It seems as though every time we sit down and play new questions come up!
We are still playing our first game and most things are running pretty smoothly but a couple of issues have been raised:1. I am sure the answer to this is NO (I couldn't find the literature in the rule book) but my friend wanted me to ask as he thinks I am wrong:
Can a unit be involved in more than one battle in multiple territories even if it is within that unit's move?
For example, a FTR has a move of 4. Can it attack an adjacent territory and if it wins can it then attack another adjacent territory provided it is all within its move?
Is it true to say that once a unit has done either one of the 3 things below that unit cannot attack again on that turn?
1. Gets killed (obvious)
3. Wins2. Is an aircraft the only piece that does not move into a territory that has just been captured when combat is won?
(ie) All other units in combat must move except for aircraft (FTR and BOMBERS)?3. Can you attack and capture from Trans-Jordan to Anglo-Egypt and vice versa with land units or does the canal prevent this?4. Page 13 (bottom right paragraph) of the rule book states that you cannot load or offload a transport in a territory that is adjacent to a hostile sea zone unless that sea zone has a submerged submarine in it.
I understand what this means and reading it literally makes me think the answer to my question is NO but it doesn't seem to make any sense so I'd like to know how you guys handle it:
If I am the US and am in Sea Zone 63 with a transport and some infanrty on board and want to offload my transport in Alaska (which I control) but there is a German battleship in Sea Zone 64 am I allowed to do it?
Is there a change in this rule if I am about to undertake an amphibious assault (ie say the Japanese control Alaska and I want to attack) but the German battleship is in Sea Zone 64?5. In relation to an amphibious assault and shore bombardment and assuming I have a battleship present in the same sea zone when I am offloading my transport:
5.1 Can any enemy land units fire at (and theoretically sink) my battleship or is the battleship "protected" in the shore bombardement from firing land units or aircraft in the territory I am offloading to?
5.2 Can the battleship fire again and again (in the second and third rounds of battle) against enemey land units and aircraft if not all of them are killed in the first round of battle or does the battleship only fire on the opening round of battle?
5.3 Can a battleship only fire at land units
in shore bombardement? (ie if the enemy units were only aircraft could my battleship fire at them or would it only by my land units being offloaded that could fire at the aircraft?) If not, can my battleship take hits from the enemy aircraft or is it "protected"?6. This is an interesting one and I am probably wrong but it continues from another thread about AA guns firing on aircraft in non combat moves. In that thread it was agreed that AA guns cannot fire on an aircraft after it has attacked a target and is flying to a friendly territory (even if it overflies enemy AA's) because that is part of the aircraft's non combat move.
Please correct me if I am wrong (with reasons of course
) but I was under the impression that it is still (technically) that aircraft's combat move as it flies to a friendly territory after combat and as such is exposed to enemy AA gun fire. My reason for thinking it is still the combat move is because:
1. A non combat move can only be performed by units that have not been involved in combat or moved in combat (which the aircraft clearly has). (This is stated on Page 21, the top of the middle column)
2. This move after combat that the aircraft is performing is described on page 18 (very left hand column called "Completing an Air Unit's Move") and is in the CONDUCT COMBAT phase of the rule book.
Is anybody able to shed any light on this?