July 17, 2018, 09:29:48 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Funcioneta's 1940 Global module  (Read 64926 times)
BigBadBruce
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3077

G40-A2 1vs1 *Allies : 4-0 *Axis : 9-0


View Profile
« Reply #225 on: January 02, 2011, 02:09:04 pm »
0

G40 map is really nice Funcioneta, if you need help for remaining esthetics aspects, let me know.
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #226 on: January 02, 2011, 09:58:59 pm »
0

Also, any plans to update the graphics on the Western map to include Victory Cities, Capitals, Territory names and SZ#'s like the Pacific map?
G40 map is really nice Funcioneta, if you need help for remaining esthetics aspects, let me know.
My circumstances now appear to be such that I may be able to resume work on my map within 2-3 months (for what it's worth).
Logged
BigBadBruce
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3077

G40-A2 1vs1 *Allies : 4-0 *Axis : 9-0


View Profile
« Reply #227 on: January 02, 2011, 10:29:15 pm »
0

Ooups... embarassed... sorry, I assumed it was Funcioneta's work on the map. In any case, if I may help in any way, so I can also contribute for what I find excellent tool to reach distant players, just let me know.

I still prefer RL game with the board, but play by forum is nice to reach players from different region.

Logged
Gamerman01
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 42393

G40 Rules Deputy, G40 League Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #228 on: January 02, 2011, 11:28:39 pm »
0

Ooups... embarassed... sorry, I assumed it was Funcioneta's work on the map. In any case, if I may help in any way, so I can also contribute for what I find excellent tool to reach distant players, just let me know.

I still prefer RL game with the board, but play by forum is nice to reach players from different region.
Yes, and you can play one turn at a time - you don't have to have chunks of time for several hours at the same time as your friend!  Also nice to have a written record of everything, and copies of the map at each stage of the game.

Thanks for volunteering to help, Bruce.  And Stoney, anything you are able to do at any time will be much appreciated.
Logged
diabo loiro
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 166



View Profile
« Reply #229 on: January 03, 2011, 02:33:54 am »
0

is there a possibility to export the maps into a .jpg file or so?
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #230 on: January 03, 2011, 04:53:25 am »
0

Ooups... embarassed... sorry, I assumed it was Funcioneta's work on the map. In any case, if I may help in any way, so I can also contribute for what I find excellent tool to reach distant players, just let me know.
Yes, it is Func who is developing this module.  I had originally started on it, but then got busy so Func took over and made a provisional one until I could finish mine, since he was not really interested in spending time on the graphics (the pacific side of the board comes from my P40 module and much of the toolbar was work I had done before the Europe game came out/before I became busy).
is there a possibility to export the maps into a .jpg file or so?
If you are looking for an image file of the map, you will find it in the module's .gim folder - called Map.bmp.  You you pretty much any image editting program to save the BMP as a JPG, but I'm pretty sure currently ABattlemap does not support using JPGs for maps (a feature I have recommended, since it will greatly reduce the bloated size of the ABattlemap program folder if all maps were JPGss instead of BMPs, but I'm not a programmer and don't know how complicated that would be - I know even Microsoft Access does not even support other image file types as fully as bitmaps).
Logged
BigBadBruce
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3077

G40-A2 1vs1 *Allies : 4-0 *Axis : 9-0


View Profile
« Reply #231 on: January 03, 2011, 02:30:40 pm »
0

Sure I'll help. I guess I can do some image editing to get a full map as nice as the Pacific side. If anything else, let me know. I just don't know what else is needed.

I also have unsolved problem.
I want to play by forum (I am actually), it goes well with the first player I started a game with... but with 2 other players (2 different games) they can't load my map and I can't load theirs. The game crashes.

Besides the Abattlemap software version (I have 0.80 alpha1 - talking software version, not game set up, might get confusing!), what else should I look for? I asked the other player (Gargantua) to give me the link he used and he pointed me here... which is also where I found and use the download link.

Bottom line, I don't know what to do. Anyone knows? I would like to find what's the problem, since I love join the league. But since I can't play with 2 out of 3 players... well... sure you get my point.

Thank you.
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #232 on: January 04, 2011, 12:39:46 am »
0

Sure I'll help. I guess I can do some image editing to get a full map as nice as the Pacific side. If anything else, let me know. I just don't know what else is needed.
Are you an experienced graphic artist?  The module I had been working on for G40 and E40 I'm hoping is going to look quite a bit better than my pacific map.  If you are just wanting to try your hand at it, you are welcome to, but if you want to just wait for me to finish mine and see what I come up with you can do that too.  If you are an experienced graphic artist, perhaps we should be turning to you to design the maps, but personally I'm curious to see how mine will turn out since I'm just trying out an idea.

You should be able to find all the information you need to know to work on module elements in my tutorial.  There is a section on Map.bmp - the map file, but basically all you need to know is that the territories on the map should match up (location-wise) exactly (pixel-for-pixel) with the territory designations in the existing SectorInfo.bmp.  If you need to change SectorInfo.bmp, you can do that, but then you will also need to update SectorInfo.map and potentially SectorInfo.txt/SectorInfo.sek (if you add sectors, etc.).  Again, everything you would need to know here is in the tutorial.

I also have unsolved problem.
I want to play by forum (I am actually), it goes well with the first player I started a game with... but with 2 other players (2 different games) they can't load my map and I can't load theirs. The game crashes.

Besides the Abattlemap software version (I have 0.80 alpha1 - talking software version, not game set up, might get confusing!), what else should I look for? I asked the other player (Gargantua) to give me the link he used and he pointed me here... which is also where I found and use the download link.

Bottom line, I don't know what to do. Anyone knows? I would like to find what's the problem, since I love join the league. But since I can't play with 2 out of 3 players... well... sure you get my point.

Thank you.
There were actually 2 versions of ABattlemap released with the version label "0.80 alpha1".  You should make sure you and your partners have the latest version, which came originally only packaged with Attila's P40 module on Flames of Europe.  It is now also available with HolKann's ABattlemap Installer and here: http://www.mediafire.com/file/djkingzm3in/ABattleMapv0_80+.zip  If you use the second: as long as you installed ABattlemap first with version 0.79f, then you can simply replace your old ABattlemap.exe file with the new one.

However, I don't suspect that the program version is the most likely cause of the problem.  You need to make sure that you and your partners are using the same (preferrably most recent) version of Func's module (note that you cannot change the name of the .GIM folder from what Func assigned to it).  While I have not worked with ABattlemap in a long time and have not used Func's module, this would be my guess based on what I can remember from my experience with ABattlemap.  You should, of course, also make sure you are using the same initial setup, but even if you aren't that should keep you from opening the other person's save files.  Have all three of your partners read this post, and see let me know if you still after trouble after all four of you follow these guidelines: include information on anything you discovered regarding the versions used by you and your partners and/or whether or not anyone had changed the name of their .GIM module folder.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2011, 01:01:52 am by Stoney229 » Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #233 on: January 04, 2011, 02:57:25 am »
0

Okay, when I now move the cursor over Shan State, it has the correct name and abbreviation, but the abbreviation on the map itself is wrong. i suppose it's impossible to change the map itself?
Right - you can't do that with the editor, I don't think.  If you knew how to change what's on the map, or how to permanently add an airbase, I think you'd know enough to create your own battlemap.  And if you know that much, you need to finish the Global module for us.
The abbreviation on the map is simply part of the image itself (Map.bmp) - very easy to change with an image editor.  I've attached a small bitmap that you can copy and paste over the Shm abbreviation.  And ALL this info should be easy to find in my tutorial  wink .
Logged
Funcioneta
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 12860


AA50 '42 2010 League Champion


View Profile
« Reply #234 on: January 04, 2011, 03:56:54 am »
0

I'm too busy now with exams. But when I end them (mid February) I'll make a clean map. That will include just plain colours and the VCs (like Revised map), but it's very easy changing the *.map file at pleasure without compatibility issues. Just ensure that the territory borders are the same and there is not problem. I can include other people's maps in the module as alternative for those that want prettier graphics (or if you want, say, the Dutch as pink or green goblin for that matters  smiley )
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #235 on: January 04, 2011, 06:01:12 am »
0

I'm too busy now with exams. But when I end them (mid February) I'll make a clean map. That will include just plain colours and the VCs (like Revised map), but it's very easy changing the *.map file at pleasure without compatibility issues. Just ensure that the territory borders are the same and there is not problem. I can include other people's maps in the module as alternative for those that want prettier graphics (or if you want, say, the Dutch as pink or green goblin for that matters  smiley )
I assume you mean the Map.bmp file.  Changing the SektorInfo.map file is less easy... and introduces compatibility issues...

Which reminds me:
Sure I'll help. I guess I can do some image editing to get a full map as nice as the Pacific side. If anything else, let me know. I just don't know what else is needed.
If you need to change SectorInfo.bmp, you can do that, but then you will also need to update SectorInfo.map and potentially SectorInfo.txt/SectorInfo.sek (if you add sectors, etc.).
I should have mentioned also that this (as stated above) will introduce compatibility issues with previous versions of the module.  If someone you are playing with is using an older module and has their piece placed on a certain pixel location that is one sector in their module and a different sector in your module... that's the problem.
Logged
diabo loiro
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 166



View Profile
« Reply #236 on: January 04, 2011, 11:12:31 am »
0

actually i want to copy the maps out of the games going on to be able to show it someone etc..
not the map as a playground. is this possible?
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #237 on: January 05, 2011, 12:05:18 am »
0

actually i want to copy the maps out of the games going on to be able to show it someone etc..
not the map as a playground. is this possible?

You want the image of the game with the pieces on it?  You'll have to use PrintScreen.  If you don't have a special program to do this (like SnagIt of WireKeys), you should have a "PrtSc" or "PrintScrn" key in the upper-right of your keyboard that will copy your current screen's image display to the clipboard, which you can then paste into an image editor like MS Paint, Paint.NET, or Photoshop.  You can use the + and - keys on your numpad to zoom in/out in ABattlemap.
Logged
BigBadBruce
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3077

G40-A2 1vs1 *Allies : 4-0 *Axis : 9-0


View Profile
« Reply #238 on: January 07, 2011, 11:36:42 am »
0

You can use the + and - keys on your numpad to zoom in/out in ABattlemap.
Oh! Nice, I didn't notice that before. Thanks.

Have all three of your partners read this post, and see let me know if you still after trouble after all four of you follow these guidelines: include information on anything you discovered regarding the versions used by you and your partners and/or whether or not anyone had changed the name of their .GIM module folder.
I think it's ok. With first player I had no issue, game is going on (and I feel I have the edge! grin ), second player told me he didn't have the G40.gim folder (most recent module). Now that he has it, I expect this game will go on. No news about the third player... but it was an unfair challenge. I said that Axis had no chance at all with OOB setup and beg for anyone to prove me wrong (not that I'm better than anyone, but I really don't see how Axis can even capture 13 cities out of 14 needed). He was the only one to answer...
Alpha setup sounds great tho. I enjoy playing it, way more balanced.

Bottom line, I think I'm all set, thanks for you help.

Are you an experienced graphic artist?
Nope. Creativity = 0  embarassed
But I have skills with computer and softwares (I'm software analyst), so I can easily learn from and give hand on project. Home alone with 2 kids, my spare time are irregular, but I'll work on it this weekend.
I plan to simply open the file in (any?) graphics software and reproduce the pattern on flat part of the map. I'll make sure not to cause compatibility issue as you stated.
I don't see anything else to do, but if there's... just PM (or email) me. Since I'm using and greatly appreciate your work, I feel I have to give back.
Logged
kdfsjljklgjfg
A&A.org Tank
***
Posts: 331


View Profile
« Reply #239 on: January 18, 2011, 04:04:59 pm »
0

I've tried to help two of my friends with installing this module into abattlemap. They put the unzipped folder in the abattlemap folder the same way as I did, however when they open abattlemap, the new map doesn't show up in the list with the ones that came with it. Any solutions?
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2018 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]

Latest Articles

I Will Never Grow Up Games



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Partner: Historical Board Gaming
Silver and Bronze Partners
I Will Never Grow Up Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!