September 22, 2017, 09:35:00 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Non combat move clarification  (Read 1788 times)
Magnetom
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 1


View Profile
« on: March 25, 2017, 08:53:57 am »
+1

I know this my be a novice question, but if a tank or a mech infantry only used one of its movement points during combat movement, can it use its second in non-combat movement to retreat or fortify a different position?
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5110


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2017, 09:50:51 am »
+1

I know this my be a novice question, but if a tank or a mech infantry only used one of its movement points during combat movement, can it use its second in non-combat movement to retreat or fortify a different position?

Welcome to the forum, Magnetom!

No, once those units moved during combat move (cm), they cannot move again in noncombat move (ncm).
Retreating is independent from cm or ncm. This is a special action of the attacker that might be performed during the conduct combat phase
(see retreat rules).

HTH smiley
Logged
Pvalerio
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2017, 02:26:09 pm »
0

Hi P@nther,

I've been doing this incorrectly then in the few games I've played!

Do you have any idea why that's the case? I mean, if the tanks have 2 movement points (I thought this extended beyond their blitz ability?), then why are they not allowed to retreat back?

P.s. I actually quite like this mechanic of the tanks moving in and out, makes it more difficult for the attacking team and helps out Russia somewhat.

Thanks.
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5110


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2017, 10:49:51 pm »
+1

Do you have any idea why that's the case? I mean, if the tanks have 2 movement points (I thought this extended beyond their blitz ability?), then why are they not allowed to retreat back?

Well, it's rules/game design... moving as well in CM as in NCM is granted to air units only. I don't know, if there are other ideas behind this rule.

Tanks (as other attacking units) are allowed to retreat - in case the retreat rules during the Conduct Combat Phase match.
But this is independent from having movement points after CM.
Logged
Pvalerio
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2017, 02:08:09 am »
0

Thanks. So this goes for sea units too then? If they've moved one space they have to stay put?
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5110


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2017, 06:23:28 am »
0

Thanks. So this goes for sea units too then? If they've moved one space they have to stay put?

Indeed, if sea units have moved in CM they cannot move again in NCM.

HTH smiley
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!