November 18, 2017, 04:20:35 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: SBR and AirBase rules question  (Read 1726 times)
wirkey
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 82



View Profile
« on: March 18, 2013, 12:44:40 pm »
0

Hi folks,

we just got a version of Pacific in a garage sale and only have a german translation of the rules so I have some questions:

According to the translation Japan looses one VP for every 10 IPC damage done during SBR. That is pretty simple. But the example makes it unclear again: "Japan has an income of 19. A SBR causes 25 damage. Japan hands off his 19 and looses one VP." Shouldn't they loose 2 VP?

Airbase: "Planes, originating from or moving towards a friendly airbase, gain additional movement." Does this mean that fighters could move up to 6 spaces (bomber Cool or are they still limited to 5 (7) moving between air bases?
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16197


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2013, 01:18:04 pm »
0

Evening Wirkey.
Aircraft flying to or from a territory with a Friendly Air Base do not use up one movement to go between the territory and the SZ on which the Base is situated or adjacent to. (Copied it as I always found it hard to understand.)
That equates to 6 moves, but not how you are meant to count it.
The diagram on page 13 is a bit useless, as you would not make that move.
You could go from New Zealand to Midway(which is normally 6).
Hope that helps, otherwise ask again.

They only lose one VP because they only surrendered 19(they did not have 25).
They can only surrender as much money as they have, hence one not two VPs.
Had to have 20 to lose two.

Have fun. I always liked that game.
I wish I had a German version: very cool!
Logged
wirkey
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 82



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2013, 02:48:45 pm »
0

Evening Wirkey.
Aircraft flying to or from a territory with a Friendly Air Base do not use up one movement to go between the territory and the SZ on which the Base is situated or adjacent to. (Copied it as I always found it hard to understand.)
That equates to 6 moves, but not how you are meant to count it.
The diagram on page 13 is a bit useless, as you would not make that move.
You could go from New Zealand to Midway(which is normally 6).
Hope that helps, otherwise ask again.

Still a bit confused: lets say i own Japan and Hawaii. Can a fighter fly from Hawaii to Japan or vice versa?
Assume only Japan and Phillipines left in Japans hand: can a fighter fly from Japan, attack SZ 33 and land in Phillippines?


They only lose one VP because they only surrendered 19(they did not have 25).
They can only surrender as much money as they have, hence one not two VPs.
Had to have 20 to lose two.
That makes sense: so rules should say "for every 10 IPC lost by Japan one VP is lost".


Have fun. I always liked that game.
I wish I had a German version: very cool!
We don't have a german version. We just have a version with the important rules handwritten. Original rulebook got lost

Thx for your help
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16197


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 03:09:55 pm »
0

Yes to both Japan-Hawaii and Japan-33-Philippines,  as you ignore the SZ both starting and finishing territories are in.
Have fun.
Logged
BJCard
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1453



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2013, 04:13:03 am »
0

Evening Wirkey.
Aircraft flying to or from a territory with a Friendly Air Base do not use up one movement to go between the territory and the SZ on which the Base is situated or adjacent to. (Copied it as I always found it hard to understand.)
That equates to 6 moves, but not how you are meant to count it.
The diagram on page 13 is a bit useless, as you would not make that move.
You could go from New Zealand to Midway(which is normally 6).
Hope that helps, otherwise ask again.

Still a bit confused: lets say i own Japan and Hawaii. Can a fighter fly from Hawaii to Japan or vice versa?
Assume only Japan and Phillipines left in Japans hand: can a fighter fly from Japan, attack SZ 33 and land in Phillippines?


They only lose one VP because they only surrendered 19(they did not have 25).
They can only surrender as much money as they have, hence one not two VPs.
Had to have 20 to lose two.
That makes sense: so rules should say "for every 10 IPC lost by Japan one VP is lost".


Have fun. I always liked that game.
I wish I had a German version: very cool!
We don't have a german version. We just have a version with the important rules handwritten. Original rulebook got lost

Thx for your help

Download the rulebook here:
http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/prod/axispacific

By far my favorite version of A&A in terms of time to play and 'fun' factor.  Global 1940 may be the gold standard, but I rarely have 10-12 hours to play that game face to face.
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3663


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2013, 04:17:11 am »
0

BJCard just beat me to rules link and he left out that this is one of the best looking sets.

There isn't really a more clear way to explain air bases than it doesn't cost a move point to go from the territory with the air base to the adjacent sea zone or from the sea zone to an adjacent territory with an air base.
Logged
BJCard
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1453



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2013, 04:23:55 am »
0

BJCard just beat me to rules link and he left out that this is one of the best looking sets.

There isn't really a more clear way to explain air bases than it doesn't cost a move point to go from the territory with the air base to the adjacent sea zone or from the sea zone to an adjacent territory with an air base.

It is the best looking set- for sure.  Love the red Japanese units.
Air bases- it is like those fighters are on a carrier in that SZ. 
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3663


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2013, 08:10:07 am »
0


Air bases- it is like those fighters are on a carrier in that SZ. 


Except it works for bombers and since bombers can't land on a carrier I've found that way also causes some confusion.
Logged
BJCard
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1453



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2013, 08:25:48 am »
0


Air bases- it is like those fighters are on a carrier in that SZ. 


Except it works for bombers and since bombers can't land on a carrier I've found that way also causes some confusion.

Fair enough.  it was a precursor to the 1940 airbases (and CAP/scrambling) for sure.
Logged
wirkey
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 82



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 21, 2013, 03:48:08 am »
0

Guess i got it now. So to make it clear, a plane coming from US and attacking Canada won't get that movement advantage Smiley

One last question:
Can i make my fighter movement during cm under the assumption that a carrier picks it up in ncm moving three spaces using a just captured naval base?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: March 21, 2013, 02:14:43 pm »
0

Yes.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!