September 23, 2017, 09:18:14 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Read all about what's new on the Axis & Allies .org Website Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies Pacific 1940 2nd Edition ( AAP40.2) FAQ/question  (Read 24275 times)
Imperious Leader
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15220


Sgt. Saunders 351st, King Company


View Profile
« on: September 17, 2012, 11:01:52 pm »
0

Post FAQ's and questions.
Logged
Imperious Leader
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15220


Sgt. Saunders 351st, King Company


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2012, 07:01:01 pm »
0

NOs for Pacific '40.2 ( from Robbie358)

Japan-
10 IPCs for not at war with USA and not attacking French Indo-China
5 IPCs if Japan controls Guam, Midway, Wake, Gilberts, and Solomons
5 IPCs per territory if Japan controls Calcutta, Sydney, Honolulu, and/or San Francisco
5 IPCs if Japan controls Sumatra, Java, Borneo, and Celebes

USA-
30 IPCs if at war and control of West USA
5 IPCs if at war and control of Alaska and Mexico
5 IPCs if at war and control of Aleutians, Hawaii, Johnston, and Line
5 IPCs if at war and control of Philippines

China-
6 IPCs if the Allies control India, Burma, Yunnan, and Szechwan

UK-
5 IPCs if at war and controls Kwangtung and Malaya

ANZAC-
5 IPCs if at war, Allies control Malaya, and ANZAC controls all its original territories
5 IPCs if at war and the Allies (not the Dutch) control Dutch New Guinea, New Britain, New Guinea, and the Solomons
Logged
Bob_A_Mickelson
A&A.org Submarine
*
****
Posts: 818


How would you mod 1941 to make it play faster?


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2012, 02:41:18 am »
0

Krieghund,
My 2nd edition Pacific board shows Mexico narrowly adjacent to SZ 11. The border is even more predominate when you flip the board over and view the narrow strip of print on the back.
Is Mexico intended to border SZ 11?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2012, 02:43:55 am by Bob_A_Mickelson » Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2012, 04:56:45 am »
0

No.  The maps don't line up along the outer edges.  See page 35 of the Pacific Rulebook for adjacencies.
Logged
Boyardee
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 85



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2012, 08:05:18 am »
0

What is the political rules in pacific, same as global?
Logged
texasranger97
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 103


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2012, 05:25:06 pm »
0

Couples of questions

1-If Uk capture a Japanese territory that was Chinese originally (ex kwangsi) Can china mobilize new troop in it?

2-a)If Japan invade french indo china does it declare war with uk/usa or they just loose the bonus?
2-b)what if uk attack japan on g1 then japan invade french indochina turn 2 do theyt loose the bonus and are they at war with usa?

3-If uk attack japan on turn 1 and japan invade dutch territory turn 2 does it declare war on usa?

Thanks
Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2012, 06:09:48 pm »
0

Couples of questions

1-If Uk capture a Japanese territory that was Chinese originally (ex kwangsi) Can china mobilize new troop in it?

2-a)If Japan invade french indo china does it declare war with uk/usa or they just loose the bonus?
2-b)what if uk attack japan on g1 then japan invade french indochina turn 2 do theyt loose the bonus and are they at war with usa?

3-If uk attack japan on turn 1 and japan invade dutch territory turn 2 does it declare war on usa?

Thanks

1 - UK can never control a chinese territory, so yes, it will revert to chinese control and china can mobilize in it.

2a - Japan must declare war on France to invade FIC, and it causes them to lose the bonus, but they do not have to declare war on UK or USA to do so.

2b - Japan loses the bonus as soon as they attack FIC, as long as USA is still neutral, regardless of UK's diplomatic status.

3 - No.  IF UK/Anzac attacks Japan first, japan can freely attack dutch, english, anzac territories (and as long as they don't attack FIC or a US territory/unit they'll continue to get the FIC bonus until US declares war on US3)
Logged
texasranger97
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 103


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2012, 08:57:04 pm »
0

Thanks

So declaring war as uk on the first turn is not a good idea since your alone for 3 turn before us can enter the war
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2012, 02:35:08 pm »
0

I don't know if this has come up before, but are the Japanese-controlled Chinese territories (printed on the map) treated as original Japanese territories for the purposes of building ICs? If so, is this mentioned specifically anywhere in the rulebook?

In other words, can Japan build a Major IC in Manchuria and a Minor IC in Shangtung?

Thank you.
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15808


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2012, 03:01:54 pm »
0

They are Chinese, Loz. You can only build Minor ICs.
Bugger I know!
Just got yours have you? Enjoy it.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2012, 04:58:14 am »
0

Thanks Wittmann! Yes, I got my copy the other day and have just set it up for the 1st time and am just looking at it for now. The 1st thing I was wondering was, where can all the powers build Industrial Complexes! It would seem that the only places where they can be built at the BEGINNING of the game, i.e. Round 1 - are as follows:

Major IC

Japan - Korea
United Kingdom - Kwangtung, Malaya
United States -
ANZAC -
China -

Minor IC

Japan - Korea (may upgrade) & Manchuria, Shantung, Kiangsu (but may not upgrade due to original Chinese ownership of said territories)
United Kingdom - Kwangtung, Malaya (may upgrade)
United States - Alaska, Mexico (but may not upgrade due to territory IPC value limit)
ANZAC - Queensland (but may not upgrade due to territory IPC value limit)
China -

Also, ANZAC may not upgrade the Minor IC in New South Wales due to territory IPC value limit.

Did I get all that right?


Thank you!

Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15808


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2012, 05:28:03 am »
0

Not at home(watching Fiorentina on Sky at my parents), but sounds right.
Japan's best 1st buy is either 3 APs or 2 and an IC.
Enjoy planning war!
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2012, 02:28:53 am »
0

In addition to the post above, I have a couple of extra questions that I would also appreciate answering by Krieg or one of the rules deputies:

1 - Pages 4 & 7 of the Pacific 1940 SE Rulebook mention a 'Research & Development Chart' as a specific item in the game's inventory. I received no such chart in my copy of the game. Am I missing something here or is this chart just the one printed in the manual under the Global Rules section?

2 - Pages 8 & 35 of the Rulebook mention the 'Yukon Territory' and 'British Columbia'. These territories do not exist on the new map, so I take it this was just a misprint?

3 - I got 2 UK Aircraft Carriers in my copy of the game, was I supposed to get 4?

Thank you all very much indeed.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2012, 06:10:43 am »
0

1 - It's a typo.  The chart is included only in Europe 1940.

2 - Correct.  Also, Western Canada should have a Canadian emblem on the map.

3 - Two is the correct number.
Logged
Lozmoid
A&A.org Submarine
*
*
****
Posts: 845



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2012, 06:14:47 am »
0

Thank you very much for your answers, Krieg.  smiley Also, was I correct in my initial assessment of the Round 1 placement of ICs (couple of posts above)?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!