November 17, 2017, 11:40:26 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: A&A WaS Carrier Question  (Read 1187 times)
Admiral Collier
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: September 02, 2007, 03:50:02 pm »
0

In War at Sea, when we are assembling a fleet, how do you count the costs of carriers and their aircraft?

For instance,  I have HMS Ark Royal (22) and SBD Dauntless (13) and I want to base my Dauntless squadron on the carrier.
Is the cost: 1) simply 35 (22+13); 2) do you have to count the carrier an additional time for each squadron based there 59 (22+22+13); or do you count the squadron twice  48 (22+13+13).

Your help is appreciated.

Admiral Collier  afro
Logged
Audacity
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 240


Audacity and opportunity will win the day - RC


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2007, 05:46:42 pm »
0

The way I understand it and play it is to pay for each model you have once.

So a carrier with two flights of aircraft is carrier cost + plane cost + plane cost = total. Its no different than having three destroyers are paying a cost for each one.
Logged
Admiral Collier
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2007, 09:57:59 pm »
0

What confuses me is this reference on page 11 of the advanced rules under Fleet Construction Etiquette:  "Carriers and their Aircraft squadrons can attack enemy units anywhere on the battle map, but you'll have to pay for them twice:  once for the Carrier, and once for each squadron you assign to it."  huh
Logged
timerover51
Guest
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2007, 02:10:15 am »
0

What confuses me is this reference on page 11 of the advanced rules under Fleet Construction Etiquette:  "Carriers and their Aircraft squadrons can attack enemy units anywhere on the battle map, but you'll have to pay for them twice:  once for the Carrier, and once for each squadron you assign to it."  huh

It is a case of poor wording.  I suspect what they were trying to say is that to use planes, you have to pay for both the planes and the carrier, you do not get the planes with the carrier.  If you still need help, post the question over on the Avalon Hill boards under naval miniatures.
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3663


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2007, 09:44:26 am »
0

The way I understand it and play it is to pay for each model you have once.

So a carrier with two flights of aircraft is carrier cost + plane cost + plane cost = total. Its no different than having three destroyers are paying a cost for each one.

What confuses me is this reference on page 11 of the advanced rules under Fleet Construction Etiquette:  "Carriers and their Aircraft squadrons can attack enemy units anywhere on the battle map, but you'll have to pay for them twice:  once for the Carrier, and once for each squadron you assign to it."  huh

It is a case of poor wording.  I suspect what they were trying to say is that to use planes, you have to pay for both the planes and the carrier, you do not get the planes with the carrier.  If you still need help, post the question over on the Avalon Hill boards under naval miniatures.

Both of these answers coincide with my understanding.

Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!