December 14, 2017, 02:40:53 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Tutorial for Creating ABattleMap Modules v1.0  (Read 24258 times)
TMTM
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 551


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: June 21, 2010, 06:24:45 pm »
0

This is Great! Excellent work!

I've been having trouble with my Toolbar in 0.80.. it disappears.. got any fix for that? I'm using Windows Vista... never had the trouble until now.
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #31 on: June 21, 2010, 08:11:46 pm »
0

This is Great! Excellent work!
Thanks very much!

I've been having trouble with my Toolbar in 0.80.. it disappears.. got any fix for that? I'm using Windows Vista... never had the trouble until now.
Is it not the same problem that is solved by the ABattlemap.ini trick?  That bug should be fixed if you care to upgrade to version 0.80+.  Also, Sektor Editor is a little buggy in version 0.80, but it works (with one exception noted in the tutorial) great in version 0.80+.  Dont worry, it won't break any compatibility or anything!
Logged
TMTM
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 551


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: June 22, 2010, 05:03:48 am »
0

Do you have a link to downloand the 0.80+ version? I can only find 0.80

**I got it... just needed the P40 installed.
« Last Edit: June 22, 2010, 06:21:03 am by TMTM » Logged
smither07
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 3


John Smith


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: July 20, 2010, 11:58:38 am »
0

Well explained!  afro thanks!
Logged
Funcioneta
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 12860


AA50 '42 2010 League Champion


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: October 26, 2010, 07:45:52 am »
0

To use rsek.exe to create a new SektorInfo.txtN file out of an existing SektorInfo.sekL file, type “rsek.exe SektorInfo.sek > SektorInfo.sek” (no quotes).  SektorInfo.sekL will remain in your folder and a new SektorInfo.txtN will appear.  Note that the required “>” between the source and destination files is unique to this tool.

It should be “rsek.exe SektorInfo.sek > SektorInfo.txt”, or otherwise sektorinfo.sek will corrupt trying to convert to itself. Check this, Stoney (I found this while I was trying to update F40 module)
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #35 on: October 26, 2010, 11:58:17 pm »
0

To use rsek.exe to create a new SektorInfo.txtN file out of an existing SektorInfo.sekL file, type “rsek.exe SektorInfo.sek > SektorInfo.sek” (no quotes).  SektorInfo.sekL will remain in your folder and a new SektorInfo.txtN will appear.  Note that the required “>” between the source and destination files is unique to this tool.

It should be “rsek.exe SektorInfo.sek > SektorInfo.txt”, or otherwise sektorinfo.sek will corrupt trying to convert to itself. Check this, Stoney (I found this while I was trying to update F40 module)
By jove, you're right!  sorry about that!  Look forward to seeing your module.  I actually expect to have electricity installed to where I am living before the end of the year, and so I may continue (even if for my own personal fulfillment) to finish what I had started, but even if I do it will be many months before being completed.
Logged
Funcioneta
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 12860


AA50 '42 2010 League Champion


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: October 30, 2010, 09:19:24 am »
0

A very important question: is there a limit for the number of powers that can do convoy damage? I can make all the other powers do damage, but the last 2 powers in the list (China and France) cannot do convoy damage, no wonder what I try. I don't care about China (at least in this module), but France is important because of the Madagascar dd. I cannot change the positions of India and France because it's needed that axis can raid India's Income
Logged
calvinhobbesliker
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 8897


The British Empire-the Largest one in History


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: October 30, 2010, 09:22:33 am »
0

A very important question: is there a limit for the number of powers that can do convoy damage? I can make all the other powers do damage, but the last 2 powers in the list (China and France) cannot do convoy damage, no wonder what I try. I don't care about China (at least in this module), but France is important because of the Madagascar dd. I cannot change the positions of India and France because it's needed that axis can raid India's Income

Well, if there's no solution, at least you can take comfort in the fact that French convoy raids will be few and far between.
Logged
Funcioneta
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 12860


AA50 '42 2010 League Champion


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: October 30, 2010, 03:50:31 pm »
0

•   Subsequent lines identify listed powers as allied together.  This information is used, for example, for convoy route or “national objectives” purposes, where a sector or group of sectors must be controlled by a power’s side for that power to receive an amount of income.  These lines must begin with the word “allied”, followed by a list of single-digit integers representing powers.  The line “allied 1 3 6” shows that powers 1, 3, and 6 are allied together.  Powers are numbered by their order in ToolPieces.bmpG and BigPieces.bmpH.  Note that powers numbered 10 or greater cannot be a part of these lists (as far as I can tell).


Not totally true: since it's a hexadecimal system, the max number is f (15). In my G40 module, France uses 'a' and still sums the income right. However, I'm not sure if powers with a number greater to 8 can do convoy damage (based on my experience)
Logged
Stoney229
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 798



View Profile
« Reply #39 on: October 31, 2010, 03:58:44 am »
0

A very important question: is there a limit for the number of powers that can do convoy damage? I can make all the other powers do damage, but the last 2 powers in the list (China and France) cannot do convoy damage, no wonder what I try. I don't care about China (at least in this module), but France is important because of the Madagascar dd. I cannot change the positions of India and France because it's needed that axis can raid India's Income

I cannot specifically remember what my discovery was on this matter, but you are quite likely right that it can only support up to 8 (idk why Attila didn't think of the Globabl game when he instituted the system for P40).  If this is the case, I guess you will have to find some way to work around it until a someone with C/C++ programming know-how to remedy the deficiency.
•   Subsequent lines identify listed powers as allied together.  This information is used, for example, for convoy route or “national objectives” purposes, where a sector or group of sectors must be controlled by a power’s side for that power to receive an amount of income.  These lines must begin with the word “allied”, followed by a list of single-digit integers representing powers.  The line “allied 1 3 6” shows that powers 1, 3, and 6 are allied together.  Powers are numbered by their order in ToolPieces.bmpG and BigPieces.bmpH.  Note that powers numbered 10 or greater cannot be a part of these lists (as far as I can tell).


Not totally true: since it's a hexadecimal system, the max number is f (15). In my G40 module, France uses 'a' and still sums the income right. However, I'm not sure if powers with a number greater to 8 can do convoy damage (based on my experience)
that's what I would have assumed, but I tried "a" and it didn't work for me.  Either my trial had some other error, or you are misunderstanding (slash-I have miscommunicated) the function of these ally groupings.  Where I have written "convoy route" here in this post, I am speaking of the "convoy routes" of games released before AAP40 (as opposed to the "convoy disruption" system of the AA1940 series), which functionally work in the modules basically the same way as the National Objectives (since the old system of convoy routes was that you had to control a specific sea zone in order to get the income of a certain territory or something like that).  So in the 1940 modules, the only function of the ally grouping in the MapInfo text file, which is only a function IF you implement automatic NO-calculation in your module, is that (in accordance with the rules) any one of a power's listed allies can control the sectors required for NO fulfillment in order for that power's NO to be automatically calculated.  This is why, in my P40 module, the USA (Oki + Iwo) NO requires the special "OCVR" designation (which was specifically created by Atti for that NO), since the rules state that the USA only receives income for that particular NO if the USA (specifically) controls both territories (e.g. UK or ANZ owning either one or both means USA does not get the NO).  Does that make sense?  This is why I had said before that I could not include France in the auto-NO calculations.

Now that I have tediously explained all this to you, you will tell me that you already understood all this and that France being listed as "a" actually works (and my own trials were somehow erroneous) so my explanation was pointless.  I'll be happy anyway, because that only makes it easier for you if you are wanting to implement Auto-NOs.  If you are not implementing Auto-NOs, then the ally groupings have no function (that I can think or am aware of)
« Last Edit: October 31, 2010, 04:26:06 am by Stoney229 » Logged
Funcioneta
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 12860


AA50 '42 2010 League Champion


View Profile
« Reply #40 on: October 31, 2010, 04:53:54 pm »
0

Thanks for the input, Stoney. I guess that I'll cheat, using 'Indian' ships painted with blue to simulate French ships. That's the better system that I can find by now

As for the groupings, thanks again, and good to know. Now I understand what you mean, and you're right. And like I use manual NOs, it's not going to be a trouble
Logged
TMTM
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 551


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: March 16, 2011, 05:29:14 pm »
0

Section Q: The hexadecimal number system

I was just browsing through to see whats new.. reading up on the how Hexadecimal works.. too much for my brain hehe So I went looking for a converter:
http://www.ascii.cl/conversion.htm
Logged
TMTM
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 551


View Profile
« Reply #42 on: March 16, 2011, 05:47:53 pm »
0

Is there already a post/forum for discussing future idea's for abattlemap development? Any I always think of idea's while laying in bed at night hehe.

How about being able to make different sized units on the same toolbar.. of course they'd all be the same height, 9 pixels... but be able to adjust the length for ships would be cool.. make it all adjustable from the UnitStats.txt by adding another set of digits for abattlemap to read when it loads the module.. each unit would have a size setting.

How about having Zoom in/ Zoom out.. being able to adjust the view of the map.. not sure if it can be done but sounds cool.

How about adding tabs to the map file.. so you can save a whole game into one file and be able to click thru the turns.

How about able to add an info sting to the InfoView, I would add Cash.. and on my cash/sektors on the map I would program it to show the cash on the InfoView as well so you don't have to scroll back to go see.. just look at the Infoview.

How about a text tool to add text or text boxes to the module or notes to the map file

We have Toolpeices and BigPeices, how about adding a 3rd CustomPeices: Have a CustomPeices.txt which is where the module maker edits its specs.. so we can make larger and longer toolpeices of multiple size on one toolbar

How about a dice roller inside the program and saves the uneditable results to the AAM file.. it could work.. as long as no one gets pretty and edits the source code to give themselves favorable results hehe

Able to move a whole stack of units with one click etc or partial stack.

We now have the Sektor Editor.. how about a tool to edit the area of the sektor and saves it to the SektorInfo.map file for quit fixes etc... like a paint brush.. just paint where you want the sektor to be.

A hilighter tool.. kinda like paint brush.. maybe it would work like a layer that can be delete once the other user/s review what the other player hilighted.

emailer, be able to add players emails to the abattlemap and from the top.. like next to View.. would be Email.. it would auto attach the map file and have a message box and send button.. and the option to add multiple receivers (emails)

How about a Fleet peice.. that you can stack units on.. and all you have to do is move the Fleet peice to move all the navy units in one seazone... maybe also for land units?

I'll add more later

« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 09:43:12 am by TMTM » Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!