September 20, 2017, 05:33:28 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies 1914 FAQ/Question and Answer Thread  (Read 157458 times)
Razor
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 963


A&A addict


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: March 11, 2013, 08:19:57 am »

I sure hope the Germans can enter SZ1. The Americans let German freighter subs into their ports even after the Lusitania sank. Hell they even threw a parade for the crew of the Deutschland.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/German_submarine_Deutschland

You Americans are so easy to bribe, just send a freighter sub with a lot of sausages, wienerwurst, bratwurst, sauerkraut etc, and you forgett Fritz sank Lusitiania last week, with many women and kids lost in the sea, and you actually deal with this warmongers, and give them a lot of stuff so they can keep on making weapons to kill nice people. The only Americans that never sell out are the game designers at WOTC, its one week to release and they havent said a kvit, its so silent you should think A&A 1914 was a secret military prosject.
Logged
Chacmool
A&A.org Tank
***
Posts: 354


Habent sua fata libelli et balli


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: March 11, 2013, 11:50:42 am »

I sure hope the Germans can enter SZ1. The Americans let German freighter subs into their ports even after the Lusitania sank. Hell they even threw a parade for the crew of the Deutschland.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/German_submarine_Deutschland

You Americans are so easy to bribe, just send a freighter sub with a lot of sausages, wienerwurst, bratwurst, sauerkraut etc, and you forgett Fritz sank Lusitiania last week, with many women and kids lost in the sea, and you actually deal with this warmongers, and give them a lot of stuff so they can keep on making weapons to kill nice people. The only Americans that never sell out are the game designers at WOTC, its one week to release and they havent said a kvit, its so silent you should think A&A 1914 was a secret military prosject.

Ladys and Gentleman, here it is, the final frontier of historical retardation
Logged
Razor
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 963


A&A addict


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: March 11, 2013, 10:31:14 pm »

Hello, my name is David Irvine
Logged
Auztria
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 90


Ve heil! Heil! Right in der Fuhrer's face!


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2013, 08:15:12 pm »

Hello, my name is David Irvine

Good for you, sir.
Logged
Flashman
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
*
******
Posts: 2737


Far too hard for Larry.


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: March 15, 2013, 12:01:02 pm »

To answer my own questions now I have the official rules:

From my previous list:

Is there a naval battle board?

No.

Can attacking ships retreat from a naval battle, or do they stay in what is now a contested SZ when they break off the attack?

They stay in a contested SZ = sitting ducks.

Where can Battleships repair, and for what cost?

In a SZ containing a NB you control, no cost.

Do damaged BBs fire & move accordingly, i.e. at 2 rather than 4 (always liked this rule).

No.

The UK report appears to contradict the Russian version that stated ships can only be built in original home naval bases; does this in fact extend to captured bases?

No, original NBs only, the tt concerned must be controlled or contested.

What happens to mines adjacent to a naval base that is captured, or whose original owner is knocked out of the game?

They are neutralized.

Are submarines able to contest an amphibious assault if the incoming transports have no combat ships escorting them?

No.

Is there a limit on the number of Commonwealth units that can be placed in Bombay every turn?

No, just no navy.

If the Allies control SZ 20 do they have free access through the straits from SZs 21 to 19/17 regardless of Turkey still holding Constantinople?

Rules don't seem to say.

Similarly, does control of Egypt block movement between SZs 19 & 28?

Yes.

Does SZ 30 have any function?

No comment, Sir.

Can ships carry units of their allies?

Yes

Can fighters fly over neutral tt?

They can fly over any tt.

Can fighters make an attack on their own (without ground forces?)

No.

Can fighters of an allied power join in air combat in an attack within a contested tt?

No.

Does, in fact, at least one infantry always have to be involved in any attack on a land territory?

Yes.

Are the Allies permitted to invade non-aligned neutrals? I foresee big problems for the CP if they can, particularly in regard to Persia and Norway being used to feed U.K. units into Russia (I assume the western Allies are allowed on Russian soil).

Yes.

What happens to units of all players in Russia when the revolution occurs?

If Russia is out of the game, can the other Allies take control of Serbia & Romania as if they were non-aligned neutrals?

Similarly, if Russia had been given control of, say, Holland, does this tt now have an invisible force field preventing CP attacks, or does control transfer to one of the "active" allies?


RR rules need a complete rewrite.

Do minor Allied (Belgium & Portugal) and Spanish colonies have forces, and if so how and when do they come into play?

No.

Are the conditions of a power whose capital has been lost the same as in previous Axis and Allies games, i.e. the occupier gets the player's saved money, the defeated power cannot build new units nor collect money unless liberated, but can still fight with surviving units?

Yes.

Are submarines vulnerable to mines in the same way that surface ships are?

Yes.


I'll see if I can find the answer to the Constantinople Conundrum.

Time to draw a bath...
« Last Edit: March 15, 2013, 12:08:34 pm by Flashman » Logged
BJCard
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1453



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: March 15, 2013, 12:49:49 pm »

::pictures Flashman taking a bath with 400 miniatures, 160 chips, and 36 dice::
Logged
oztea
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1640



View Profile
« Reply #21 on: March 15, 2013, 02:41:24 pm »

The Dardanelles aren't closed, they are just mined. Seems strange.

I have some questions.

If you go through two mined sea zones are you subject to the mines twice?
(UK Cruiser moves from 9 to 10 to 11.)

Do artillery fire during normal combat as well during amphibious invasions?
It says they fire preemptively, then land combat proceeds normally. What does that mean? Do the artillery fire again during normal combat?
Logged
Flashman
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
*
******
Posts: 2737


Far too hard for Larry.


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: March 15, 2013, 03:04:59 pm »

Yes, they do.

You roll for both mines.
Logged
oztea
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1640



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: March 15, 2013, 03:09:08 pm »

Do artillery fire once preemptively then once again in normal combat?
Logged
Flashman
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
*
******
Posts: 2737


Far too hard for Larry.


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: March 15, 2013, 03:13:54 pm »

Yes.
Logged
oztea
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1640



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: March 15, 2013, 03:17:49 pm »

Thats crazy..... afro
Logged
Flashman
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
*
******
Posts: 2737


Far too hard for Larry.


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: March 15, 2013, 03:34:33 pm »

The idea is that they're firing at the units coming ashore, who are in no position to return fire, certainly not from artillery.
Logged
oztea
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1640



View Profile
« Reply #27 on: March 15, 2013, 03:38:35 pm »

Yea, I like the rule. But they fire twice?
That seems odd.
Logged
Imperious Leader
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15216


Sgt. Saunders 351st, King Company


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: March 15, 2013, 03:39:59 pm »

In our game they fire twice, due to having the convergence of two forts in that sea zone.
Logged
Hitlers Left Hand Pinky
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 91


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: March 15, 2013, 04:03:54 pm »

I'm a bit confused by this excerpt:

"If you move all of your units out of a contested territory and leave only units from the other side there, the other side will
immediately claim the territory (see “Taking Control of a Territory”, page 20). If the territory was originally controlled by a
power on the other side, that power will take control (even if it has no units present)."

Do you have to leave an occupational force in captured enemy territory?
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!