November 22, 2017, 09:57:52 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Moving through the Suez Canal  (Read 10458 times)
OctavianNT
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« on: January 05, 2009, 11:29:57 am »
0

Does it take one movement point for a ship to move through the canal to the different numbered SZ?  There is no line so is this just considered one large sea zone?
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48267


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 12:04:31 pm »
0

They are two different sea zones. (Hence why they have different numbers on the map.)  Therefore it would take one movement to get from the west side of Panama to the East just like from the North Side of the Suez to the South Side.
Logged
OctavianNT
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 20


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 12:25:44 pm »
0

This too was my reasoning, but my opponent thought different.  I couldn't find this addressed anywhere in the rule book.  Are you 100% with your answer, it makes sense to me but again there is no line
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4683


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 12:52:32 pm »
0

Yes, she's right.
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48267


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2009, 01:10:47 pm »
0

Back in the old days, it was common practice to use a rule that both sides of the Panama Canal were the same sea zone if you owned Panama.  But it was always an optional rule that people used (like giving the Axis super powers (Jets and Super Subs)) and never a hard and fast rule.

Your opponent may be working under that premise.  However, even if s/he is, (if it's a she, let her continue, I hate being the only woman in North America who plays this game!) it's still wrong.  Canals are short cuts you can use if you own both sides, but they are still different sea zones on either side.
Logged
kendric
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2009, 02:42:17 pm »
0

I plan to groom my daughter into playing this game. Wish me luck! Maybe there will be 2 females.. You will have to wait a while though, she is only 1 now.
Logged
a44bigdog
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 15365



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2009, 02:46:33 pm »
0

My girl friend plays as well. I just can't get her to play online.
Logged
Swantalon
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2017, 03:49:07 pm »
0

In the 2nd edition rules you must own both land territories to pass thru the suez canal. There really should be a tiny line on your map. This is not an optional rule. Land units may of course move across the canal without transports. This is do to the size of the canal and actually follows the real thing. The canal is very tiny even today, so it was imperative in world war 2 to hold both sides for safe passage. If the axis owns one side and the allirs the other, no one goes thru. And movement thru is considered one movement point.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2017, 03:56:00 pm by Swantalon » Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5261


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2017, 05:27:15 am »
0

In the 2nd edition rules you must own both land territories to pass thru the suez canal. There really should be a tiny line on your map. This is not an optional rule. Land units may of course move across the canal without transports. This is do to the size of the canal and actually follows the real thing. The canal is very tiny even today, so it was imperative in world war 2 to hold both sides for safe passage. If the axis owns one side and the allirs the other, no one goes thru. And movement thru is considered one movement point.

Welcome to the forum, Swantalon!

What are you referring to?
This is the Anniversary Edition subforum.  smiley
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!