September 24, 2017, 09:57:02 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: attack land units or airfields  (Read 1218 times)
El Lobo
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 73



View Profile
« on: February 25, 2013, 12:17:26 pm »
0

Unsure exactly on this one?   In combat phase, step 4 (attack land units &/or airfields) the rules state "For each of your Air units & Sea units participating in the attack (not land units), decide whether it will attack land units or airfields. It can't do both".     

I'm ok with the air & sea units have to decide, but does this mean that the other land units you have on the island can only attack enemy land units, or can they attack an airfield also instead of land units?

Seems the way it reads, land units can only attack land units on the island.  But if thats the case, why aren't they able to attack airfields, especially in the case of artillery if not the infantry?
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2013, 12:50:41 pm »
0

Land units can not attack/damage an airfield.

The concept is that the ships and bombers are putting holes in the airstrip to make it unusable by planes. This takes tons and tons and tons of bombs (I seem to think there was a thread about it.) 

If your land units had enough time and enough explosives and equipment to significantly damage an airfield you wouldn't want to, you'd be using it yourself. 
Logged
El Lobo
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 73



View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2013, 04:49:22 pm »
0

Kind of my thinking as well, but had to be sure because the question came up with other players in one of our games.   Thanx
Logged
frimmel
2007 AAR League
A&A.org Battleship
*
*
******
Posts: 3659


Krieghund Rule Deputy for BOTB, GCNL, D-Day


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2013, 04:44:48 am »
0

You're welcome.

We did have this question before and it has the info about knocking out airfields.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!