December 15, 2017, 02:34:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies Europe 1940 2nd Edition ( AAE40.2) FAQ/question  (Read 31825 times)
Black_Elk
A&A.org Destroyer
*
*
*****
Posts: 1892



View Profile
« Reply #120 on: April 19, 2016, 06:47:28 pm »
0

Q: Why does the map show Sierra Leone as true neutral and not under British control?

I feel strongly that this should be addressed in the Errata, both for historical accuracy and gameplay. As a British starting territory Sierra Leone could serve as a staging territory for the Allies, and as a potential location for bases, as it actually was during this period of the war 1940.
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 190



View Profile
« Reply #121 on: October 03, 2016, 03:40:53 pm »
0

Has anyone felt the need for blow-up boxes on some of territories because they are just too small to handle all of pieces?  esp. United Kingdom, France.  There was such things for use in original A&A.

OR why is Africa so large?  Europe needs to be increased in size (so what if somewhat distorted).  BTW, 1914 has the same problem.
Logged
Swishtail
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #122 on: January 04, 2017, 09:59:29 am »
0

Very sorry if this is too ignorant a question... Is the 1940.2 rules document the most current, definitive ruleset?  Does this incorporate the Alpha 3 rules changes?
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5300


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #123 on: January 04, 2017, 11:54:56 am »
0

Very sorry if this is too ignorant a question... Is the 1940.2 rules document the most current, definitive ruleset?  Does this incorporate the Alpha 3 rules changes?

Yes it is, the 1940 2nd Ed. ruleset superseded Alpha3.
Logged
FMErwinRommel
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 774



View Profile
« Reply #124 on: January 23, 2017, 07:37:55 pm »
0

To sir_cala    Re: amphib assault by Bri>Ger:  Bri transports in sz110 could move unimpeded thru sz112 and 113 even with subs, and ended in sz114 and unloaded into Berlin.  Air in W.Ger can't scramble for transports passing thru sz112 or sz113 because scrambling occurs only after all combat moves by attacker are complete.  Without surface warships, the sea territory with the airbase is not hostile.  This is verified by computer allowing the full combat move and not asking for scrambling in an actual game that I played.   
Logged
Jbet
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #125 on: June 25, 2017, 01:48:14 pm »
0

Sorry, not sure where this belongs but I have a question.

In the 1940 edition, if a sub is in a sea zone with multiple ships but no destroyers, can it attack multiple times without retaliation?  I have played with people that when a sub is in a sea zone without a destroyer the ship is automatically sunk.  The assumption is it would just keep doing surprise attack until the other ship is sunk.

Thanks
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16307


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #126 on: June 25, 2017, 09:31:00 pm »
+1

Morning jbet
That is not what is meant by a Surprise Attack.
The Sub(s) does get to shoot first in every Round that a Destroyer is not present, but once it/they has had its  roll(s) , the surviving enemy ships get theirs. Their is no automatic kill for the Sub, unless the target is a defending (defenceless) Transport. All naval units can shoot back, once a Sub has had its roll, until the Sub chooses to submerge, rather than go
another Round .
Note that Air Units, without a Destroyer, would  not get to shoot at a Sub though.

Logged
Jbet
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #127 on: June 26, 2017, 05:20:48 am »
0

Thanks, that is the way I would interpret it as well.
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16307


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #128 on: June 26, 2017, 05:34:01 am »
0

Good. I meant to say: welcome  to the forum. Enjoy your games.
Logged
SteveO
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 9


View Profile
« Reply #129 on: December 10, 2017, 08:55:59 pm »
0

Experienced 1942 AA player.. still getting used to Europe nuances.

Can someone explain the: "2 IPCs per territory if Germany controls Iraq, Persia, and/or Northwest Persia." NO rule.. my game partner and I settled on you needing to have Iraq, and then one of the other two for a minimum of 4 IPC, up to 6 bonus. Of course one argument is that it is simply 2 IPCs each?

Similarly for the NO rule:
5 IPCs per territory if Germany controls Novgorod (Leningrad), Volgograd (Stalingrad), and/or Russia (Moscow). Do you require Novgorod for any bonus?


We're also still a little confused if Germany can transport into Finland in non-com from SZ 115 in turn 1, when the Ruskies still have their ships there even if there is no declaration of war against USSR?

Thanks,
Axis fans in Australia
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5300


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #130 on: December 10, 2017, 10:36:18 pm »
0

Quote from: SteveO
Can someone explain the: "2 IPCs per territory if Germany controls Iraq, Persia, and/or Northwest Persia." NO rule.. my game partner and I settled on you needing to have Iraq, and then one of the other two for a minimum of 4 IPC, up to 6 bonus. Of course one argument is that it is simply 2 IPCs each?

Similarly for the NO rule:
5 IPCs per territory if Germany controls Novgorod (Leningrad), Volgograd (Stalingrad), and/or Russia (Moscow). Do you require Novgorod for any bonus?

It is 2 (5) per territory, starting with the first one captured.

Quote from: SteveO
We're also still a little confused if Germany can transport into Finland in non-com from SZ 115 in turn 1, when the Ruskies still have their ships there even if there is no declaration of war against USSR?

Yes, you can. Powers not at war may share seazones. See the "Powers Not at War with One Another"-box on page 15 of the rulebook.

HTH smiley
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!