the revolution? Knowing that if the other allies made such an attack they would be removed after the battle not being able to leave Russian soil in time (that turn).

A.
Yes.

Q.
Further more can the other allies and the CP attack each other in adjacent original Russian territories. Maybe the UK would rather kill some CP units instead of trying to get out in time (or can't get out in time). It says that other allied powers can no longer enter orig Russian territories, but does that also mean they can't choose to make an attack into another orig Russian territory if they are already in an orig Russian territory when the Revolution happens.

A.
The prohibition on entering original Russian territories applies to Allied units outside of Russia.  I'll amend the original post.

Q.
Can the Allies still attack Original Russian territory if it is held by the Central Powers

A.
Only those Allied units in original Russian territories at the time of the Revolution may do so, as further units may not enter those territories.  Of course, units that spend their one turn of remaining life attacking will not get out.

Q.
And if so does the territory go back to Russia or the Allied Power that captures said territory?

A.
It is liberated to Russia.

Q.
Was it always intended that the Americans cannot load up and sail transports before declaring war, or is a new ruling?

A.
I can't comment on that.

Q.
If a player buys units and then loses his capital (on his own turn), does he get a refund on ordered land units as per naval units?

A.
Sorry.  I meant to add that to the list.  I'll amend the original post.

Q.
(Incidentally, I don't think you should be allowed to buy ships for a naval base controlled by the enemy, even if you recapture it on your turn - ships took a long time to build!)

A.
You can't really.  You can't mobilize ships from a naval base you haven't controlled for your entire turn, and ships you can't mobilize are returned to your storage box and you get a refund for them.  If all of your naval bases are enemy-controlled at the beginning of your turn, you'll just get a refund for any ships that you purchase.

Q.
If British units in Russia attack and eliminate all CP units contesting a tt with Russia before the mandatory British disappearance, does the tt revert to Russian control and become off limits to the CPs?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Not quite sure how Russian and Central Powers can still contest a tt if they are no longer enemies.

A.
They can't really - they just share it, and neither party gets control or income.

Q.
As per my question above, can I assume that you cannot voluntarily demote a unit to infantry before movement in order to move into multiple tts ?

A.
Nope, so plan accordingly.

Q.
Do surviving Russian ships post revolution have any effect whatever?
If not, wouldn't it be simpler just to remove them?

A.
They are "Russian units outside of original Russian territories", so they are removed.

Q.
Krieghund, are you guys looking into making an optional rule for Constantinople controlling ship movement through the Turkish straight (maybe did something in testing, but scrapped it?). Just thinking out loud, but we (I) would like to hear if there might be something down the road on this.

A.
That's not going to happen.  There would need to be a sea zone on either side of the straits.

Q.
If you take control of enemy capital on that enemy's turn due to his attacking you in that territory and losing, any units he purchased are returned to his storage box, and you collect the refunded IPCs.
So to clarify this would mean that the power losing his capital on your turn would hand over any unspent IPCs (saved), and the refunded IPCs from the units he couldn't place as well (all IPCs go to the victor).
If London is taken in this fashion, the units the UK purchased could still be placed in India right (if they still control or contest it). Incidentally in the same situation UK ships could also still be placed off Wales (again if they still have control, or contest it).

A.
No units could be mobilized.  All IPCs (on-hand and refunded) would go to the power that captured the capital.

Q.
Does the U.S. collect income, purchase units, and mobilize them even while its still neutral?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Can the UK mobilize units in India if it is enemy controlled? (well the rules don't say otherwise).

A.
No.

Q.
Not sure if you are in a position to answer this one, but what was the rationale behind not allowing Germany to move from a contested territory to an Austrian-controlled territory but allowing them to move from a contested territory to another contested territory that happens to have 1 (or more) German(s) there?

A.
The reason for this rule is unfortunately very fiddly.  It's there to prevent can openers, which were way too effective against Russia in playtesting

Q.
France attacks and takes control of Kiel (german territory with naval base).  It landed one transport with inf.  It rolled for a mine hit against the lone transport which missed.  Britain, and then US unload several transports worth of units into Kiel, also taking no mine shots as France controls Kiel.  Next turn, Germany moves into Kiel contesting it.  Now when the allies try to reinforce the territory are they subject to mine fire?  I think according to the letter of the rules the territory is contested so the original owner has control of the mines but I dont see how this makes any sense.  All of a sudden the french controlled mines revert to complete german control just because they move some units into the territory? 

A.
It's all about control of the naval base.  Naval bases are controlled by the power that controls the territory, or by the original power if it's contested.  Control of the base gives you access to all functions dependent on it (mines, mobilization, repairs).
Bear in mind that a turn covers months of time.  That's enough time to clear or chart enemy mines and lay your own.

Q.
This one I think is clear but I just think its a little strange but I guess there is a reason for it (can opners?)  Austria has a number of units in a russian territory (lets say Russia) that is contested with Russian and Germans.  All the surrounding territories are controlled by Germany.  There is no legal way for Austria to move any units out of the territory as there are no other contested territories (with or without Austrians) surrounding it or any territories controlled by Austria (even though there are a number of friendly territories.

A.
Correct.

Q.
Quote
No, if you are in a contested territory w/enemy units your options are limited:
They can load to a transport (but aren't allowed to off load)
Where did you see this one? I must have missed it somewhere.

A.
Remaining at sea is an additional option for transported units, not the only one.  They can offload into any territory that meets the same criteria for eligibility as moving by land.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2013, 10:55:20 pm by jim010 » Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2013, 11:04:41 pm »

Q.
I re-read the ground unit section, they just say the units are allowed to stay at sea, maybe they spell it out elsewhere better (couldn't find it).

A.
Actually, they say the units may also stay at sea, indicating that it's an additional option.

Q.
Krieg, on PG 14 can you clarify when exactly the "one infantry in each army" rule takes effect.
If I win a battle in which I attacked with 10 arty and 2 infantry and lost 2 infantry, do I then have to convert one artillery at the end of my turn?
What about defensively, if that same 10 art and 2 inf are attacked, and I take 2 hits, do I have to remove 1 art & 1 inf or can I remove 2 inf defensively?

A.
You may only convert another unit to infantry in the Mobilize New Units phase, if the territory you mobilize in has no infantry after you mobilize.  It cannot be done at any other time.  In all other instances, you must insure that you always have one infantry in each territory through the movements you make and the casualties you take.

Q.
Finally, I'm growing increasingly worried about the fate of the 2 British infantry units who were being transported to Karelia when the Revolution was proclaimed. They were last recorded in the cargo hold of a Russian transport in SZ 6, awaiting orders from London to disembark at Archangel.
Did they:
1. drown in the icy waters of the White Sea when the transport did a Mary Celeste?
2. disappear into the labour camps of Siberia?
3. disembark at a friendly adjacent tt before the boat was decommissioned?
4. Vanish into thin air when the ship was beamed up by the martians?

A.
Let's go with 2.

Q.
I had an unusual situation last night. An Austrian fleet of 1 Damaged BB, 1 CA and 1 Transport occupied SZ 17. An Italian fleet, also 1 Damaged BB, 1 CA and 1 Transport, attacked the Austrian fleet. All four warships scored hits which wiped both fleets out leaving 1 Austrian transport and 1 Italian transport. Since all warships were killed, and transports have no attack or defense factors, they simply sit there and share that sea zone until an opposing warship comes along to sink one or the other.
Did we play this right?

A.
Yes.  Of course, they can also leave.

Q.
The rulebook states that tanks can absorb a free hit when attacking.  Does it repair automatically? 

A.
There is nothing to repair.  The hit is simply cancelled.

Q
Yes, but when exactly does a state of war begin? Can America attack German units immediately there is a hit, or does it have to wait until it loses money from the hit?

A.
The US must lose income.

Q.
If you are moving units into a territory both by land and amphibiously, one infantry unit must move in by land, unless you already have one there.
Does "already" in this case mean at the start of the turn like it usually does?

A.
Yes.

Q
Moscow was contested R & A. It is now shared. Austria can move out some units, but must leave at least one infantry there at all times.

A.
Correct.

Q.
The UK units in Livonia can attack the Austrians [in Moscow] in the one turn they get; any surviving Brits vanish into thin air (labour camps) at the end of the UK turn. If they defeat the Austrians, control of Moscow reverts to Russia.

A.
Nope.  "Attacks may no longer be made by either side in original Russian territories that are either controlled by Russia or shared between Russia and the Central Powers."

Q.
Finland and Kazakhstan were Russian controlled but empty. They are now no-go areas for both sides.

A.
Correct.

Q.
Livonia was contested B & G. A Soviet Commisar unit must be placed here to supervise local authority.

A.
Correct.

Q.
The enemies are free to attack each other [in Livonia]

A.
Nope.  "Attacks may no longer be made by either side in original Russian territories that are either controlled by Russia or shared between Russia and the Central Powers."

Q.
But the Brits must leave at the end of their turn.

A.
Correct.  Well, actually they must either leave during their turn or be removed at the end of it.

Q.
Poland, Belarus, Ukraine & Tartarstan were CP controlled. They may leave these areas empty, but still collect income from them. The Allies can attack them in their one turn in Russia.

A.
The Allies can attack them there any time that they want.  The prohibition against Allied occupation only applies to original Russian territories controlled by Russia or shared between Russia and the Central Powers.

Q.
Sevastopol is Russian controlled but occupied by the British Indian army. That army may:
1. Attack the Turks in Mesopotamia
2. Stay where they are and vanish at the end of the turn

A.
Correct.

Q.
In the above scenario, the British attack the Turks in Tartarstan or the Austrians in Ukraine, then vanish at the end of the turn

A.
They can attack, but they won't vanish at the end of the turn, as these territories are CP-controlled and will remain in play.

Q.
In the above scenario, the British attack the Turks in Romania and, if they survive, remain there

A.
Correct.

Q.
Since Sevastopol is Russian controlled, the CP forces may not attack the UK forces there and take control of the tt

A.
Correct.
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2013, 11:10:27 pm »

Q.
Am I correct that the sharing of the tt by the German and the Soviet negates the "contested" status between the German and the Brit, and that therefore the UK units may attack 1, 2 or all of the adjacent German controlled tts (2 of which are undefended)?
If I'm right, though, the British units who attack the German controlled Russian tts will survive and take control of the tt if they win, and even if the battle wipes out all units it renders the tt in effect an undefended neutral.
My assumption is that Commissars only come into operation in tts contested at the time of the revolution as stated, not thereafter.

A.
All correct.

Q.
If you have a minute, Krieg, is the issue I bring up in reply 318 (Western allies pulling the rug out from the CP in Moscow merely by having 1 unit survive to Russia's turn after Moscow is taken) something that you might be concerned about as being undesirable and/or against the spirit of the game/RR rules?

A.
At this point, I'm just about convinced that the Russian Revolution rules will be exploitable no matter what they say.  They're optional - don't use them them if you don't like them.

Q.
Can you jump your land units from your capital to your regional territories except colonies?

A.
No!

Q.
What is the meaning of: you can trace a line from your capital to all your regional territories except colonies?

A.
Land units can only move to adjacent territories.
Colonies are geographically separated from your capital.  You have to pass through a sea zone or someone else's territory to move from it to your capital.  Regional territories can be reached from your capital without passing through a sea zone or another power's territory.
For example Morocco is a colony, Marseilles is a regional territory.

Q.
I have a couple of things I found in the book that should be cleared up. I haven't read this entire thread so I apologize if either of these have been answered.
From Page 15 of the rule book:
Regarding Land Units that begin the turn in a contested territory. The last sentence says "If they are moved by transport, they may also remain at sea". Does this mean that land units in a contested territory can move ONTO transports?

A.
Yes.

Q.
From Page 19 of the rule book:
Regarding Attacking tanks ability to absorb hits. The last sentence says "For each tank you have, you remove one die that scored a hit from your side of the battle board." This is confusing because it sounds like you are removing one of YOUR hits. Your side of the battle board would be the Attacker side.
This should say "For each tank you have, you remove one die that scored a hit from the Defender side of the battle board."

A.
If you read the "Attacking Units Fire" and "Defending Units Fire" sections again, you'll see that when you score hits you place the dice that hit on your opponent's side of the battle board so that he/she will be able to record the hits.  As such, you do indeed remove the dice on your side, as they are hits that your opponent scored against you.

Q.You could move all those figures to the next space, leaving that infantry behind. However, as soon as you do that one of them must be demoted immediately.
As far as I'm aware.

A.
No.  Units may only be "demoted" to infantry during the Mobilize New Units phase, under the conditions stated on page 23 of the Rulebook.

Q.
I've combed the rulebook and I cannot find explicit language that explains whether or not, for example, France would get Portugal's IPCs added to its production if it dropped off an infantry in Portugal, thus mobilizing its allied minor nation. The closest thing I can find is an oddly vague reference that the allies *might* get Holland's IPCs, though I'm not sure under what conditions that would or would not occur, as the sentence does not explain that.
Can someone explain to me under what circumstances the IPC value of a minor nation is added to that of a major nation?

A.
When mobilized, aligned minor neutrals always generate units of the major power they're aligned with.  If mobilized by a friendly power, control goes to the major power they're aligned with.  After that, they're "up for grabs" and the major aligned power has no further claim on them.  The only exception is the rare situation in which all units on both sides are wiped out in a fight, in which case control goes to the aligned major power.
This only applies to captial territories of minor aligned powers.  Colonies are controlled by whoever moves into them or captures them, just as minor neutral powers are.
Speaking of minor neutral powers, the reference in the rules regarding Holland refers to the fact that no power has any inherent claim on them.  The fact that your units are mobilized there only means something if they happen to be in position to take control at some point.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2013, 11:13:49 pm by jim010 » Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2013, 11:34:08 pm »

Q.
Did we establish that in defence, victory in air combat promotes all defending artillery regardless of the fighter or artillery nationality?

A.
Yes.  See page 14 of this thread.

Q.
Is the small space between Egypt and Trans-Jordan controlled by UK or Ottomans? Why isn't it labeled and does it count for separate movement? ( meaning it takes two land moves to get to TJ.)

A.
It is part of Egypt.  See page 11 of the Rulebook.

Q.
Which a follow on question would be if you passed through a mined sea zone, then loaded and unloaded in an unmined sea zone but the transport hits a mine before it ever gets to the sea zone to load and unload.

A.
Interesting situation.  That never came up in playtesting.
If a loaded transport strikes a mine, any units that were loaded after the transport entered the mined sea zone are returned to the territory or territories they were loaded from.  As the movement phase is over, they can't move anywhere else.  They're just sitting on the docks waiting for a ship that will never come.

Q.
I think if this is the case it needs an actual change and notation in the FAQ/Errata. The rules clearly state that you roll at the end of the move phase, after all movement is done. The cargo would already have moved by the time the mines take effect.

A.
Read it again.  There is no conflict with the rule.

Q.
Mines are rolled, according to the rulebook, AFTER the movements. The cargo becomes cargo before the dice are rolled, and remains cargo through the mine roll if they don't unload that turn or if the plan is to unload after clearing the SZ.

A.
Yes.  That's why I said "any units that were loaded after the transport entered the mined sea zone are returned to the territory or territories they were loaded from" and "As the movement phase is over, they can't move anywhere else."

Q.
Come to think of it, according to the rulebook, transports that unload without combat can still unload their cargo even if struck by a mine:
"If the sea zone from which you are launching the assault or reinforcement is already friendly, you simply offload your units into the territory being reinforced during this phase."
The transports unloaded before mines were rolled, so there was no cargo aboard to go down with it.
I'm not trying to give you a hard time, I'm just trying to point out that mines are pretty unclear.

A.
This ruling covers that contingency also.  The units are considered to have never loaded onto the transport if it strikes a mine before it could load.

Q.
You've confirmed it is possible to call off an amphibiuos assault if you lose ships to mines, but is it possible to call off a 2nd sea movement if you lose some ships to mines from the first?

A.
No.

Q.
I think the reasoning for the current rule is to avoid interruption of the phase as well as not allowing players to see the outcome of mines while moving.

A.
Correct.  It also has the effect of increasing the effectiveness of minefields as a deterrent.

Q.
if a shore bombard hits, does that unit still fire back?

A.
Yes.

Q.
From what I get from the rule book, scenario 1 has no mine rolls and scenario 2 has rolls just for the transports that moved.  Correct?

A.
Yes.

Q.
When AH attacks an original Italian territory--Venice for example--and at the end of the round it is contested because AH and Italy both occupy it, does Italy lose the income at their collect income phase?

A.
No, Italy loses the income as soon as Austria-Hungary moves into Venice.

Q.
Can you move a Fighter into a contested zone where there is already an enemy fighter and you do not want to fight a land battle?

A.
Yes, as long as you are also moving an infantry in or already have one there.

Q.
Must the Fighter have combat with the enemy Fighter that is already present?

A.
No.  Combat is only mandatory when you move into a hostile territory, and fighters only participate in combat during land battles.

Q.
Quote
When Austria-Hungary attacks an original Italian territory--Venice for example--and at the end of the round it is contested because AH and Italy both occupy it, does Italy lose the income at their collect income phase?
Quote
No, Italy loses the income as soon as Austria-Hungary moves into Venice.
Hold on, this means that since Italy starts with 14, and if AH contests Venice turn 1, italy only has 12 ipcs to use on its first turn?  Basically, no country starts the game with a predetermined number of ipcs?

A.
No, that's not what it means.  When your territory becomes contested, you lose income (your marker on the National Production Chart moves down), not IPCs.  You still have the same number of IPCs to spend on your next turn, but you'll collect less at the end of that turn (unless you recapture the territory).

Q.
Regarding calling off an amphibious assault: can this be done due to the loss of ANY unit involved in the operation; for example a cruiser escorting the transports, or a Battleship intending to bombard; or must the loss include that of a transport carrying  the intended invading land units?

A.
The former.

Q.
The rules state that units being loaded onto a transport "must use their entire move to load onto and/or offload from a transport." A fighter's move is 2 spaces. Does this indicates that fighters cannot move 1 space into the coastal tt, then use the remaining 1 space of their movement as their "move" onto the transport?

A.
They cannot.

Q.
Like tanks in the WWII versions?

A.
They can't, either.

Q.
Also can land a plane on a transport if the transport is not on the coast, but still 2 movement spots away?

A.
No.

Q.
In other words you can call off the landing, but not the planned movement leading to the landing, even if it involves the transports moving 2 SZs including moving unescorted into a mined and hostile SZ?

A.
That's correct.

Q.
Apparently there's been some confusion about one of the clarifications:
Quote
If the colony of a minor power aligned to your power is moved into or captured by a friendly power, that power takes control of the territory.

A.
The intent of this clarification was to indicate which power takes control when the colony was moved into for the first time.  It was never intended that a power can steal a colony from another major power on the same side.  For example, if Italy moves into Belgian Congo initially, it gets control of the territory.  However, if all Italian units later leave the territory, Britain cannot move units in and take control.  Britain can only gain control if the Central Powers take Belgian Congo from Italy and then Britain retakes it.

Q.
I think the rule is that the Brits have to leave by the end of their next turn or be interned, and that that no other units of either side may ever enter the tt again.

A.
Correct.

Q.
Do I place a Russian "Commissar" unit there to indicate that this is an off-limits tt, rather than "empty" as a result of a wipeout?

A.
There's no need, as it's not a shared territory.  The fact that it's controlled by Russia indicates that it's off limits.

Q.
Unless I'm mistaken, according to the rules, transports can't move unescorted into a hostile seazone, so how does this work?

A.
They weren't unescorted when you moved them in.  It's your bad luck if they end up that way after rolling for mines.

Q.
But weren't the transports unescorted when they moved into the 2nd SZ after all the escorting warships had been sunk by mines moving into the 1st?

A.
Technically, no, because you complete movement (except for offloading) before you roll for mines.  At the end of the sea units' movement, the transports were escorted.
This is the way it is for two reasons.  First, it's a lot easier to just move the ships and then roll for mines encountered along the way and adjust for results than it is to worry about which ships move first and make decisions about movement based on the results of mine rolls (which also slows down the game).  Second, having unpredictable results from mine rolls and being stuck with the consequences gives mine fields a potency beyond their 1 in 6 chance of sinking a ship, making them a more formidable threat.

Q.
Do fighters movement end on combat? Or can a fighter move one space 'fight' then land on another space?
How about begin in a contested tt, after combat in that tt can the fighter move 2 spaces to somewheres else?

A.
All movement happens before combat (except offloading from transports in a hostile sea zone).  There is no "noncombat move" in this game.

Q.
Page 15 of the rulebook states that if you move all of your units out of a territory originally controlled by an opposing power, that power will take control even if it has no units present. In other words, you have to leave a garrison to retain control.

A.
No, it doesn't.

Q.
USA
1. AM i allowed to move US ships into a SZ containing Allied ships?
2. If the CPs attack those SZ will the US ships defend with the Allied ships?
3. Does this trigger US war entry?

A.
1.  Yes.
2.  That depends on the attacker, who may either include the US ships or ignore them.
3.  Only if the US ships are attacked.

Q.
Turn 3. No USW.
Germany moves a submarine and a loaded transport into SZ1.
Since the SZ is not hostile (America is not yet at war), can Germany now proceed to unload land units to invade America without having to engage the American cruiser in SZ1?
If not (because the invasion makes the SZ hostile) are mines also rolled for the German ships?
In other words, when exactly does SZ 1 become "hostile" to the Central Powers during this turn?

A.
I assume you mean turn 4, as no German transport could reach sea zone 1 on turn 3.  The declared amphibious assault would make the sea zone hostile, forcing Germany to roll for mines and fight a sea battle.

Q.
Is it allowed to ship austrian units from contested Triest to hostile but empty Venice?

A.
Not unless you load them on one turn and then wait until the next turn to do the amphibious assault.

Q.
My fleet is in a seazone containing an enemy minefield which it survived. Then the next turn my transport move out of this seazone, pick up troops from the bordering seazone and moves back into the same seazone, which still contains my other ships, to offload them. Do i have to face the minefield again?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Am I allowed to use a fighter from a contested tt for an attack in a tt that didnt contained units of my power at the begining of my turn?

A.
Yes, as long as you are also attacking with infantry.  Fighters are not subject to the same movement restrictions that land units are.

Q.
If I were to capture Ottoman for example, can I build troops in Ottoman's capital?

A.
No.

Q.
Just to get a bit of clarification on the top of page 20.  It says I can elect to not attack enemy ships.  So I can move the Austrian fleet into the same sea zone as the Italian fleet and not conduct combat?  If there was also British ships present, could I choose to only attack the Brits or is it all or nothing?

A.
You are never required to conduct sea combat, unless you are doing an amphibious assault or reinforcement and the sea zone contains enemy surface warships.  If you do attack, you must attack all of the enemy units in the sea zone.  The only exception is for the Central Powers if the United States is not yet at war, in which case they may ignore any US units and attack only units belonging to other Allied powers.

Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2013, 11:47:42 pm »

Q.
We have played this game only once, and the Allies got slammed by the Central powers. Mostly we made some mistakes, but i had a hard time as UK to actually land units at the front. An invasion of Kiel was underway, but the mines kept blowing up my fully loaded Transports. Thats a shitty way to bring my units to the front, but the only one i really had, other than marching from Belgium or Paris, and that took a long time compared to the Germans that could reinforce from Berlin.
But do mines attack transports as well? even though contested? a reading of the rules makes me sure they do, but?

A.
Yes.

Q.
So, I was going through the WWI/1914 FAQ/Question and Answer Thread and came across this post. Have some questions :
1). If Belgium is controlled by the Germans on Turn 1 and Britain moves units in Belgian Congo on Turn 1, does Britain get the IPC's for Belgian Congo?
2). What if the Germans never took Belgian on Turn 1?
3). What if Belgium is contested?

A.
In all of these cases, Britain takes control of Belgian Congo.

Q.
If France takes Portugal on Turn 1, does it also get the IPC's for Angola and Portuguese E. Africa?

A.
No.

Q.
If not, then the first power to move into Angola and Portuguese E. Africa get the IPC's?

A.
Yes.

Q.
If the Austrian fleet sails into SZ17 but decides not to attack the Italian navy, does the presence of the Italian ships nevertheless prevent Austria from amphibiously assaulting neutral Greece?
In other words, does the Austrian intention to AA Greece make its move into SZ17 a combat move, with the Italian navy obliged to come to the defence of neutral Greece?

A.
Units can never be offloaded from transports in a hostile sea zone.

Q.
Why does the rulebook and piece box always say 16 IPC for Ottomans, when the count on from her starting territories is 19 IPC?

A.
Bulgaria doesn't count.  It's an aligned minor power, not an Ottoman original territory.

Q.
Germany has 1 Inf 1Art 2 Fighters in contested Poland while Russia has 1 Inf 1Art 1 Fighter.
Austria-Hungay moves in with 2 Inf 2Art.
Do they have to attack the Russians?

A.
No.  You are only required to attack when you move into a hostile or neutral territory.  All other attacks are optional.

Q.
AH does attack.
Will Russia have Air Supremacy?

A.
Yes.  Multinational forces cannot attack together (see page 22 of the rulebook), so the German fighters will not participate in the battle.

Q.
France has 1 Battleship and Germany has 2 cruisers in SZ 15.
A British Cruiser moves in and attacks the 2 GE Cruisers.
Will the french BS automaticly be involved in this Seafight when the Germans shoot back?

A.
No.  See previous answer.

Q.
Can you load troops from a contested territory onto transports?

A.
Yes, but they may only be offloaded into a territory that you either had units in or controlled at the beginning of the turn, or they may remain at sea.

Q.
If so, can you load troop from a contested territory and then offload them right back into the same territory to get your bombardment bonus (assuming there is at least one battleship present)?

A.
You could put them back where they loaded from, but it would serve no purpose.  Offloading into a contested territory is an amphibious reinforcement, not an amphibious assault, so there would be no bombardment.

Q.
Is there any restriction of naval movement through the dardanelles straight?�  Are both sides free the move through there no matter who owns the attached territories?�  Of course enemy ships and naval mines still apply, just want to make sure the straights aren't completely closed to the allies.

A.
There are no special restrictions.

Q.
If you are playing with the Russian Revolution rules, and the Central Powers manage to force it to happen, does that mean that Moscow can no longer count at a capital towards victory?

A.
Correct.

Q.
Just to be sure, you can load ANY combination of infantry, artillery, tanks, and planes on transports correct?

A.
Correct.

Q.
So whenever you offload troops from transports into a territory that was contested at the beginning of the turn and then proceed to attack, you will not get a bombardment?

A.
Correct.

Q.
You only get a bombardment when you amphibiously attack a territory that was previously uncontested?

A.
Yup.

Q.
What if it's contested by an ally but you have no troops present?�  Do you still not get a bombardment because it's contested, even though you don't have troops present?

A.
You do not.

Q.
I just started playing 1914 and had to accept another player's interpretation of the rules to keep the game going.  He claimed if you attacked from a tt, every unit located in the tt had to attack or move to another tt.  None of the original units in the tt could stay behind.  I think he got that from p 17. "When attacking, all units in the space belonging to your power must attack".
Are you allowed to attack a hostile tt with some of your forces and leave some behind?

A.
Sounds like your friend is confusing moving and attacking, which are not the same thing.  Units move from one territory to another, then they attack in the contested territory.  The restriction is that all of the units in the contested territory that belong to you power must attack, not that all of the units in the territory that they moved from must attack.  In other words, what happens in the combat phase has nothing to do with what happened in the movement phase, other than you are required to attack after you move into a hostile or neutral (not previously contested) territory.

Q.
Another point of contention comes from p 15. If you move all of your units out of a contested territory and leave only units from the other side there, the other side will immediately claim the territory (see Taking Control of a Territory, page 20). If the territory was originally controlled by a power on the other side, that power will take control (even if it has no units present). ...
They are arguing that you must leave a garrison in every conquered tt, or it will revert to it's original owner.  I contend the sentence is still dealing with contested areas only, and the only space you have to leave a garrison is for the CP in shared tts you want to still be able to move through.

A.
You're correct.  It clearly says "contested territory".  It also says "and leave only units from the other side there", which is hard to do if there are no units from the other side there.

Q.
Do you have to leave a garrison in every hostile tt you conquer?

A.
No.

Q.
Subs don't 1st strike in the 1914/WWI game, correct?

A.
Correct.

Q.
I was wondering, if Germany captures Moscow, or forces revolution does this disable the russian minefields or do the CP's have to occupy the territory wich contains a naval base? thanks.

A.
The capture of a power's capital has no effect on the operation of its minefields.  They will function as long as the territory containing the naval base is not controlled by an enemy power.  If the Russian Revolution occurs, Russia is neither friend nor enemy to any other power, so its minefields will no longer affect any power.

Q.
What happens to colonies of minor powers when they are attacked?
eg.  If Germany attacks Angola, does Portugal join the Entente?   or...If Germany attacks Portugal, does Angola join the Entente?

A.
Nothing happens.  Colonies are independent territories from the capitals of their minor powers.

Q.
If France moves into Spanish Morroco on Turn 1, no units activate, since it's a colony, correct? I'm pretty sure the answer is yes but just making sure.

A.
Correct.

Q.
1). If Britain moves into Belgium Congo on Turn 1, does Britain get the IPC's or does France, since Belgium is a Minor Aligned Power w/France? Pretty sure Britain gets the IPC's but want to make sure.
2). If Britain moves into Portugal E. Africa on Turn1, does Britain get the IPC's or does France, since Portugal is a Minor Aligned Power w/France? Again, pretty sure Britain gets the IPC's.

A.
Britain takes control of the territories and gets the IPCs.
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2013, 12:06:34 am »

Q.
Do defending artillery in an amphibious assault always hit on a three or less during their first dice roll, or is that increased to a 4 if they have air superiority? 

A.
They always hit on a 3 or less.  There is no air supremacy in artillery pre-emptive strikes.


Q.
Also, those first hits by defending artillery DO NOT get to roll dice when the attacker rolls correct?

A.
Casualties from the pre-emptive strike are removed immediately and do not participate in the battle.

Q.
Hits by battleship bombardment DO get to roll defensive dice right?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Minefield question:
A naval unit remaining in a hostile sea zone with a naval port and mines does not have to roll mines every time.
Germany buys a transport and invades Poland on turn 1, then on turn 2 does an Amph Assault on Finland.
On turn 3 the German player loads troops from Poland and lands them in Finland.
1.  Does the transport roll for mines on turn 3?
2.  The only way the turn 3 transport would be illegal is if Poland was contested and Finland was controlled by the allies.  If Finland was contested or controlled it would be ok?

A.
1.  No.
2.  It would be illegal if Poland was contested and Finland was neither controlled by Germany nor contained German units.

Q.
I can't seem to get the mines rule quite straight.
My Navy moves into an enemy controlled mined port to fight a battle in that seazone.
I know that going into the seazone we would roll for the mines (one at a time) at the end of the movement phase.
Now I fight the battle in the sea zone and win (the port is still controlled by the enemy) and leave my navy there at the end of the turn (obviously).
On the next turn I move my navy out of the mined sea zone, do I now have to pass through the mine field again and roll for each ship?

A.
No.  You only roll for mines when you enter a mined sea zone.

Q.
A couple of fighter rule questions.
Fighters can move 2 spaces and ignores whether the 1st space is friendly, hostile or contested.  What if it is neutral?  Can a British fighter fly from India, over neutral Persia and land in Sevastopol?  Would the Persian units mobilize and make the fighter battle in Persia?
When retreating from a contested territory, do fighters have to move to an adjacent territory or can they fly 2 spaces away?

A.
Fighters can always move up to two spaces, regardless of where they begin the turn.  The only exception is when they begin the turn on a transport, in which case they may only be offloaded.  They may never fly over neutral territories, but they may attack them along with land units.

Q.
My opponent wants to fly from a contested territory to an enemy territory to initiate a battle.  I told him no unit could do that, exit a contest to start a new fight, but he wanted an official ruling for fighters.

A.
Fighters can do it.  It is only land units that are prohibited from doing so.

Q.
Precisely who "you" are is not clear.

A.
Just as in the rest of that section, "you" is the attacker (the power whose turn it is).

Q.
I was wondering if the unrestricted sub warfare rules have been adjusted (in OOB) like the russian revolution rules. sry if this has been asked but can't seem to find it Smiley thanks.

A.
No, they have not.

Q.
Hi. I had a couple questions about the U.S. before they enter the war:

1. Can transports load/unload in a sea zone with U.S. surface warships? I would say they can since they are not enemies with anyone. But it's not clear.
2. Similarly, can ships from other powers move through a sea zone with U.S. surface warships (including CPs)? Or do they block their movement? I guess these 2 questions come down to whether a sea zone containing only American ships is "friendly" to both sides.
3. Conversely, can the U.S. move through a sea zone containing surface warships? Since they are neutral I would think there is no such thing as an "enemy warship" and therefore they could.
4. If a sea zone contains Allied ships and American ships, can a CP attack the Allied ships and ignore the Americans? E.g. if the British and Americans have ships in sea zone 8 and the Germans attack it, I would think the German player can choose to either attack only the British, or attack the British and Americans (in which case the Americans would enter the war immediately).
5. If a power moves into sea zone 1, do they hit a minefield?
6. If a U.S. ship moves into a sea zone with a port, do they hit the minefield? I would think not, but if so, and an American ship is damaged/destroyed, does this cause the Americans to enter the war?

A.
1.  Yes.
2.  Yes.
3.  Yes.
4.  Yes.
5.  No.
6.  No.

Q.
Hello, question about sea zone 10 does it connect to Belgium ever so slightly or is this not the case thanks.

A.
No, it does not.

Q.
Is the any restriction on naval movement in SZ 11, 16 or 20 besides mines and enemy ships?

A.
No.

Q.
I see in the rules that UK can build units in India, however, since there is no Shipyard symbol there, does that mean they cannot build ships??
Can UK build ships in India?

A.
It cannot.

Q.
A french transport with 2 british units is located in SZ 7.
Is it allowed to pick this 2 units up with a british transport?

A.
No.  You can't transfer units directly between transports.

Q.
If there are two British infantry aboard a Russian transport which shares a sea zone with an empty French transport when the Russian Revolution occurs, causing the Russian transport to vanish, can the British infantry swim to the French ship and climb aboard?

A.
No.

Q.
can russia abndon moscow when it's contested? and so deny he centrals a russian revolution

A.
Sure.

Q.
Naval mines? The same rule for subs as for ships?

A.
Yes.  Subs are ships.

Q.
Battleships? After one hit (one round) are they able to attack or they need to go to port to get fixed?

A.
They function normally.

Q.
Ipc's in first round Russia is taking (the first''payday'') 25 or depend on situation on the map?

A.
Russia begins the game with 25 IPCs.  What it collects on each turn (including the first) is subject to which territories it controls at the time.

Q.
Can I move with battleship after has been repaird?No moving before been done.(the same round)

A.
Yes.

Q.
What happens when Turkey going to Bulgaria?I'm getting 5 inf. and one art. and later the 3 IPCs as well?

A.
Yes.

Q.
In the Rbook is that you can load on offload units in the same turn.Dont understand why?You loading inf.=1 move,you offloading=move 2.�  �  No?

A.
You can do both on the same turn.

Q.
And what happens when UK inf.entering Fren.Equ.Afr. from Ang.Egy.Sud. ?(First round for example)Does it make 1 french inf.there?
And what happens when Ger. do the same from Kamerun?(First round)Do they mobilize?

A.
Colonies do not mobilize units.  Only capital territories (those with large emblems) mobilize units.

Q.
How about this situation?: In SZ 19 is one transport from UK,and I'm using it to transport multi units from EGYPT to SMYRNA on UK's turn,French's turn,Italian's turn(transport is not moving and I've got all units in EGYPT).Is it ok?

A.
A transport can carry only two units at a time.  The UK transport can move two units from Egypt to Smyrna on UK's turn.
When transporting an ally's units, the units must load on the ally's turn, then offload on the ally's next turn.  Such units may not load and offload on the same turn, even if the transport doesn't have to move.

Q.
Who can retreat and how?Atack or def or both to their just own territory?What if there is enemy's empty territory close by?

A.
There are no retreats.  Units may leave a contested territory when they move, but they may only move one space, and it must be into a space that already contained the moving power's units and/or control marker at the beginning of the turn.

Q.
Can I build units in Contested territory?

A.
Yes.

Q.
and can I collecting income from contested territories,capitals?

A.
No.

Q.
Can you amphibiously reinforce a territory that is contested by your ally?
For example: France is contesting Belgium with Germany. Can the UK amphibiously reinforce Belgium?

A.
Yes, as long as the reinforcing units began their turn in a friendly territory or at sea.  (Land units that begin their turn in a contested territory may only move into territories that were either controlled by their power or already contained units belonging to their power at the beginning of the turn.)

Q.
Is it allowed to declare USW as Austria Hungary against Britain and US ?

A.
No.

Q.
Amphibious assault against a coastal tt that has 1 Inf 1 Art and 1 Fighter in it.
Does the defending Art fires the pre-emptive strike with 4 ?

A.
No.  It fires on a 3.  Pre-emptive artillery strikes are not affected by air supremacy.

Q.
After playing a few games I have a few questions:
1. If a naval ship enters a hostile sea zone are they required to fight?  From the rule book I read that the attacker has the option.
2. If an artillery fires a preemptive shot in an amphibious attack does it still fire during regular combat?
3. I can't spawn new inf and art from captured capitals, but can I spawn new navy from captured naval bases?
4. When liberating a friendly capital when does that power come back? Example: Germany controls Moscow, UK attacks Moscow and it is now contested, would Russia be able to collect income on it's next turn (OOB rules) or do the Allies have to liberate it first before Russia can collect income?

A.
1.  No.
2.  Yes.
3.  No.
4.  It must be liberated.

Q.
Can your units in a contested territory move  into an adjacent contested territory to wage conflict there? For instance, can Russian units in a contested Poland reinforce units in a contested Galicia for a renewed offensive against CP forces in Galicia?

A.
Yes, as long as there were already some Russian units in Galicia at the beginning of the turn.

Q.
Can a nation belonging to your side activate a minor neutral power. For example France which goes to Albania to activate it for the Italians is this legal?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Can the neutral US move its units into land spaces controlled by future allies (but not contested)?

A.
No.

Q.
Can I load an inf from a contested space onto a transport and then drop him off in the exact same space he was loaded from?

A.
Sure.

Q.
Would this allow me to use BBs for shore bombardment?

A.
No.
Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2014, 06:16:21 pm »

Q.
If two Cruisers attack two Subs  and get one hit, can the hit Sub fire back while the Sub that survives submerge?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Naval mine fields
Does the controller of the adjacent territorry of a naval symbol roll for mines for its enemys? For example germany has captured Washington and Britain enters Sz 1. Does Germany roll for mines on the british ships?

A.
Minefields are not active when the naval base is controlled by an enemy power.  They are only active when it's either contested or controlled by it's original owner.

Q.
I know Battleship bombardment is limited to the number of troops offloading from a transport during an amphibious assault, but is this before or after coastal artillery fire?
Ex. 3 French infantry and 1 French artillery with 2 battleships assault 1 Ottoman infantry and 5 Ottoman artillery in Albania. If 3 or 4 coastal shots hit, are the French limited to 1 or 0 bombardment shots, respectively?

A.
Both battleships bombard, regardless of how many units make it to shore.  Just because they don't make it ashore doesn't mean they didn't offload.

Q.
After reading the Kriegs answers thread I had a question about this post:
Quote
Q.
If France moves into Spanish Morroco on Turn 1, no units activate, since it's a colony, correct? I'm pretty sure the answer is yes but just making sure.

A.
Correct.
1. So America can basically walk into Spanish Morroco and gain the 1 IPC without having to fight anything?
2. The same rule doesn't apply for Ethiopia because it has a large symbol on it, therefore anyone entering it would have to fight the 1 inf and 1 art?
3. Are there any other neutral territories that don't mobilize a force beside Spanish Morroco and the Balearic Islands?
4. Can America take over Spanish Morroco before being at war?

A.
1.  Yes.
2.  Correct.
3.  No.
4.  No.

Q.
If a German cruiser moves into SZ1 when USA is still neutral but then attacks an American ship there in the combat phase does it have to roll for mines retrospectively?

A.
No.

Q.
Quote
Q.
If a German cruiser moves into SZ1 when USA is still neutral but then attacks an American ship there in the combat phase does it have to roll for mines retrospectively?

A.
No.
But if the Cruiser was accompanied by a loaded transport and you intended to invade America you'd have to declare the intention in advance, so this would make it in effect an act of war and activate the minefield, yes?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Why would it make a difference if the land was being attacked or not? Doesn't Germany have to declare war at the beginning of its turn (like in all the other games that have neutral powers). This would be before the movement phase so this should render all US units hostel, including their mined sz's.  

A.
No.  There are no "declarations of war" in this game.  The US is only brought into the war before its fourth turn if a hostile act (as detailed in the rules) is committed against it.  Unlike a sea attack, an amphibious assault must be announced during the movement phase.

Q.
OK if US is still neutral, when would you announce the amphib? At the beginning of the movement phase (before you move any units), or "during" the movement phase as you get into position next to the land?
How would it work if the neutral US has a cruiser in sz 2, but has no surface war ships in sz1 (next to coast). Could I move my German transport from sz 7 past the neutral US cruiser, and then announce my intentions to do an amphib as I get to the coast (would still technically be in the movement phase). I would think this wouldn't be allowed as all movement is considered at the same time, but how can you announce an amphib before you get to the adjacent sz?
The amphib rules go into detail about clearing the sz of enemy surface war ships when it is adjacent to the land battle. Just saying if their mines aren't active for the amphib, why would the cruiser in sz 2 be hostel if it starts the turn neutral and isn't attacked.

A.
You announce the amphibious assault during the movement phase, as you move the transport(s).  Since all movement occurs simultaneously, any hostile act taken during the movement phase affects all movement in that phase.  As a result, the transport(s) could not move through any US ships blocking their way.  The mines are active (see previous post), as they are rolled for at the end of the movement phase.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 06:59:00 pm by jim010 » Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: January 28, 2014, 07:12:53 pm »

Q.
If a fighter is part of a defending force and that tt gets attacked and the tt remains contested, the defending fighter then has to move out or would it remain there?

A.
It remains there.

Q.
And if the tt is contested (and the defending fighter remains there) can that same fighter attack out of it to another battle (right next to it lets say) (on the defenders next turn) or 1c. does it have to follow the moving out of contested tt rule whereby the units moving out of a contested zone can't attack a new tt. (it might only say land units so it seems the fighter could make an attack from the contested tt)

A.
That restriction applies only to land units, and therefore not to fighters.  They may move anywhere they may normally move when leaving a contested territory.

Q.
So you are saying if an attacking fighter moves into a battle which makes the tt contested the attacking fighter has to move again back to a non-contested space?

A.
No.  In fact, it may not move again in the same turn, as there is only one movement phase.

Q.
Do the two halves of Constantinople count as one so no transports are required like with egypt.

A.
Yes.

Q.
The Russian revolution - How are allied units inside Russia dealt with?

A.
Other Allied powers may no longer move units into original Russian territories that are either controlled by Russia or shared between Russia and the Central Powers.  Any such units remaining in those territories at the end of their next respective turn will be removed from the board at that time.
See the "official" unofficial FAQ for more clarifications on the Russian Revolution.

Q.
Are Crete and Cyprus (in SZ 19) considered part of Greece or are they the only non-territories on the map?

A.
Islands without names are not territories.

Q.
So the allied-neutral only plays a part for the one time initial activation and does not indicate any income link....basically they are treated like a controlled neutral after they are activated?

A.
Correct.

Q.
1 When a tt is contested witch lets say france and german, can you put for example  britain units ( the units are already on a land tt ) on it to defend without start a fight with german. ik know amphibous assault you can do this
2 When i put a fighter from usa on a tt that is contested  with lets say again france and german and there are none american
land units, have the france artillery than air supremacy and recieve a 4 hit frome the american fighter assume there is none german fighter
3  I understand the american rules but for understanding it good the foolowing: america can buy units and  move units and get money starting from turn one. america can only not attack but can put units on allies tt to defend, and ofcourse when that country is attack they are involved in the war
4 About minor countrys without a cappital like belgian congo and angola, when they are attacked there are no units to put on to defend, so only minor tt with a big sign flag you put units on to defend, the smaller ones you can occupy without a fight.

A.
1.  Yes.
2.  You can't land a US fighter in a territory without other US units.  Each group of units in a territory belonging to the same power must contain at least one infantry unit.  However, in a case where there are units from multiple powers defending together, all of the artillery present benefit from air supremacy.
3.  The US can't move units outside of the United States of America before it's at war.   See the rules clarifications for more information.
4.  Correct.

Q.
So america can not move any units till start round 4. land units stay on land and sea units stay in zone 1.

A.
It can't move land units or fighters.  It can move sea units, but it can't load anything onto its transports.

Q.
But does it recieve money for the first 3 rounds, and can i buy units and put them only on land ore can i also buy naval units and put them in sea zone 1

A.
Correct.

Q.
Than other question about the rule 1 infantery on a tt.
is this rule only for tt witch are not original tt from the start, ore only on minor tt

A.
It applies to all territories.  It's important to note that this doesn't mean that you need to keep an infantry in every territory you control - it's OK to leave a territory empty.  It just means that you need to keep an infantry in every territory in which you have units.

Q.
Hi, I am reading a lot about the russian revolution, about removing units, cp still get the money etc...
I know all the other a&a games, so this is the first time a nation is removed by political reasons.
But I see its optinial so the question is, the player who controls russian can he deside when he see he is gonna loose than must  ocure the revolution in round 4 ore can you just play with russian the whole game without a revolution we played a few games and we did not used the revolution

A.
It's not up to the Russian player to decide whether there will be a revolution.  It happens automatically if and when the conditions are met.  It's possible that the conditions may not ever be met.  The revolution is optional in the sense that players must agree before the game begins whether or not the rule will be in effect.


Logged
jim010
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 10046


No one rivals Doom!!


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 14, 2014, 07:33:28 am »

Q.
A Sub attacks a Cruiser and misses. The Cruiser misses too. The Sub chooses to submerge instead of roling a dice. Is the cruiser allowed to attack the sub while it submerges?

A.
Yes

Q.
The Sub can  submerge instead of rolling its attack, but the Cruiser gets a shot.
Alternatively, The Sub could also retreat and avoid combat completely  in the second round?

A.
There are no retreats in this game (unless you're playing by the tournament rules).  It is possible to break off the attack and remain in the sea zone, though.

Q.
So the german sub has submerged and the french cruiser did miss it while doing that. Can after the french turn a british cruiser try to attack Uboot or is the sub sumerged until Germanys next turn?

A.
The sub is turned upright as soon as the battle ends.  Submerging only removes a sub from the current battle; it has no further effect after that.

Q.
You are saying that they are active just when the territory is controlled or contested by ''home power'' but how about the territory was in hands of ''enemy power'' and after is contested?

A.
If the territory becomes controlled by an enemy power, the minefield becomes inactive.  If the territory becomes contested again, the minefield becomes active again for the original controller.  In effect, a mine field is only inactive when its corresponding territory is enemy-held.

Q.
Because if I understand correctly the rules if there is a battle and everyone dies the territory still in ''enemy hands'' so thats why dont understand why I have to roll again for mines when is contested{before everyone dies}?

A.
If both sides are eliminated in a battle for any territory with an original controller, the original controller regains control (regardless of who had control last).  See the bottom of page 19 in the rulebook.  The only exception is when the original controller's capital is held by the enemy, in which case the liberator assumes control until the capital is liberated.

Q.
Can Austria continue to build up in Sevastopol without any threat from the British in the middle east?

A.
Yes.

Q.
Can Germany and Ottomans do the same, or would they have needed troops in the TT when it became shared?

A.
They can do the same.

Q.
I assume the answer would be the same if the British were defending Sevastopol when Russia went under, because a Soviet comisar would be added.

A.
Correct.

Q.
Also, can the British attack into Ukraine/Romania/Tatarstan, or must they retreat to Persia/Mesopotamia? (unless there are no Brits in either, in which case they just go to Siberia?)

A.
They may not move into original Russian territories.

Q.
Can Austria also move into Mesopotamia/Persia regardless of their status (Ottoman controlled/British controlled/contested)?

A.
Yes, as long as at least one Central Powers infantry unit remains in Sevastopol.

Q.
What if the CP controlled all three of these territories? The official errata would seem to imply so.

A.
I should have been more specific.  The British may not move into original Russian territories that are either controlled by Russia or shared between Russia and the Central Powers.  If the territory is controlled by the Central powers, they may move there.  (For some reason, I assumed they were also contested.)

Logged
Pages: 1 2 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!