November 17, 2017, 11:02:27 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies 1914 FAQ/Question and Answer Thread  (Read 161760 times)
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 188



View Profile
« Reply #780 on: January 10, 2016, 08:53:49 am »

Captured Capital question - If Rome is captured, can Italian units be used for neutral country mobilizations?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #781 on: January 10, 2016, 02:24:20 pm »

Yes.
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 188



View Profile
« Reply #782 on: January 11, 2016, 02:33:54 pm »

Suez Canal questions - If Turkey controls Egypt, can they prohibit neutral US sea movement thru the canal?  A contested Egypt blocks all movement right?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #783 on: January 12, 2016, 05:32:34 am »

Suez Canal questions - If Turkey controls Egypt, can they prohibit neutral US sea movement thru the canal?

The US can't move through the Suez Canal at all while neutral, regardless of which side controls it, as the US is not on either side.


A contested Egypt blocks all movement right?

Yes.
Logged
Charles de Gaulle
A&A.org Tank
***
Posts: 260


I detest France being called a minor power.


View Profile
« Reply #784 on: August 11, 2016, 12:16:59 pm »

In an amphibious assault, if all attacking sea borne units are destroyed by pre -emptive artillery strikes, can the battleships still bombard? Does it matter if there are/aren't units attacking overland as well? For example, if a transport with one infantry offloads to attack a territory with an infantry and artillery but gets destroyed by the artillery's pre-emptive strike, can the battleship still bombard? How about if there are still some units attacking by land? Thanks!
Logged
Dukla passer
A&A.org Tank
*
***
Posts: 363



View Profile
« Reply #785 on: August 12, 2016, 06:21:55 am »

Very good question.''the number of battleships that can bombard is limited to the number of units that OFFLOADED from transport''...and ''the pre-emptive strike is against all of your OFFLOADING units''...so I would say NO units OFFLOADED(no survivors)= NO bombardment.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #786 on: August 12, 2016, 07:28:23 am »

Offloading units count for the bombardment limitation even if they don't make to shore (they still offloaded from the transports).
Logged
Charles de Gaulle
A&A.org Tank
***
Posts: 260


I detest France being called a minor power.


View Profile
« Reply #787 on: August 12, 2016, 10:20:45 am »

Krieghund does this mean that it is possible for a battleship to solely bombard a territory?  For instance if I am doing an amphibious assault and all my units are destroyed by artillery strikes, can my battleships still bombard even though I have no land units attacking that territory?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #788 on: August 12, 2016, 12:53:08 pm »

Yes.
Logged
Boondock
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 23


View Profile
« Reply #789 on: October 18, 2016, 08:10:14 am »

Here's a question that arose during a game of 1914 that's still in-progress:

It's turn two and the U.S. has not entered the war. The Great Britain player wants to move land units from Canada into the Eastern U.S., where he's also moved a transport into the sea zone.

I'd never seen this attempted before, unsure of it's allowed and can't seem to find anything in the rulebook. Your thoughts? Thank you in advance.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2016, 08:45:30 am by Boondock » Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #790 on: October 18, 2016, 09:13:33 am »

It's not allowed.  Movement of land units into a neutral territory is an attack.
Logged
Boondock
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 23


View Profile
« Reply #791 on: October 18, 2016, 10:20:55 am »

It's not allowed.  Movement of land units into a neutral territory is an attack.
Awesome. Thanks for the quick response.
Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 26001


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #792 on: January 31, 2017, 02:48:23 pm »

Hi Kreig, questions:

1. If my ships just sit in a sea zone with no enemy ships but an enemy naval base and do not move during their turn, do I sill roll for mines?  The rule says "move through or into..."  I assume they would not roll.

2. Also if I am correct above, would my ships that just sit in a mined sea zone their turn roll for mines if another of my ships enters the same sea zone the same turn or would only the moving ship?

2. If I move into a sea zone to reinforce w/transported units a contested land area, do I roll for mines if the sea zone is adjacent to a mine?  I assume so...

thanks
Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 26001


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #793 on: January 31, 2017, 03:09:13 pm »

Along those lines,

If I  move an empty transport into mined uncontested sea zone to load units, I roll the mines before I load, rigth?

But, what if the transports are just sitting there having moved in last run, and start "bridging" units from one land territory to another... they are not "moving into or through" the sea zone...

Thanks!
Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 26001


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #794 on: January 31, 2017, 03:23:06 pm »

Finally, I can pick up units from a contested territory, right?
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!