September 22, 2018, 12:32:14 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Global 2nd edition Q+A ( AAG40.2)  (Read 223790 times)
The Pripet Martian
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
*
**
Posts: 73


View Profile
« Reply #2595 on: July 12, 2018, 02:04:53 pm »
0

Soviet sub and cruiser attack German cruiser and transport in SZ 113. Germans scramble two fighters. Soviets score two hits in the first round of combat, eliminating enemy cruiser and one fighter. Germans miss. This raises a couple of questions:

1) The remaining German combat unit (a fighter) can't hit the Soviet sub, so is the German transport now considered "defenseless" and immediately eliminated, or do the Soviets have to kill the fighter first?
2) If the transport is immediately eliminated, can the Soviets retreat prior to a second round of combat with the remaining fighter?

So in a second round of combat a German fighter and transport are attacked by a Russian submarine and cruiser.
Autodestruction of a defenseless transport takes only place if "in a sea battle... the defender has only transports remaining and the attacker still has units capable of attacking".

As long as there is a German fighter, the German transport won't be autodestroyed.
However hits of the German fighter can only be assigned to the Russian cruiser.
Hits of the Russian submarine can only be assigned to the German transport.

The Russians may retreat as long as there is a defending unit "that can ... fire at a valid target".
As the German fighter may fire at the Russian cruiser, this condition is given.


If I'm reading this right, the German transport would be considered defenseless, were it not for the presence of the Russian cruiser? In other words, had the Soviets attacked with sub only and scored a hit in the first round, killing the German cruiser...the scrambled fighters couldn't hit the sub (and vice versa), so the transport would be eliminated, AND...with only fighters remaining in the SZ, the Russian sub could not retreat?

Glad I'm sitting down, as I feel a bit lightheaded.  grin
Logged
simon33
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 16959


View Profile
« Reply #2596 on: July 12, 2018, 09:43:59 pm »
0

Correct.
Logged
weddingsinger
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1186


View Profile
« Reply #2597 on: July 13, 2018, 04:44:02 am »
0

If I'm reading this right, the German transport would be considered defenseless, were it not for the presence of the Russian cruiser? In other words, had the Soviets attacked with sub only and scored a hit in the first round, killing the German cruiser...the scrambled fighters couldn't hit the sub (and vice versa), so the transport would be eliminated, AND...with only fighters remaining in the SZ, the Russian sub could not retreat?

Glad I'm sitting down, as I feel a bit lightheaded.  grin

The key to remember is you need unassigned hits to destroy the transport.  In your scenario you didn't have any hits left to sink the cruiser, so you'd have to either retreat or stay for another round of combat.
Logged
valtteri771
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 79



View Profile
« Reply #2598 on: July 13, 2018, 11:28:09 pm »
0

What are the current national objectives for 1940 global?
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5583


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #2599 on: July 13, 2018, 11:30:59 pm »
+1

What are the current national objectives for 1940 global?

Those stated in the rulebook. Too much to quote it here so please see:
https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28703.0
Logged
Zhukov44
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 9533


View Profile
« Reply #2600 on: July 22, 2018, 01:47:21 pm »
0

Having a bit of a rules dispute over how the TripleA program interprets the change from neutrality to allied b/w powers.

The scenario is Japan declares on UK on J2.  Russia and Japan are already at war.  On USA2, USA declares on Japan/Germany/Italy.

Should USA be able to land planes in Russia or other Allied territories on this turn (USA2) or have we been playing the game wrong up until now?  
« Last Edit: July 22, 2018, 02:07:09 pm by Zhukov44 » Logged
Zhukov44
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 9533


View Profile
« Reply #2601 on: July 22, 2018, 02:29:43 pm »
0

Just for clarification, the case that USA can't land air in Russia would be based on quotes from the rulebook like this

"No air units can land in any territory that was not friendly
at the start of your turn, including any territory that was just
captured or converted from a friendly neutral by you this turn. "

and the assumption that USA declares prior to the Combat Move phase, which is after the start of the turn.

So which is it?  Does Russian territory immediately become friendly when it becomes allied to the USA?  

Have we been playing wrong if we are allowing USA to land stuff in Africa or London or Russia after they declare in this scenario?

If we interpret it this way, it would also be illegal for Russia to move units into China on the same turn they declare on Japan.

Without clear language in the rules one way or another, we're going to need an official ruling on this one.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2018, 05:50:56 pm by Zhukov44 » Logged
simon33
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 16959


View Profile
« Reply #2602 on: July 22, 2018, 06:22:28 pm »
0

You're right, this issue prevents moves such as the yunnan stack strategy, which have been accepted up until now.

No problem for land units, only air units are the issue.

I want a clarification from krieghund. Or perhaps we could just add a rule to bm to permit this?
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5583


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #2603 on: July 22, 2018, 10:05:29 pm »
0

Quote from: rulebook Pacific 1940.2, page 21

Noncombat Move

Where units can land
Air Units: An air unit must end its move in an eligible landing space. Air units can land in any territory that was friendly (but not friendly neutral) at the start of the current turn.


The issue arises because of the USA starting as neutral power, not allied with anyone, other than other powers starting already belonging to an alliance.

Declaring war in general occurs at the beginning of the Combat Move phase:

Quote from: same rulebook, page 11
War must be declared
on your turn at the beginning of the Combat Move
phase
, before any combat movements are made,
unless otherwise specified in the political rules.

So at the start of the US turn, the Soviet territory is not friendly (=allied) to the USA.
It becomes friendly only later during (at the beginning of) Combat Move Phase.


See the discussion starting from here: https://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28562.msg1796255#msg1796255



« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 08:35:48 am by P@nther » Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5583


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #2604 on: July 23, 2018, 01:43:56 am »
0

You're right, this issue prevents moves such as the yunnan stack strategy, which have been accepted up until now.

In case by "Yunnan stack strategy" you mean landing UK (air) units in Yunnan, this is completely unrelated.

UK and China begin the game being allied. So Chinese territories are friendly to UK (and vice versa) from the beginning of the game.

However there is an additional requirement in the Political Situation part of the rulebook:
"When not yet at war with Japan,..., the United Kingdom may not move units into or through China."

So when UK declares war on Japan, Japanese territories become hostile to UK. Chinese territories still are friendly, as they have been from the beginning of the game - but the additional special requirement of UK being at war with Japan is now fulfilled. So now UK finally may move units into China.
And UK can land air units there during the same turn it declares war on Japan, because Chinese territories have been friendly from the beginning of the game (and UK's turn).

That is a totally different scenario.


« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 02:01:16 am by P@nther » Logged
simon33
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 16959


View Profile
« Reply #2605 on: July 23, 2018, 03:12:57 am »
0

Yes, quite. Although by the Yunnan stack, I refer to the USSR flying planes to Yunnan USSR1, normally including some planes which have been bid.

Just one more thing. There is still a potential way this can be allowed within the rules. That's if allied powers are still friendly powers before war is declared. As far as I can see, the manual never declares anything either way on this point.
Logged
MeinHerr
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 186


Labor omnia vincit


View Profile
« Reply #2606 on: July 23, 2018, 06:04:40 am »
0

Since at the outset of the game, China is at war with Japan.... USSR flying in planes is fine...   (just like  US fighters landing in Gibralter after Japan has just attacked...) .. although they were neutral before, the territory they land in is controlled by a power already at war....   (my take on it)
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5583


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #2607 on: July 23, 2018, 06:22:56 am »
0

There is still a potential way this can be allowed within the rules. That's if allied powers are still friendly powers before war is declared. As far as I can see, the manual never declares anything either way on this point.

That is a really good point, Simon. Yesterday on the Github-discussion I asked something similar, when I said:

Quote from: panther2 on Github
Now the question is:

Can a Soviet territory be considered friendly from the beginning of the US-turn which is started with the US being neutral and in which the US joins the Allies by DOW'ing on Axis powers?

or enhanced

Can allied powers' territories be considered friendly from the point of view of a power starting its turn neutral and joining those Allies during the same turn?

This indeed has been never clarified - and when I asked Krieghund about the US/SU issue yesterday, we did not discuss these (your and mine above) questions.
If neutral powers really could consider later-allied territories as friendly I of course would change my answer to Zukhov44's rules question immediately.

I will PM Krieghund again to ask him to consider these questions.

« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 06:48:18 am by P@nther » Logged
Deimos
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 123



View Profile
« Reply #2608 on: July 23, 2018, 07:45:31 am »
0

I don't know if this has been asked before but after searching online and the rulebook I can't find an answer to this.

I, as Germany, have a submarine convoying the US player in sz 101. On his turn he builds a destroyer. Now on my following turn, may I move the submarine away from the hostile sea zone during combat? How about during noncombat?

Thanks,
Deimos

EDIT:
To elaborate, the rulebook states that if a submarine ends its combat movement in a sea zone with a destroyer, combat will occur, so the latter is probably not viable. I'm mainly concerned with whether I can move out of the sea zone during combat. I don't see how it would make sense that I can escape if there is another battle I'm going to, but not if there isn't. In fact, I don't see why I should be locked in the sea zone in any case. I needed that sub!  sad
« Last Edit: July 23, 2018, 07:52:22 am by Deimos » Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4719


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #2609 on: July 23, 2018, 07:59:01 am »
0

This is an interesting question.  My gut reaction was the same as P@nther's - that the territories of a friendly power would not be friendly while your power is neutral.  This makes sense from a point of view of the dictionary definition of "neutral", but not everything in war makes sense.  Let's look at the relevant rules.

According to the definition of "friendly territories" on page 8 (Europe Rulebook), they are "controlled by you or a friendly power", while the definition of 'neutral territories" indicates that they're "not controlled by any power, or controlled by a power on the other side with which you are not yet at war".  Further, the definition of "neutral powers" on page 15 states that powers on the opposite side of neutral powers are not yet enemies, but it doesn't say that powers on the same side are not yet friends.  This seems to lump territories controlled by a power on your side while you're neutral into the "friendly" category (though you're explicitly prohibited from going there while neutral).  This is reinforced by with the explicit restrictions on the movement of neutral powers' units (rather than simply declaring all other powers' territories neutral while you're neutral).

The upshot is that the territories of a friendly are technically friendly while your power is neutral, but they're pretty much treated as neutral for all practical purposes.  However, they do meet the requirement of being friendly since the start your turn once you're at war.

From a thematic point of view, while the US or USSR might be officially neutral, the old adage "the enemy of my enemy is my friend" still applies, unofficially.  While a neutral power can't do anything to provoke a power on the other side, such as openly aiding another power, it can still be prepared to join the war at a moment's notice.  This took a little digging to sort out, and it is a little counter-intuitive, so it's easy to come to an incorrect conclusion when "shooting from the hip".  I didn't think through all of the ramifications of this situation yesterday when P@nther asked me about it.  Sorry for any confusion this may have caused!
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2018 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]

Latest Articles

I Will Never Grow Up Games



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Partner: Historical Board Gaming
Silver and Bronze Partners
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!