September 20, 2017, 05:42:17 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies 1914 FAQ/Question and Answer Thread  (Read 157461 times)
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 171



View Profile
« Reply #795 on: February 01, 2017, 07:16:44 am »

To Karl7

1. If my ships just sit in a sea zone with no enemy ships but an enemy naval base and do not move during their turn, do I sill roll for mines?  The rule says "move through or into..."  I assume they would not roll.
They do NOT roll for mines.

2. Also if I am correct above, would my ships that just sit in a mined sea zone their turn roll for mines if another of my ships enters the same sea zone the same turn or would only the moving ship?
Only the new ships entering would roll.  Plus remember this is done after all movement and before any battle rolls.

3. If I move into a sea zone to reinforce w/transported units a contested land area, do I roll for mines if the sea zone is adjacent to a mine?  I assume so... Yes (if you mean territory adjacent to a mine), transports would roll for mines, thus your reinforcement may fail (units lost) if ship is sunk.


If I  move an empty transport into mined uncontested sea zone to load units, I roll the mines before I load, right?
Actually no, you would go ahead and complete your full movement, even to the point of unloading those units.  The mine rolls are done after ALL movement completed for all of your units.

But, what if the transports are just sitting there having moved in last run, and start "bridging" units from one land territory to another... they are not "moving into or through" the sea zone...  If the ships don't move, there is no roll for mines. (Even though technically they are moving IN that sea zone - but rule is built around moving into or through).


Finally, I can pick up units from a contested territory, right? Yes, the territory can be contested, but the sea zone must be friendly.

« Last Edit: February 01, 2017, 03:43:55 pm by Carolina » Logged
Karl7
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 24930


Spreading the A&A revolution one mind at a time!


View Profile
« Reply #796 on: February 01, 2017, 08:01:04 am »

So if pick up units in a mined se zone and move out of the zone, but hit a mine, the units are lost?
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 171



View Profile
« Reply #797 on: February 01, 2017, 12:29:46 pm »

So if pick up units in a mined sea zone and move out of the zone, but hit a mine, the units are lost?
If transport already in SZ with mines and then move out (with or without units), then there is no mine rolls.  If moved into the mined SZ, picked up units, and continued out of the SZ, then mine attack would occur.  But the roll for the mine would not be done until after movement to the 2nd SZ, and after any unloading.  So, if transport lost to mine roll, the units would be removed too (they never made it).
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 171



View Profile
« Reply #798 on: July 17, 2017, 06:32:58 am »

Contested question:  Can I move units OUT of a contested territory to a territory that I do NOT control but I do have units there?  eg.  AH controls POLAND, Germany has units there.  UKRAINE is contested with German and Russian units - Can I move the German units from UKR to POL?
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15787


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #799 on: July 17, 2017, 06:51:47 am »

Yes.
Krieghund said this in 2013:
Land units that begin the turn in contested territories can only be moved to territories that at the beginning of the turn were either controlled by your power or contained units belonging to your power.  (They can also remain at sea if moved by transport.)
Logged
WraithZer0
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 80



View Profile
« Reply #800 on: July 19, 2017, 09:07:29 am »

Real quick.  Can you move naval units in to a contested sea zone, but not conduct combat, just leaving them there for the opposing navy to have to choose whether to attack to move, or otherwise, on their turn?  I thought I read that as such, that the naval units to not have to conduct combat when moving in to a contested zone, but still roll for mine damage at enemy port areas.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #801 on: July 19, 2017, 09:17:32 am »

Yes, that's correct.
Logged
WraithZer0
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 80



View Profile
« Reply #802 on: July 19, 2017, 11:12:13 am »

Sweet.  Thank you, Krieg!
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 171



View Profile
« Reply #803 on: August 03, 2017, 04:06:09 am »

Captured naval base questions:  (I'm seeing conflicting answers on these issues.)

Situation 1: Germany captures KAR turn 3.  UK moves to SZ6 on turn 3, does UK roll for mines?

Situation 2: Germany captures KAR turn 3.  If GE still controls turn 4, can they repair in SZ12 and mobilize new ships in SZ12?

Situation 3: Germany captures KAR turn 3.  Russia contests in turn 4.  Can Russia mobilize ships in SZ12 (or SZ6)?  ALSO, any mines go back to Russia, right?

In the FAQ (and rules) under Sea Zones, in the last sentence there is a phrase "(origional territories only)", what is that trying to imply?

Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #804 on: August 03, 2017, 04:28:58 am »

Situation 1: Germany captures KAR turn 3.  UK moves to SZ6 on turn 3, does UK roll for mines?

No.  Mine fields are only active while the naval base is under the control of either its original controller or another power on the same side.


Situation 2: Germany captures KAR turn 3.  If GE still controls turn 4, can they repair in SZ12 and mobilize new ships in SZ12?

Germany can repair battleships there, but not mobilize sea units.  New sea units may only be mobilized at a naval base that the power originally controlled (not captured ones).


Situation 3: Germany captures KAR turn 3.  Russia contests in turn 4.  Can Russia mobilize ships in SZ12 (or SZ6)?  ALSO, any mines go back to Russia, right?

Yes to both, assuming that Moscow is not controlled by the Central Powers.


In the FAQ (and rules) under Sea Zones, in the last sentence there is a phrase "(origional territories only)", what is that trying to imply?

It means that the naval base must be located in a territory that your power originally controlled (at the start of the game) in order to be used for that purpose.
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 171



View Profile
« Reply #805 on: August 03, 2017, 04:55:54 am »

Thanks- had it all correct except the mine fields. The original rule on page 17, second sentence has not been amended- and is correct as-is. When searching forums, there seemed to be conflicting interpretations.
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 171



View Profile
« Reply #806 on: August 06, 2017, 11:47:18 am »

Amphib question:  Do you have to declare the destination territory before making mine field attacks?  This situation arose with a reinforcement by 2 transports to 2 different territories that bordered same sea zone, and one was hit.  So, does the moving power have choice of which territory the surviving transport gets to offload?

And as follow up, there is the phrase "declared territory" twice in the rules, on pg 17 (under Amphib Assault 3rd para) and pg 22 (under Sea Combat 2nd para).  What does that imply?
Can you clarify the movement phase, do mine attacks precede the territory declaration step.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2017, 12:07:56 pm by Carolina » Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #807 on: August 06, 2017, 01:20:06 pm »

Mines are rolled for at the end of the Movement phase, so the destination territories for amphibious movements must be declared before the mines are resolved.  The moving power does not have a choice as to which transport is hit, as each unit is rolled for individually.
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 171



View Profile
« Reply #808 on: August 06, 2017, 01:23:05 pm »

Yes, understand, no choice on which transport hit.  But was wondering if choice on which territory to land after mines resolved.  But, your answer is no choice - territory declaration occurs before mine attacks.
Logged
DessertFox599
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 63



View Profile
« Reply #809 on: September 16, 2017, 03:38:24 am »

I have a question about minor alligned powers. Say austria  attacks serbia (only cause it has to), and loses, does russia then on his turn gain control of those units?
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!