September 22, 2017, 09:43:09 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Axis and Allies Europe 1940 2nd Edition ( AAE40.2) FAQ/question  (Read 30577 times)
Trooper51
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #105 on: November 10, 2015, 09:18:12 pm »
0

Thank you Wittmann,  I thought so, but couldn't find it in the rule book.
Logged
SeamansAZ
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #106 on: February 04, 2016, 03:47:06 pm »
0

...
Yes, Subs get a sneak each round that there is no Destroyer present on the other side.
I'm new to Europe 1940, still absorbing the rules - Trying to understand sub battles - If a sub attacks ships without an enemy destroyer present, do they get a sneak attack first and then get to fire again during the "normal" conduct combat phase? And assuming they survive, then they can continue this "two shot attack" each round until they are eliminated?

Thanks in advance for clarification.
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15805


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #107 on: February 04, 2016, 10:49:45 pm »
+1

Morning SeamansAZ and welcome to the forum.
A Sub does not attack twice a turn. The Sneak is its one attack. They just get it early and get that advantage, if no Destroyer Is present.
Logged
Mustang51
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #108 on: February 15, 2016, 06:52:12 pm »
0

I likely missed this question being answered, but from the rule book 40E2.0, it is unclear to me that a not yet at war, US or USSR cannot move units into aligned neutral territories and even once at war cannot blitz through one friendly neutral to enter a second? 

Thanks for any insight / confirmation.
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15805


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #109 on: February 16, 2016, 12:03:26 am »
0

You are right on both counts. If not at war, they cannot move into and claim Frirnfly Neutrals and once at war, you cannot move through a Friendly Neutral into another territory.
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 173



View Profile
« Reply #110 on: February 16, 2016, 09:19:32 am »
0

Design question, why was bomber cost reduced to 12 from 15 (classic game)?  Seems too cheap for the attack factor they receive.
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5110


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #111 on: February 16, 2016, 10:23:31 am »
0

Design question, why was bomber cost reduced to 12 from 15 (classic game)?  Seems too cheap for the attack factor they receive.

Not really an answer to "why" ist was changed, but it has been bombers for the price of 12 in all games starting from and with Anniversary Edition.
So this is not a specific Europe1940 design issue.
Logged
Garibaldino
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #112 on: February 18, 2016, 09:41:26 am »
0

hi all,
I'm new (2 weeks) player with 2nd editions EU40 e PA40, but long time (decades) A&A player with Classic.
I'm trying to prepare an italian short "how to play" book for my friends. Regarding bombing raid and damage to IC I've found in the EU40 2nd ed. rulebook those:

a) ###  Conduct combat - Strategic and Tactical Bombing Raids - pag 17
To mark the damage done by the attacking bomber(s), place 1 gray plastic chip under the targeted industrial complex or base per damage point rolled. An industrial complex canít receive more than 20 total damage for major industrial complexes and more than 6 total damage for minor ones. Air bases and naval bases canít receive more than 6 total damage. Damage exceeding these limits is not applied.

b) ###  Unit Profile - Industrial Complexes and Bases - Damaged Factories and Bases - pag 27
See the Unit Profile of each facility for the effects of damage on it. Total damage to an industrial complex canít exceed 20 for major and 6 for minor industrial complexes. Air bases and naval bases canít exceed 6 damage points.

c) ###  Unit Profile - Industrial Complexes - Subject to damage - pag 27
Industrial complexes can have at least as many damage markers as they have production ability. In such a case, no new units can enter the game through that complex until itís repaired.



Question:
If 3 strategic bombers rolled 3 dices and got 4-4-4 on a Majoc IC (full repaired),
(it's 18 total, counting +2 every die rolled)
how many damage markers I've to add to that IC?
+18 markers (following a and b ) or IC damage markers can be max 10 (following c)?

Not sure about the real meaning of c) rule in comparison with a) and b)

thanks in advance

P.S. same in PA40 2nd edition rulebook. Not found notes on EU/PA FAQ 2nd edition. Done little searching in this forum without success (pls how to search in subforum only?  huh). In 1st edition rulebooks c) is attached with b)
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5110


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #113 on: February 18, 2016, 10:22:41 am »
0

...
Not sure about the real meaning of c) rule in comparison with a) and b)
...

Welcome to the forum, Garibaldino.

A major industrial complex (MIC) can produce 10 units. Their maximum damage is 20. So far, so good.

Now your point c) comes in:

In case the damage of a MIC is exactly 10 no unit can enter the game and you need to repair at least 1 damage to allow 1 unit to enter.
Repair 10 to allow 10 units to enter the game - or any number inbetween.

If the damage is 11, you need to repair 2 damage to allow 1 unit to enter the game.
If the damage is 20, you need to repair 11 damage to allow 1 unit to enter the game.

So this is the meaning of the sentence "Industrial complexes can have at least as many damage markers as they have production ability. In such a case, no new units can enter the game through that complex until it's repaired."

Please ask, if anything remains unclear  smiley
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15805


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #114 on: February 18, 2016, 10:25:27 am »
0

Buona sera Garibaldino. Dove sei, possibly chiedere? Io son Fiorentino, ma abito in Inghilterra da 40 anni.  

The answer is 18 damage (Max is 20).
To produce just one unit, you would need to repair 9 damage first.
Logged
Garibaldino
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #115 on: February 21, 2016, 01:01:45 am »
0

good morning all

thanks all for clarifications on my IC/damage question
(your replies were so fast that by browser can't see 'em  grin until yesterday... bad cache or something ...)

I used them in my italian traslation with something like this  (my english is really basic one)

...
IC can produce units only when damage markers are in numbers less than production ability. With more damage markers (equal or greater than production ability) no new units can enter the game through that complex until it's repaired enough to regain some production level.
Damage markers over 20 (major) or 6 (minor) are ignored.

...


to wittman: come si sta in Inghilterra? Immagino tutto bene. Qui, Piemonte-Torino, la giornata e' stupenda. ciao!
Logged
wittmann
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15805


KIA 8th August 1944


View Profile
« Reply #116 on: February 21, 2016, 01:42:40 am »
0

Sounds fine like that.
 Sei vuoi scriverlo in Italiano, posso guardarlo come l'hai scritto per I tuoi amici. Anche per PM.
Stiamo benissimo, grazie. Vado dai miei per pranzo, poi guardo la Fiorentina. Siamo appassionati. Il 3 Aprile sono a Firenze in vacanza e andro' allo stadio.

Enjoy your games!
Logged
Carolina
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 173



View Profile
« Reply #117 on: April 03, 2016, 08:53:49 am »
0

General question Europe or Pacific...  Sea zone amphib assualt against an island with a defending carrier and 2 fighters in the sea zone and 1 infantry on the island.  After first round of sea zone battle, attacker has 1 damaged BB and transport with 2 infrantry, and defender chooses to lose the carrier and keep 2 fighters in air over the sea zone.  Question... can the transports land the infantry and start a land battle even though the sky above the attacking BB and TP still has defending fighters?  Rules only state there is a sea battle if there are defending warships and/or "scrambled" aircraft (not aircraft from a carrier).
Logged
P@nther
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 5110


Rules Deputy and Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #118 on: April 03, 2016, 09:41:19 am »
0

General question Europe or Pacific...  Sea zone amphib assualt against an island with a defending carrier and 2 fighters in the sea zone and 1 infantry on the island.  After first round of sea zone battle, attacker has 1 damaged BB and transport with 2 infrantry, and defender chooses to lose the carrier and keep 2 fighters in air over the sea zone.  Question... can the transports land the infantry and start a land battle even though the sky above the attacking BB and TP still has defending fighters?  Rules only state there is a sea battle if there are defending warships and/or "scrambled" aircraft (not aircraft from a carrier).

No, the attacker has to kill the defending fighters before being able to land his units. When the Carrier is sunk, the sea battle continues unless the attacker does not retreat.

HTH smiley
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #119 on: April 16, 2016, 12:24:50 pm »
0

The latest FAQ link in this thread is now broken.  This one will work.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!