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G40 Alt-Universe Rules (Version Beta-1.4) 
 
 

Introduction 

The strained peace of the World’s major military powers has finally broken.  Italy has watched the 
United Kingdom and France prosper in nearby areas while its influence stagnates.  With a mutual 
defence pact in place, and knowing that Germany and Japan are itching for an excuse to rationalize 
military expansion, Italy has staged an incident of UK aggression enabling it to open hostilities. 
 
The Allies are not yet unified on a war footing and have varying political impediments.  France is 
demilitarizing and considers itself isolationist.  It intends to remain neutral for the long term. 
 
G40 Alt-Universe is for those who love Axis and Allies, but are looking for a new strategic experience.  
The war is the same, but occurs in an alternate universe where the Earth’s land formation happened 
differently.  It’s a return to the early days of pouring over the map and developing strategies in an 
unfamiliar setting. 

 

Base Rules 

G40 Alt-Universe’s base rules are the rulebooks for Axis and Allies Europe 1940 Second Edition & Axis 
and Allies Pacific 1940 Second Edition. 
 
The base rules of the game are contained in the rulebooks mentioned above when playing the global 
version where the Europe and Pacific games are combined.  For any items not addressed in the 
following, players should default to rules contained in the above-mentioned rulebooks. 
 

Victory Conditions 

Axis  
1. The Axis control 14 or more cities for an entire game round commencing and ending with the 

power which took the 14th city. 
 

Allies  
1. The Axis control less than 6 cities for an entire game round commencing and ending with the 

Allied power that took the 6th Axis city. 
2. On round 8 and each subsequent round, the Axis control less than 8 cities for an entire game 

round commencing and ending with the Allied power that took the 8th Axis city (or 
commencing with Germany if the Axis control less than 8 cities at the beginning of round 8). 

 

Political Situation, Turn Order and Starting IPCs and Income 

 
Germany - 44 
Germany begins the game at war with no one.  Germany has no political restraints and may declare 
war on any of the Allied powers at any time. 
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Soviet Union - 42 
The Soviet Union begins the game at war with no one.   
The Soviet Union does not consider itself prepared for war and may not declare war on any Axis 
power before turn 4 unless one of the following conditions are met: 
 

1. An Axis power has declared war on the Soviet Union 
2. The Axis attack currently Pro-Allied territories it considers itself to have a pseudo protectorate 

interest in, namely PA4, PA10, PA11, PA12 
3. The Axis attack Neutral League territories it considers itself to have a pseudo protectorate 

interest in, namely NL3, NL4, NL5, NL6, NL7, NL8, including if they are attacked after being 
turned Pro-Allied due to the Axis having attacked a different Neutral League territory 

 
Japan - 30 
Japan begins the game at war with no one.  Japan has no political restraints and may declare war on 
any of the Allied powers at any time. 
 
Japan begins the game in a ceasefire agreement with China that allows Japan to use the strait (Sea 
Zone 76) they both share when the game begins.  Japan may continue to use the strait if it is not at 
war with China.  Japan may also pass through the strait (in both combat and non-combat movement) 
on the turn it declares war on China due to the surprise of breaking the ceasefire. 
 
United States - 58 
The US begins the game at war with no one.  The US may not declare war until turn 3 unless one of 
the following conditions are met: 
 

1. An Axis power has declared war on the US 
2. The Axis have captured A4 or UK10 

 
While neutral, the US must end the movement of its naval units in a sea zone that is adjacent to a US 
territory or sea zones 54, 55, 78, 79. 
 
China - 12 (23 on Income Tracker) 
China begins the game at war with no one.  China begins the game in a ceasefire agreement with 
Japan that has allowed it to concentrate on internal turmoil. 
 
China may not declare war until turn 3 unless one of the Axis powers declares war on it.  While 
neutral, China’s income is reduced to 12 IPCs, regardless of where it sits on the income tracker, 
representing resources lost due to lack of unity and internal civil hostilities.   
 
China begins the game with a fighter in C4 representing the US volunteer group, the Flying Tigers. Use 
a US or other fighter to represent it. If China remains neutral through it’s first turn, the US will recall 
the Flying Tigers unit out of apprehension regarding the civil unrest in China.  In this case, the Flying 
Tigers unit must be moved from C4 to US21 and will become a US unit indefinitely. 
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While neutral, China’s units are restricted to originally Chinese territories.  Once at war, China’s units 
may also enter territories it deems strategically important, namely: 

1. Originally controlled Japanese territories 
2. Originally controlled Allied territories immediately adjacent to Chinese territories, if the 

respective Allied nation is at war with Japan.  (R26, R31, R32, UK26, A10)  
 
Should the Flying Tigers unit remain Chinese due to a turn 1 declaration of war against China by the 
Axis, it is also restricted to these territories and may not fly over water.  The Flying Tiger unit may 
cross the sea zone 76 strait as the surrounding land territories are considered adjacent, however it 
may not enter sea zone 76. 
 
China may deploy newly purchased infantry on any originally controlled Chinese territories it owns at 
the end of its turn and is not limited in the number of newly purchased infantry it may deploy to a 
single territory.  China may also deploy artillery and antiaircraft artillery as described in its national 
objective. 
 
Allied nations must be at war with Japan for their units to enter Chinese territories. 
 
As in the base game, China is not eligible for convoy disruptions. 
 
United Kingdom - 45 
The UK begins the game at war with Italy.  The UK has no political restrictions and may declare war on 
any of the Axis powers at any time.  Note that Italy owns UK 21 at the beginning of the game. 
 
Italy - 14 
Italy begins the game at war with the UK.  Italy has no political restrictions and may declare war on 
any of the Allied powers at any time. 
 
ANZAC - 12 
ANZAC begins the game at war with Italy.  ANZAC considers itself politically integrated with the UK for 
matters of war and will follow whatever political situation exists for the UK.  ANZAC may not declare 
war independently. 
 
France – 6 (32 on Income Tracker) 
France begins the game at war with no one and places a high priority on remaining neutral for the 
long term.  France considers its military to be in a managed decline and has diverted most of its 
revenues away from military spending.  France’s income while neutral is 6 IPCs, however this will be 
increased to its full income tracker amount if the Axis powers are first to attack a Neutral League 
territory or France is at war.  
 
France is also concerned about the wellbeing of Independent Neutral territories and will react if they 
are attacked (see the Rearmament and French Lend-Lease national objectives). 
 
France may declare war on the Axis powers if one of the following occurs: 

1. One of the Axis powers has declared war on France 
2. It is France’s third turn following a Neutral League territory being attacked by an Axis power 

and the Allied powers were not first to attack a Neutral League territory 
3. The game has reached turn 12 
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While neutral, France may not end the movement of its naval units in sea zones that are adjacent to 
Axis territories unless they are also adjacent to a French territory.  French naval units are not 
obligated to move if they begin their turn in this state. 
 

National Objectives 

 
Germany 

- 5 IPCs if Germany is not at war with the Soviet Union – Trade with the Soviet Union 
- 5 IPCS if Germany controls two or more Soviet Union cities – Natural Enemies 
- 5 IPCs if the Axis control all of UK12, UK13, UK14, PA5, PA8, PX4 – Western Wall 
- 5 IPCS if the Axis control all of PA7, UK7, UK11, G20 – Outer Defense 
- 5 IPCs per territory if Germany controls UK4, F13 or A4 – Sea Lion 
- 5 IPCs if the Axis control G2, G5, PX2 and R1 – North Sea Resources 

 
Soviet Union 

- 2 IPCs per territory if the Soviet Union controls PA4, PA10, PA11 or PA12 (note, must be at war 
to take Pro-Allied territories) – Growth of the Union 

- 3 IPCs if there are no Allied units on any originally controlled Soviet Union territories while the 
Soviet Union is at war – National Prestige 

- 5 IPCs if the Soviet Union controls 3 or more originally Axis territories – Expansion 
- 5 IPCs if the Allies control G2, PX2, R1 and R5 – North Sea Resources 

 
Japan 

- 10 IPCs if Japan has not made an unprovoked declaration of war against the UK or ANZAC and 
is not at war with France or the US – Trade with the US and France 

- 5 IPCs if Japan is not at war with China – Trade with China 
- 5 IPCs per territory if Japan controls US22, A4, F13, UK27, UK10 or R26 – Allied Cities 
- 5 IPCs if the Axis control A5, A7, PA6 and R22 – Northern Defense Perimeter 
- 5 IPCs if the Axis control all originally Chinese territories – Imperialism Rampant 

 
United States 

- 5 IPCs if the US controls US2, US3 and US22 while at war – Island Influence 
- 10 IPCS if the US controls all of its original mainland territories while at war – National Pride 
- 10 IPCs if the US is at war – War Time Production  *Optionally 5 IPCs, see below 
- 5 IPCs if the US controls at least one original German, Italian or Japanese non-island territory 

(see Industrial Complex Placement section for what constitutes a non-island territory) – Boots 
on the Ground 

 
China 

- 2 IPCS per territory if China owns C1, C5 or C21 while at war, and the adjacent Allied territory 
is Allied controlled – Allied Financial Support 

- While at War, China may purchase a single Artillery or Antiaircraft Artillery in each of C1, C5 or 
C21 if the territory was owned at the beginning of China’s turn and the adjacent Allied 
territory is Allied controlled at the beginning of China’s turn – Allied Materials 
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United Kingdom 

- 5 IPCs if the Allies control UK7, UK11, UK12, UK13, UK14 and G20 – Continental Influence 
- 5 IPCs if the UK control 5 or more Pro-Allied territories – Expanding Democracy 
- 5 IPCs if there are no Axis warships in Sea Zones 58, 68, 69, 83 or 84 – Southern Shipping Lanes 
- 2 IPCs (10 IPC maximum) per territory for each Independent Neutral territory that the Axis 

have attacked if the Allies have not attacked any Independent Neutral territories and France 
remains at reduced income – French Lend-Lease 

 
Italy 

- 5 IPCs per Territory if Italy controls R26, UK27 or F13 – Roman Resurgence 
- 3 IPCs if the Axis control UK21, UK22, UK23, UK24, UK25, UK26 – Southern Wall 
- 5 IPCs if the Axis control UK30, NL10, NL11, NL12 and NL13 – Southern Resources 
- 3 IPCs if the Axis control 3 out of UK20, PA14, UK30, UK31, PA15 – Amphibious Ambitions 

 
ANZAC 

- 3 IPCs if ANZAC controls all of its original territories and PA6 when at war with Japan – Island 
Resources 

- 3 IPCs if there are no Axis warships in the AZAC/Soviet/Chinese Sea (i.e. Sea Zones 33, 34, 41, 
42, 43, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 62, 63, 64, 65) while at war with all Axis powers – Shipping Lanes 

 
France 

- 2 IPCs (10 IPC maximum) per territory for each Independent Neutral territory that the Axis 
have attacked if France remains at reduced income – Rearmament  

- 5 IPCs if France owns all of its original territories while at war – Fatherland 
- 2 IPCs (6 IPC maximum) per territory if France controls original German, Italian or Japanese 

territories – Diplomacy Abandoned 

 

* For gaming groups finding the Allies significantly stronger than the Axis, it is suggested as an 
optional rule to change the United States War Time Production objective from 10 to 5 IPCs, if agreed 
at the beginning of the game. 

 

Straits 

The map contains three straits: 
- Anglo-French Strait 
- German-Italian Strait 
- Chinese-Japanese Strait 

 
All three straits may be crossed by land and air units to the adjacent territory, specifically as below, 
and all connections work in reverse: 
UK5 to F3 G19 to I1 C10 to C11 C10 to J1 
C9 to J1  C16 to J1 C16 to J8 
 
Both sides of a strait must be controlled by a friendly power at the start of your turn in order to pass 
through it.  France is sympathetic to the Allies, meaning it will grant them passage through the Anglo-
French Strait even if it has not yet joined the Allies. 
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Sea Zone 76 

The Chinese-Japanese straight is a special situation, in that, it extends for an entire Sea Zone (Sea 
Zone 76) rather than creating a border between two sea zones.  Air units may elect to enter Sea Zone 
76 and use one movement point as normal, however if crossing between land territories they may 
elect to ignore the sea zones and cross directly between adjacent land territories. 
 
Naval units from any power may enter Sea Zone 76 as normal, however, they must end their 
movement in Sea Zone 76 unless all 6 adjacent territories were friendly at the beginning of the 
power’s turn.  If Naval units began the turn in Sea Zone 76 they have no special restrictions and may 
exit in either direction as desired or remain. 
 

Neutral Territories 

The game board has four types of neutral territories: Pro-Allies neutral (PA), Pro-Axis neutral (PX), 
Neutral League (NL) and Independent Neutral (IN). 
 
Axis powers may attack neutral territories or take control of friendly neutral territories no matter 
their political situation.  Allied powers must be at war to attack or take control of neutral territories. 
 
Unlike the base game, powers may fly air units over non-sympathetic neutral territories (including 
Pro-Enemy, Independent Neutral and Neutral League territories) during either the combat or non-
combat move phase as though they were enemy territories.  This will have the same result as if the 
power had conducted a failed attack on the territory and cause it to immediately join the opposing 
alliance.  Such a fly-over may also be done in conjunction with a simultaneous attack on the territory. 
Pro-Axis and Pro-Allied neutrals function in the same way as the base game with the exceptions 
mentioned above. 
 
Neutral League territories function in the same way as strict neutral territories in the base game 
whereby if one of them is attacked, they will immediately all become pro-Axis or pro-Allies to oppose 
the side making the attack.  Notably, attacking Neutral League territories also has implications for 
France’s political situation. 
 
Independent neutral territories are indifferent about the war situation elsewhere and will only join an 
alliance as a result of a failed attack by the opposing alliance (including the fly-over situation 
mentioned earlier).  Notably, if the Axis or the Allies attack independent neutral territories, this also 
has implications on France’s income through its Rearmament national objective and also for the UK 
through its French Lend-Lease national objective. 
 

Cities and Industrial Complexes 

Unlike the base game, there are no capital cities.  Powers never lose their ability to collect income 
unless all of their cities have been captured.  China is an exception, in that it never loses it’s ability to 
collect income unless all of it’s territories have been captured. 
 
Since there are no capital cities, the base game rules for capturing the unspent IPCs of the opposing 
power don’t apply.  Instead, the attacker receives the below bonuses for capturing opposing cities and 
industrial complexes.  These bonuses apply only the first time a particular city or industrial complex is 
captured and not if it is subsequently liberated or re-captured by either the same or another power.  
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Upgrading an industrial complex does not reset its eligibility for bonus capture.  If an industrial 
complex is placed on an originally Chinese territory where an industrial complex was previously 
destroyed, it is eligible for bonus capture. 
 
3 IPCs – Capturing a minor industrial complex 
10 IPCs – Capturing a major industrial complex 
5 IPCs – Capturing a city 
 
The bonus IPCs come from the unspent IPC treasury of the power being invaded.  If that power 
doesn’t have enough IPCs in its treasury to fulfill the bonus, they will give all of the IPCs they have.  
Note that it is possible to collect two bonuses from a single territory if the territory contains both a 
city and an industrial complex.  If NL11 is captured, the bonus IPCs will come from the bank. 
 
If a power is unable to collect income, it still retains any remaining unspent IPCs and can spend them 
on any future turn that it is able to. 
 

United Kingdom Unified Income 

The UK’s income should be combined for the entire map like the other powers, unlike in the base 
game where the UK’s income is split. 
 

Wartime Production 

The industrial complexes in US5, US11 and US13 begin the game as minor complexes.  They are 
upgraded to major complexes at no cost when the US enters a state of war and may be used as such 
immediately.  They may be upgraded prior to that time in the normal way. 
 

Industrial Complex Placement 

In accordance with the base game rules, Industrial Complexes may only be placed on non-island 
territories.  For purposes of this game, non-island means any grouping of more than one territory 
(e.g., R1 is an eligible territory since it has direct borders with another territory).  The territory must 
have a value of 2/3 to support a minor/major industrial complex respectively as usual. 

 

Kamikaze Strikes 

Kamikaze strikes do not exist for purposes of this game. 
 

Liberating Territories of Powers Without Cities 

Similar to a power without a capital city in the base game, if a territory originally owned by a power 
with no remaining cities is liberated, it will be captured by the liberating power and not the original 
owner.  If the original owner subsequently has one of its cities liberated, an immediate decision must 
be made for each such territory to either revert control to the original owner, or retain control by the 
friendly power.  Territories with cities must always revert control to the original owner. 
 
Other Info 
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