Basic Question: How many units HAVE to attack…?

• I’m totally new to this game… Two basic questions that the instructions don’t seem to clear up… And I used to play Risk a bit so maybe this is why I’m confused:

When attacking do you have to attack with all available units from the territory where you are attacking from?.. Or can you only attack with x units and leave some behind in the original territory (those ‘left behind’ will not be involved in the battle)?

Secondly, can you attack from two (or more) territories onto one enemy territory in the same attack (i.e. move in units from two (or more) territories that can both reach the desired enemy territory and thus combine those forces in that one attack?)

Thanks!

• 1st question) No you can attack a territory and leave some x amount of units back and x amount of units to attack.

2nd question) yes you can attack from any county that is connected to the territory.

• I’m also new to the game.

If players are allowed to leave behind some of their army from attacking, are these armies that are “left behind” allowed to attack the same territory after the first committed armies have attacked (if they lose let’s say) or attack another territory?

If they are allowed to attack, what stops someone from “inching” his way attacking by committing one army at a time?

Thanks for any responses. Much appreciated.

• @Newbie:

I’m also new to the game.

If players are allowed to leave behind some of their army from attacking, are these armies that are “left behind” allowed to attack the same territory after the first committed armies have attacked (if they lose let’s say) or attack another territory?

If they are allowed to attack, what stops someone from “inching” his way attacking by committing one army at a time?

Thanks for any responses. Much appreciated.

No they may not. One must declare ALL combat moves, THEN combat (dice rolling) then non-combat moves.