September 20, 2017, 10:40:29 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 2nd Edition ( AAP40.2) FAQ/question  (Read 24215 times)
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2012, 06:18:19 am »
0

Thank you very much for your answers, Krieg.  smiley Also, was I correct in my initial assessment of the Round 1 placement of ICs (couple of posts above)?

Yes.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2012, 06:26:59 am »
0

Get in!  cheesy

Thanks very much!
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 20, 2012, 01:39:03 am »
0

I'm not sure about something: under Unit Profiles in the rulebook, it mentions that Minor ICs can be upgraded to Major ones but it doesn't specfically state (as far as I can tell) exactly when this happens. Now, I assume you pay for the upgrade during the Purchase & Repair Units phase, and then the upgrade becomes effective during the Mobilize New Units phase - is this right?

I read somewhere that Minor ICs being upgraded this turn can't produce more than 3 new units until your next turn. This is where I am confused because I had guessed that the upgrade took place immediately (in line with any repairs that may have been made). Therefore, am I right in thinking that the correct process would be to place a Major IC in the Mobilization Zone, and then replace the Minor IC with it at the end of the Mobilze New Units phase?

Thank you very much.
Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: November 20, 2012, 10:34:58 am »
0

I'm not sure about something: under Unit Profiles in the rulebook, it mentions that Minor ICs can be upgraded to Major ones but it doesn't specfically state (as far as I can tell) exactly when this happens. Now, I assume you pay for the upgrade during the Purchase & Repair Units phase, and then the upgrade becomes effective during the Mobilize New Units phase - is this right?

I read somewhere that Minor ICs being upgraded this turn can't produce more than 3 new units until your next turn. This is where I am confused because I had guessed that the upgrade took place immediately (in line with any repairs that may have been made). Therefore, am I right in thinking that the correct process would be to place a Major IC in the Mobilization Zone, and then replace the Minor IC with it at the end of the Mobilze New Units phase?

Thank you very much.

Like all combat moves, or noncombat moves, mobilization takes place simultaneously.  You can't upgrade "first", then drop 10 units there.  The upgrade takes place during the mobilization phase but is not active for use until the next turn, so you're still limited to place only three units while the factory is effectively upgrading itself at the same time. 
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 21, 2012, 03:26:54 am »
0

Okay thanks, kcdzim. That's what I thought.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #20 on: November 26, 2012, 03:41:16 am »
0

Okay guys, a few more Pacific 1940 S.E. questions please:

1 - Pages 8 & 9 of the rulebook seem to have conflicting or even contradictory rules regarding when Japan may attack Dutch territories. Under 'The Political Situation' guidelines for Japan on page 8 it says: "Japan may attack Dutch territories only if a state of war exists between it and the UK and ANZAC." However, on page 9 under the guidelines for the UK and ANZAC it says: "Additionally, the UK & ANZAC consider attacks against any Dutch territories to be acts of war against them directly." Well, which is it to be? Some clarification is much needed here.

2a - On page 2 of the rulebook it states: "On Turn 3... the United States will declare war on Japan." The operative words here being will declare war. However, on page 9 it states: "... if the US is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare war on Japan at the beginning of that phase." The operative words here being may declare war. So, which is it? Is the US declaration of war on Japan automatic & compulsory, or is the US player truly free to not declare war? And if the latter is true, then what happens to the US economy from the Collect Income phase of its third turn onwards? i.e. Does the US still stay at 17 IPCs until it declares war (on a subsequent Combat Move phase)?

2b - Also, if Japan obeys all of the rules regarding its restrictions/obligations toward the Allies & the US during peacetime, and then the US elects to declare war against Japan on its 3rd turn, would that not be an unprovoked declaration of war? What would the implications of this be?

3 - 'Declaring War' on page 11 is a little unclear. If a power declares war on an opposing power, then is it true that that opposing power does not also have to declare war back on its next turn? This seems obvious but the wording in the rulebook is a little vague to me.

4 - Is it true that French Indo China will initially stay French unless it is captured and controlled by Japan? And then subsequently, let's suppose it is liberated by the UK - Does the UK then take control (adjust IPC chart) of it instead? Also, is F.I.C. treated in the same way as Dutch territories in that the UK & ANZAC may move land units into it during their Noncombat Move phase, in order to take guardianship of it and thereby control it (again, adjust IPC chart)?

To confirm, these questions are purely for the Pacific 1940 S.E. game and have no bearing at all on Global.

Thank you all very much.

Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: November 26, 2012, 10:14:52 am »
0

Okay guys, a few more Pacific 1940 S.E. questions please:

1 - Pages 8 & 9 of the rulebook seem to have conflicting or even contradictory rules regarding when Japan may attack Dutch territories. Under 'The Political Situation' guidelines for Japan on page 8 it says: "Japan may attack Dutch territories only if a state of war exists between it and the UK and ANZAC." However, on page 9 under the guidelines for the UK and ANZAC it says: "Additionally, the UK & ANZAC consider attacks against any Dutch territories to be acts of war against them directly." Well, which is it to be? Some clarification is much needed here.

2a - On page 2 of the rulebook it states: "On Turn 3... the United States will declare war on Japan." The operative words here being will declare war. However, on page 9 it states: "... if the US is still not at war with Japan by the Collect Income phase of its third turn, it may declare war on Japan at the beginning of that phase." The operative words here being may declare war. So, which is it? Is the US declaration of war on Japan automatic & compulsory, or is the US player truly free to not declare war? And if the latter is true, then what happens to the US economy from the Collect Income phase of its third turn onwards? i.e. Does the US still stay at 17 IPCs until it declares war (on a subsequent Combat Move phase)?

2b - Also, if Japan obeys all of the rules regarding its restrictions/obligations toward the Allies & the US during peacetime, and then the US elects to declare war against Japan on its 3rd turn, would that not be an unprovoked declaration of war? What would the implications of this be?

3 - 'Declaring War' on page 11 is a little unclear. If a power declares war on an opposing power, then is it true that that opposing power does not also have to declare war back on its next turn? This seems obvious but the wording in the rulebook is a little vague to me.

4 - Is it true that French Indo China will initially stay French unless it is captured and controlled by Japan? And then subsequently, let's suppose it is liberated by the UK - Does the UK then take control (adjust IPC chart) of it instead? Also, is F.I.C. treated in the same way as Dutch territories in that the UK & ANZAC may move land units into it during their Noncombat Move phase, in order to take guardianship of it and thereby control it (again, adjust IPC chart)?

To confirm, these questions are purely for the Pacific 1940 S.E. game and have no bearing at all on Global.

Thank you all very much.



1.  Japan must declare war on UK/ANZAC to attack a dutch territory, OR, Japan may declare war on UK/ANZAC if the commonwealth has already declared war on Japan.  Not really contradictory but maybe could have used an edit for language - it's worded that way so that it should be clear that a state of war must exist between them but doesn't get into the particulars of who attacked whom first.

2a. They WILL declare war because there's no reason not to, but they don't HAVE to, so it's a may, but it's a moot may.  If they don't declare war, they don't increase their economy.

2b.  Makes no difference.  Once the US is in the war, it doesn't matter who provoked it.  There are no implications nor special rules based on provocation & the US.  The only nations where provocation has a rule implication are UK/ANZAC and the Dutch territories.

3.  Once a state of war exists, the defender does not need to counter with another declaration of war to the belligerent.

4.  Yes, it will stay french unless captured and controlled by the japanese, until it is liberated by an ally, whereupon control is transferred to that ally (France is treated as an occupied capitol during the entire Pac game).

No, it is not treated like a dutch territory.  the only way for an ally to gain control is if they liberate it from Japan.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: November 26, 2012, 02:49:54 pm »
0

That's fantastic, kcdzim - thank you again. And you are indeed, most certainly, the man.  smiley
Logged
Juhlius
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 17



View Profile
« Reply #23 on: January 04, 2013, 04:44:00 pm »
0

I've noticed that Japan has no IC in Japan, according to SE setup, is that correct?
(Japan: 6 infantry, 2 artillery, 1 tank, 3 AAA, 2 fighters, 2 tactical bombers)
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: January 05, 2013, 07:38:20 pm »
0

Check the second line.
Logged
Juhlius
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 17



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: January 06, 2013, 06:18:22 am »
0

Ah... smiley I saw it on the picture.
But still.... There is missing a line then.
www.axisandallies.org/resources-downloads/setup-chart-for-axis-allies-pacific-1940-second-edition/
Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: January 07, 2013, 12:10:27 am »
0

Ah... smiley I saw it on the picture.
But still.... There is missing a line then.
www.axisandallies.org/resources-downloads/setup-chart-for-axis-allies-pacific-1940-second-edition/

A&A.org is only as accurate as its members - it's not affiliated with the publisher, and will have typos.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: January 07, 2013, 09:55:39 am »
0

I've been informed that the issue has been resolved.
Logged
Quille
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: January 07, 2013, 10:29:25 am »
0

The A&A Pacific 1940 2nd Ed. aircraft movement rules seem to indicate that we should count a sea zone and island group as one space when that is the destination.  The previous edition said to count the sea zone and the island group as one space each.  The new 1942 2nd Edition rules say the same thing.  Is the rule in the 1940 2nd Ed an error?  Or is it a new rule?  Or have I misinterpreted it?  Thanks.
Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: January 07, 2013, 03:15:11 pm »
0

The A&A Pacific 1940 2nd Ed. aircraft movement rules seem to indicate that we should count a sea zone and island group as one space when that is the destination.  The previous edition said to count the sea zone and the island group as one space each.  The new 1942 2nd Edition rules say the same thing.  Is the rule in the 1940 2nd Ed an error?  Or is it a new rule?  Or have I misinterpreted it?  Thanks.

You've misinterpretated something.  The rule should not have changed. I don't have the rule language in front of me, but there should have been no revision to the previous rule.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!