November 22, 2017, 09:23:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AAP40 FAQ  (Read 34252 times)
Imperious Leader
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15337


Sgt. Saunders 351st, King Company


View Profile
« Reply #195 on: November 22, 2011, 10:03:10 am »
0

post to kill spam
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 847



View Profile
« Reply #196 on: December 01, 2011, 04:59:23 am »
0

Hey guys,

I was wondering: I see that many of the territories along the coast of mainland China have orange tinted borders (which would indicate Japanese ownership) but still have Chinese control markers on them? Forgive me, I don't own the game but am I right in assuming that the AAP40 set dictates that Japan currently controls these territories at the start of the game? And if this is the case, do players normally place a Japanese control marker over the Chinese ones printed on the board?

The reason I wish to know is because I am currently making a copy of map (for no particular reason) and I'm doing it in block-colour as opposed to the standard 'terrain' style imagery of the recent A&A Games. I got to this point in the map and I thought 'Hmm, should I colour these territories orange or green?'

Anyway, thank you for helping to clear this up.  smiley
Logged
Gamerman01
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 42213

G40 Rules Deputy, G40 League Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #197 on: December 01, 2011, 09:37:05 am »
0

Color them green.
The orange border is only to show that Japan starts the game controlling those territories.  They are Chinese territories, conquered by the Japanese.  Yes they have ��� control markers on them at the beginning of the game - because they are considered Chinese territories.
Logged
oklahomasailor52
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 22


"Damn the torpedoes, Full speed ahead!"


View Profile
« Reply #198 on: February 03, 2012, 12:11:16 am »
0

I'm a tad confused about the Kwangtung/Burma exception for the Chinese. I understand that they are able to attack and occupy these territories, never allowed to build infantry/artillery in them, and only receive an IPC income boost for as long as Calcutta is under Axis control. My question is this: is there anything prohibiting Chinese units from moving into these two territories during noncombat movement to reinforce them? Stated another way, can I move Chinese units into them regardless of whether they are under China's temporary control or under their original British ownership? Thank you! 
Logged
Gamerman01
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 42213

G40 Rules Deputy, G40 League Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #199 on: February 03, 2012, 05:47:43 am »
0

I'm a tad confused about the Kwangtung/Burma exception for the Chinese. I understand that they are able to attack and occupy these territories, never allowed to build infantry/artillery in them, and only receive an IPC income boost for as long as Calcutta is under Axis control. My question is this: is there anything prohibiting Chinese units from moving into these two territories during noncombat movement to reinforce them? Stated another way, can I move Chinese units into them regardless of whether they are under China's temporary control or under their original British ownership? Thank you! 
YES  smiley
You can always noncom Chinese units into them when they are friendly, regardless of who controls it(them).
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16214


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #200 on: April 29, 2012, 03:28:08 am »
0

how do people deal with russia in Pacific only with A3.9? I would like to see the 18 inf on the board and force Japan to garrison both Korea and Manchuria for 2 turns, then remove Russians and release Japanese forces. Perhaps Air units could fight and return in non combat. 
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 847



View Profile
« Reply #201 on: May 27, 2012, 08:38:19 am »
0

Quote
Calvinhobbesliker is correct.  China can control these territories if it captures them while India is under Axis control, but they are not "Chinese territories".

Krieghund, can this ambiguity please be clarified and put into the official Pacific 1940 FAQ/Errata? And if still possible, into the rulebook for the upcoming Pacific 1940 reprint? I think the paragraph should read:

"Kwangtung and Burma are special cases. While they are not Chinese territories and cannot be controlled by China, Chinese forces can attack Axis units there and occupy them, but the IPCs generated go to the United Kingdom. However, if India is under Axis control then the IPCs generated go to China. These are the only non-Chinese territories that Chinese units can occupy."

Is that okay? Thank you.
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16214


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #202 on: May 27, 2012, 09:54:53 am »
0

Could the line be:"Attack Axis units or move in during non combat"? Please. Not "occupy", as that confused me. Thought Chinese could only enter to attack and evict the Japanese.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 847



View Profile
« Reply #203 on: May 28, 2012, 01:29:18 am »
0

Agreed, wittman.

Kreighund - again, may we please ask you to take another look at the Burma/Kwangtung situation? This came up in the Global1940 FAQ thread, and was answered by kcdzim:


Quote from: Veqryn on May 23, 2012, 04:51:36 am

Quote
So, just to be clear about this:

1. China can combat move into UK owned Burma/Kwangtung before UK is at war with Japan.

No.  Although it's common in house rules to allow noncom movements during the combat phase, that's not strictly legal.  If Burma/Kwangtung isn't controlled by an enemy (and UK/ANZAC would be at war with Japan if it was), it's not an attack, and therefore not a combat move.  You cannot move into in a friendly territory during the combat phase unless you're passing through to attack something beyond (with a mech, tank, etc).  A combat move requires combat (or the possibility of combat).  China moving into Burma/Kwangtung while it is still UK owned will never result in combat, and technically is not to be done during the combat move phase, though that's often overlooked.


Quote from: Veqryn on May 23, 2012, 04:51:36 am
Quote
2. China can noncombat move into UK owned Burma/Kwangtung before UK is at war with Japan.

Correct.


Quote from: Veqryn on May 23, 2012, 04:51:36 am
Quote
3. UK may not move into any Chinese owned territory before UK is at war with Japan.


Correct.  In order for the UK/ANZAC to noncombat move into a chinese territory OR overfly a chinese territory with a plane, they must first declare war on japan.


As you can see, there seems to be a little confusion over what Chinese units can do in these two territories. If I am correct in my thinking, Chinese units may Noncombat Move into Kwangtung and Burma before the UK/ANZAC are at war with Japan. Is this right? The rulebook does not specifically state that. Perhaps this could also be clarified in the official Pacific 1940 FAQ/Errata, and if still possible, make it into the rulebook for the upcoming Pacific 1940 reprint.

Many many thanks for your help.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #204 on: May 28, 2012, 04:53:10 am »
0

Kcdzim's answers are all correct.  This is stated in the Rulebook, although not as clearly as I would like:

Quote
Kwangtung and Burma are special cases. While they are not Chinese territories and cannot be controlled by China, Chinese forces can attack Axis units there and occupy them, but the IPCs generated go to the United Kingdom (unless India is under Axis control). These are the only non-Chinese territories that Chinese units can occupy.

This rule does clearly state that Chinese units can occupy these territories (see the red text).  In game terms, to "occupy" a space simply means to be in it (the simplest definition of the word).  The confusion comes in when people try to read more into the word "occupy" than is there.  This may in part be due to the fact that the wording is a little unfortunate, as it seems to connect occupation with attack in the first reference.

The part that is unclear is exactly when China may control these territories and collect IPCs from them.  However, the normal rules for captured friendly capitals apply here (see the blue text).  This also is not as clear as it could be, and will be fixed in the next printing.  Since there is a new printing coming, the current FAQ will most likely not be changed.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 847



View Profile
« Reply #205 on: May 28, 2012, 06:15:24 am »
0

Quote
This also is not as clear as it could be, and will be fixed in the next printing.

That is excellent news, thank you.

Quote
Since there is a new printing coming, the current FAQ will most likely not be changed.

That's a shame, but okay fair enough.

Thanks very much for looking into and responding to the matter Krieg.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 847



View Profile
« Reply #206 on: May 31, 2012, 01:54:04 am »
0

I am having a problem understanding a little part of the 'Special Comments and Clarifications Related to Neutral Powers' section on page 3 of the FAQ document, where is says:

"Important exception – During the combat movement phase following the announced declaration of war, transports already in sea zones that have just become hostile may be loaded in those sea zones (but not in other hostile sea zones). This may occur only during the first Combat Move phase following the announced declaration of war. Once that initial combat movement phase is over, normal transport loading restrictions apply."

Can anyone please explain the "(but not in other hostile sea zones)" sentence? What other hostile sea zones are being referred to here? For the life of me I cannot fathom what this means.

Thank you one and all.
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16214


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #207 on: May 31, 2012, 03:55:28 am »
0

Does it not mean you cannot move from one hostile sea zone to another and pick up  in the 2nd one? Can only load in the sea zone the transport starts in.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #208 on: May 31, 2012, 05:21:31 am »
0

That's what it means.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!