Dark skies and other strategy questions

• 2023 '22 '21 '20 '19 '18 '17

I’m fairly new to A&A Global (one in person game and 3 on triplea which I also just discovered), but have played lots of other A&A and strategy games. Because I’ve just gotten into it (and I’ve had some time) I’ve been obsessing with it (and these forums) and I had some random strategy questions thought this was a good place to post them.

First, I had read (here) about a strategy that some people use called Dark Skies where Germany prioritizes bomber builds and uses them essentially for strategic bombing, support for land unit stacks in Russia, and to prevent a UK fleet from being built and a US fleet from coming in with land units.  The effectiveness of this strategy was based on the exterior lines of the Allies  + the range of those bombers from the West German or France airbase. The power of this was not just that bombers are a powerful ranged unit that can do a lot of damage but that the threat of their attack would shape allied responses. The US can’t easily send troops because it must both sufficiently protect its transports and deal with Japan, so it would have to hold back. But those bombers would simultaneously threaten the UK and Russia and can Strat bomb to limit production and support land unit stacks to take territory.