September 19, 2017, 11:38:55 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Completing Air Units' Move  (Read 97 times)
MidSpeck
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« on: July 24, 2017, 05:18:57 pm »
0

I have a question about fighters landing using the out-of-the-box rules in the Revised Edition of the game.  I've been referencing the FAQ as well.

As far as I can tell, air units involved in combat finish moving to their landing sites right after their combat is resolved.  On page 18 of the PDF rulebook on Wizard's site, Completing Air Units' Move is a subsection of Step 8: Capture Territory and therefore happens immediately before I move on to the next contested territory.  (This is different than LHTR where planes move for landing during non-combat.)

Correct me on the above if I'm wrong, otherwise, nothing I ask below will matter.

Imagine the following set up.
A fighter moves 3 spaces to conduct combat. All the land territory nearby is hostile, so a sea zone is the only space within the remaining movement for the plane to go to land.

Scenario A: My aircraft carrier is sitting in the sea zone. No problems, my fighter can move there after conducting combat to land.
Scenario B: My aircraft carrier is not there, but can (and must) move there on non-combat to catch the fighter.  No problem.
Scenario C: My aircraft carrier is there, because it moved there with a large fleet to conduct combat on some enemy boats that were there. Is my fighter allowed to move into a sea zone that has not been cleaned yet (but is contested)?

As far as I see, there are two possible outcomes for scenario C:
1) yes, the fighter can move there.  It cannot be involved in the sea battle (only one battle per turn). It just sits and waits until the battle has been resolved. If the battle goes poorly and we lose the aircraft carrier, or the carrier retreats, then the fighter will be lost at the end of non-combat.
2) no, the fighter is not allowed to move there. In that case, the fighter simply has no valid place to go after it's combat.  While it was not a kamikaze run (the initial move was legal), it became a suicide run simply based on the order in which the battles were resolved.

Thanks for your time and expertise.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2017, 06:46:00 am »
+1

The first answer is the correct one.
Logged
MidSpeck
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2017, 01:05:38 pm »
0

Thank you.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!