October 23, 2017, 02:22:46 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: US Neutality  (Read 1573 times)
barney
A&A.org Fighter
*
*
*****
Posts: 1090


View Profile
« on: February 06, 2015, 08:55:33 pm »
0

Can the Germans park their fleet in zone 89 without provoking a DOW from the US ?

Also can they obliterate the Canadian fleet off of Nova Scotia without any US repercussions? With surface ships?

I know any land attack in the western hemisphere sets them off but I think the ocean is fair game for the Germans?
« Last Edit: February 06, 2015, 09:02:52 pm by barney » Logged
IKE
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 197



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2015, 09:40:43 pm »
0

I believe the only things that Germany could do to bring the US into the war are:

1. Attack US (navy or land)
2. Successfully capture London  
Logged
barney
A&A.org Fighter
*
*
*****
Posts: 1090


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2015, 10:01:27 pm »
0

Thanks Ike
That sounds right. Do you know if Germany can fly over the Panama canal to attack UK ships? I wouldn't think so but ?
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 16047


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2015, 03:43:50 am »
0

Strangely, Air units can pass through a Canal, regardless of which side controls it. See page 9 Europe Rules Second Edition.
Logged
Herr KaLeun
A&A.org Submarine
*
****
Posts: 573


Blessent mon coeur d'une langueur monotone


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2015, 04:52:09 am »
0

I believe the only things that Germany could do to bring the US into the war are:

1. Attack US (navy or land)
2. Successfully capture London  

The US may also declare war if Germany or Italy captures any territory in America. So suppose Germany captures Newfoundland, or Italy takes French Guyana, then the US may declar war. Not a very likely scenario of course.

The rule book says:
Quote
The United States may not declare war on any Axis power unless an Axis power either declares war on it first or captures London or any territory in North America, or Japan makes an unprovoked declaration of war against the UK or ANZAC, after which it may declare war on any or all Axis powers on its following turn.
Logged
knp7765
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 3050



View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2015, 11:52:41 pm »
+1

Actually, the rules say "North America" so the Axis could take French Guyana and not violate the US Neutrality. Again, like you said, not very likely.
Logged
Herr KaLeun
A&A.org Submarine
*
****
Posts: 573


Blessent mon coeur d'une langueur monotone


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2015, 01:26:56 am »
0

Good point. I misread the rule that I quoted myself!
Logged
barney
A&A.org Fighter
*
*
*****
Posts: 1090


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2015, 01:09:28 pm »
0

Thanks guys!
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!