November 18, 2017, 08:36:48 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 2nd Edition ( AAP40.2) FAQ/question  (Read 24868 times)
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 188



View Profile
« Reply #60 on: May 30, 2016, 01:34:54 pm »
0

Scramble question: Japan attempting an amphib assault on Philippines where US planes exist with air base.  The sea zone around Philippines has only UK ships (plus the attacking JA ships).  Can US scramble planes to defend in the sea zone? (pretty sure the answer is yes)
« Last Edit: May 30, 2016, 01:38:01 pm by Carolina » Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16197


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #61 on: May 30, 2016, 02:51:06 pm »
0

Yes, Carolina. Up to three planes (any Allied nation, including  US ones), can scramble and defend with the U.K. Ships.
Logged
ampdrive
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 52


View Profile
« Reply #62 on: May 31, 2016, 10:51:45 pm »
0

If japan is not at war with UK the UK ships can be ignored I think.Alternatively ,If japan is not at war with USA,the UK ships can be attacked.The US planes can't scramble(no amphibious attack in this case)
Logged
Gamerman01
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 42198

G40 Rules Deputy, G40 League Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #63 on: May 31, 2016, 11:12:18 pm »
0

If japan is not at war with UK the UK ships can be ignored I think.Alternatively ,If japan is not at war with USA,the UK ships can be attacked.The US planes can't scramble(no amphibious attack in this case)
Yes, but pretty clear from his question that Japan is at war with both
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 188



View Profile
« Reply #64 on: June 05, 2016, 02:39:11 pm »
0

Alaska / Shan State;  These both have dual coasts.  Assume Naval Base marker is good for both sea zones?
Logged
Gamerman01
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 42198

G40 Rules Deputy, G40 League Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #65 on: June 05, 2016, 04:55:56 pm »
0

Alaska / Shan State;  These both have dual coasts.  Assume Naval Base marker is good for both sea zones?
Yes, all naval bases service all adjacent coasts, like West Germany's serves 112 and 113 both
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 188



View Profile
« Reply #66 on: July 24, 2016, 12:46:32 pm »
0

Amphib attack question:  Can you withhold dice rolls from BB or CA during the sea zone combat round(s) in order to use for bombardment rolls?   (Pretty sure answer is no).
Logged
Gamerman01
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 42198

G40 Rules Deputy, G40 League Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #67 on: July 24, 2016, 01:10:15 pm »
0

No - they have to fight in the naval battle
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 188



View Profile
« Reply #68 on: August 04, 2016, 07:09:32 am »
0

Defenseless Transport question:  If there is a defending transport and I am making an amphib attack on the island in the sea zone, and I use planes in the sea zone plus a BB.  Do I get to make a bombardment roll for the BB, and also get to destroy the defenseless transport?  I know the transport can be ignored by the BB, but seems silly that the transport gets off free because I choose to use the BB for bombarding.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2016, 07:14:08 am by Carolina » Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16197


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #69 on: August 04, 2016, 07:32:30 am »
0

It is one or the other: either you sink the TT or you do a Bombardment.  Cannot do both. The argument being, the battle between the air units and the TT, would bring the Battleship in, regardless.
Logged
Wicked Caitiff
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 25


Cake or Death


View Profile
« Reply #70 on: August 31, 2016, 12:19:17 am »
0

ANZAC and UK:
a) If ANZAC liberates Borneo from Japan, and India's still british, ANZAC can't claim any IPC. But if Japan conquers India the very next turn, does ANZAC still have no claim there, as there have been no IPCs "harvested" yet?
b) If ANZAC liberates India, ANZAC loses all IPC income it receives for each british territory they liberated from Japan. Is there a rule to obey for ANZAC as being part of the Commonwealth or can they just keep on convoy disruptions and strat bomb facilities in India and keep those neat little british 12 IPCs (and p�ss off the UK player...)?
c) (global) What happens if the Netherlands are liberated from Axis in Europe? Any influence on DEI?
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16197


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #71 on: August 31, 2016, 02:40:10 am »
0

Morning Wicked Caitiff.
a. No; they have no claim.  It was returned to UK control, by Anzac. The fact India is captured or that no one "harvested" the income is irrelevant.
Would be better to not recapture Borneo, especially if it like like India might fall.

b. Anzac can't bomb India. (That is not cricket!). Not sure what you mean about UK's 12 income. Was that just an example?

c. Nothing. None at all. (They are not a power in the game.)
Logged
Wicked Caitiff
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 25


Cake or Death


View Profile
« Reply #72 on: August 31, 2016, 03:21:35 am »
0

b. Anzac can't bomb India. (That is not cricket!). Not sure what you mean about UK's 12 income. Was that just an example?
grin
Of course I mean India controlled by Japan.

Situation: Japan sweapt through China and southeast asia and even got India, just before US got them very busy in Korea.
UK was crushed, but ANZAC was left quite healthy, so ANZAC managed to recapture most british territories and thus received 12 IPC for Borneo, Malaya, Kwangtung, Shan State, and Burma. Now standing at the Indian border, they are about to cripple their own economy by liberating India. Next Problem: UK must wait 3 turns to move any unit after liberation by ANZAC: Anzac is last in order, followed by J, US, China, then a mere IPC collection phase for UK, another complete round, UK buys units but must wait to place them at the end of their turn, another complete round, and finally UK may move a unit. Any suggestions which move's better: leave a weak Japanese India and build a CV with 2 ftr (3 x 12 IPC) or liberate India but receive no help from UK for at least 3 turns?
« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 03:34:48 am by Wicked Caitiff » Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16197


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #73 on: August 31, 2016, 05:49:19 am »
0

I suppose it depends if India will push Japan towards its 6 VPs and victory. Might be better not to reactivate India and try and reduce Japan's economy, pushing from Korea, through China. Reactivating China, can really bother Japan, meaning it has to look all directions again. 
Logged
Gamerman01
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 42198

G40 Rules Deputy, G40 League Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #74 on: August 31, 2016, 08:48:53 am »
+1

Japan is getting 8 a turn from India too.  If Japan will not be able to re-take India any time soon, then you should liberate it.  Are you sure a carrier and 2 fighters would be your most effective buy?  Do you have a complex on Queensland yet?  Usually subs, destroyers, transports, and cheap ground units are most effective for ANZAC

That said, another reason to actually NOT liberate India is that ANZAC has the capability of building facilities on these territories.  If Hong Kong is secure, it's possible to build a complex there with ANZAC, right?!
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!