December 15, 2017, 04:29:29 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Japanese Strategy  (Read 5698 times)
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48269


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: January 24, 2011, 09:14:58 pm »
0

I seriously wonder if China is worth it.  Combined I think it's 1 Victory City, 23 IPC (not including Hong Kong and Korea.)  Wouldn't it be possible to hold some of the more important land, yield the lesser stuff and position for a stronger attack on ANZAC/East India territories?  It guals me seeing England/ANZAC getting the NO for all those islands (and the income) without really being able to do much against them.
Logged
ThomasJefferson
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 31


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2011, 08:32:43 am »
0

If the game is gonna last more than 5 turns, and the Japanese want to hold onto their asia holdings, they gotta take out at least one of the 3 allies, the Chinese, the Ruskies, or the English. If you sit back and try to hold on to your territory with out attacking, you will start to lose it turn 5. Plus, if you use your airforce, you can usually take out the chicoms with the units you start with, and in that way you are putting those units to use, where they are rusting doing nothing if you sit back and play defensive.
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48269


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 25, 2011, 11:05:43 am »
0

Well, to clarify I'm looking at Alpha 2 set up, so the Japanese air force has been decimated.  Okay, about 5 or 6 planes were removed, but its still a major change from OOB.

Anyway, I was not thinking about completely ignoring China without filling the gap elsewhere.  I was thinking of using 3 or 4 turns to really build up in SE Asia and pounding ANZAC/England the round before America comes into the game anyway.  The thought process was more like "Waste 200 IPC in China to stop them from building 100 IPC in units or get a fleet and secure the SE Pacific" but I'm not really sure on the feasibility of that either.
Logged
MadPup77
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 23


One Who Asks A Lot


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2011, 12:50:35 pm »
0

Quote from: Cmdr Jennifer
I seriously wonder if China is worth it.  Combined I think it's 1 Victory City, 23 IPC (not including Hong Kong and Korea.)  Wouldn't it be possible to hold some of the more important land, yield the lesser stuff and position for a stronger attack on ANZAC/East India territories?  It guals me seeing England/ANZAC getting the NO for all those islands (and the income) without really being able to do much against them.

I think china is worth it, but not all of it. Send a few men here and there, just to keep them on the down low. Focus most of your Transport men/art/tanks on India, and ANZAC. Like I said before, a minor factory, and 3 tanks a turn does a lot in that area. Yes that 18 IPCs, but still if you do the job right, you end up earning 60-70 IPCs a round.


~MadPup~
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48269


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: January 25, 2011, 06:55:25 pm »
0

Minor IC goes where, in your mind?
Logged
eudemonist
A&A.org Tank
*
***
Posts: 470


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: January 26, 2011, 07:45:41 am »
0

Minor IC goes where, in your mind?

Heck no!  For implanted comlinks, I want MAJOR IC!  I'm talking black like night, chummer.  That thing runs my gun arm and my smartlink--ain't takin' no chances.  Minor IC might be suitable for a Rebreather or sumpin'.
Logged
FieldMarshalGames
A&A.org Destroyer
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*****
Posts: 1932


Official Sponsor of AxisandAllies.org


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: January 26, 2011, 07:54:08 am »
0

I thought that you could not build a Major IC on foreign soil?  If this is the Case, as Japan you must build a Minor IC, or have a major all the way in Korea.

Am I right?
Logged
eudemonist
A&A.org Tank
*
***
Posts: 470


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: January 26, 2011, 08:23:19 am »
0

Yes.
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48269


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: January 26, 2011, 06:14:49 pm »
0

You can build a major industrial complex in Korea.  Korea is worth 3 IPC.  Thing is, I am not sure if it is worth it since yer right next to Japan and I doubt Japan's going to have 30 IPC for ground forces to fill Korea + enough for 6+ naval ships to make adequate (in my mind) use of the home IC.
Logged
MadPup77
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 23


One Who Asks A Lot


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: January 27, 2011, 02:38:32 pm »
0

Quote from: Cmdr Jennifer
Minor IC goes where, in your mind?

I put it in Shanghai.

Quote from: FieldMarshalGames
I thought that you could not build a Major IC on foreign soil?

I knew that, but if you capture a IC, you convert it to a minor. Now can you upgrade it to a major, even though its on foreign soil? Or can't you?

Also is my signature to big, or is it fine? I got kicked off other forums for pictures being too big.

~MadPup~
« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 02:40:30 pm by MadPup77 » Logged
Axisplaya
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 8151


Leo Major


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: January 27, 2011, 02:52:14 pm »
0

Personally, i prefer a Minor IC in Kwangtung, but of course, it depends on WHEN you build it...

You can't upgrade a minor IC on foreign soil, even if it was a Major IC before you took it. I mean, you can't do that with Alpha 1 and 2, but you could do it with OOB.

And i dunno about the size of your signature...

 afro
« Last Edit: January 27, 2011, 02:55:30 pm by Axisplaya » Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48269


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: January 27, 2011, 03:00:53 pm »
0

I dont see a "Kwangtung" on the map, but maybe I mistook some other name for it.  Anyway, no, you cannot upgrade an Industrial on foreign territory to a major either, if you own the land and it isnt "your" land (colored on the map for you) then you cannot have a major complex on it no matter what.  That means, even though Malaysa is worth 3 IPC, Japan can never have a major complex on it.  That also means the only territory Japan can have a Major complex on, except Japan, is Korea.
Logged
Axisplaya
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 8151


Leo Major


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2011, 03:05:00 pm »
0

Adjacent to Kwangsi and Kiangsi, it's a UK India territory, hence the "it depends on when you build it"....
Logged
MadPup77
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 23


One Who Asks A Lot


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: January 27, 2011, 03:13:41 pm »
0

Quote from: Cmdr Jennifer
Anyway, no, you cannot upgrade an Industrial on foreign territory to a major either, if you own the land and it isnt "your" land (colored on the map for you) then you cannot have a major complex on it no matter what.

Quote from: Axisplaya
You can't upgrade a minor IC on foreign soil, even if it was a Major IC before you took it. I mean, you can't do that with Alpha 1 and 2, but you could do it with OOB.

Okay, thanks for the clarification. I guess my opponent and I will have to revise our purchases. Wink

Thanks for the quick reply! Didn't even have a chance to log off!  cheesy

~MadPup~
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48269


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: January 27, 2011, 04:13:36 pm »
0

You can logoff?Huh

lol

Anyway, yea, that was a nice rule.  The whole idea of an Allied major on Europe proper is rather unsettling when one considers just how much the American's earn per round. (I'd like to see that removed actually, give them 30 IPC for having Guam, Hawaii, Midway, the Alutians and the Philippines and not for having the 48 Contiguous United States...and dropping it to 10 isnt enough, IMHO.  It can stay 30, because if Japan cannot manage to get at least ONE chain, Japan's being run very badly.  At least early in the game.)
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!