July 28, 2014, 12:18:58 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 »
  Print  
Author Topic: TripleA map for Global 1940 Alpha Final  (Read 13846 times)
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35690


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #240 on: March 22, 2013, 05:57:50 am »
0

TripleA lets you carry them over

The rule book says you never carry units over.  If you bought more than you can legally place, you get your money back for the excess units.  Then you could buy something different the next turn.

Point is, the rule does make a difference, and Triple A doesn't follow it.
There are times when carrying units over to the next turn is an unfair, illegal advantage whether Veqryn recognizes it or not.  Doesn't matter too much, as Veqryn always says, follow the rulebook and not Triple A.  I will not allow my opponents to carry units over to the next turn because it's illegal.  You must place all units if you have the capacity, and no, they don't always deserve a swirly because adverse combat dice rolls might have caused the problem.
Logged
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35690


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #241 on: March 22, 2013, 06:03:40 am »
0

Here's another example.

Russia has 39 IPC's and buys 13 infantry.  The only complexes Russia controls are Moscow and Stalingrad.  The Russian player intends to attack some German infantry in Rostov and leave an infantry blocker to keep the German tank and mech stack in the Ukraine from storming Stalingrad next turn.

The dice fail him, and the Russian player loses all his infantry in the attack on Rostov, and is unable to block.  Now he doesn't want to place 3 infantry in Stalingrad because they will get annihilated and probably only score 1 hit on a mech.  He would much rather have the 3 extra infantry in Moscow the next turn, now that he knows the attack in Rostov failed.

Triple A would let him hold it back, and a lot of players would probably assume it's legal.  But like Veqryn says in his disclaimer, it's the players' responsibility to know the rules.  Might as well make a note of it if you're not going to fix it, though.  I mean, there are a lot of rules and most players don't bother to learn every single one accurately.  They're going to depend on the engine sometimes.
Logged
BJCard
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1453



View Profile
« Reply #242 on: March 22, 2013, 06:19:02 am »
0

Also- you 'can' place your transport and it would not die until Japan's turn and he left the DD in the SZ.  Perhaps there is a French DD in range or fighters that can scramble in the SZ? 
Uh - no.

New South Wales doesn't have an airbase.  There were no allied ships in range.  That's beside the point anyway.

My fighters succeeded, although I lost half of them  angry

Was only offering suggestions.  Maybe you bought an airbase?  Anyway, unlikely that 1 DD would take out 2 planes.
Logged
BJCard
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1453



View Profile
« Reply #243 on: March 22, 2013, 06:21:12 am »
0

Here's another example.

Russia has 39 IPC's and buys 13 infantry.  The only complexes Russia controls are Moscow and Stalingrad.  The Russian player intends to attack some German infantry in Rostov and leave an infantry blocker to keep the German tank and mech stack in the Ukraine from storming Stalingrad next turn.

The dice fail him, and the Russian player loses all his infantry in the attack on Rostov, and is unable to block.  Now he doesn't want to place 3 infantry in Stalingrad because they will get annihilated and probably only score 1 hit on a mech.  He would much rather have the 3 extra infantry in Moscow the next turn, now that he knows the attack in Rostov failed.

Triple A would let him hold it back, and a lot of players would probably assume it's legal.  But like Veqryn says in his disclaimer, it's the players' responsibility to know the rules.  Might as well make a note of it if you're not going to fix it, though.  I mean, there are a lot of rules and most players don't bother to learn every single one accurately.  They're going to depend on the engine sometimes.

Um?  Well if Russia held 3 Infantry back than they may not be able to place them next turn if they plan to build in Moscow?  Having 3 units placed in Ukr is worth more than 3 units you may be able to place nest turn. 

Anyway, moot point as its not legal anyway.
Logged
Babubaer
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 63


View Profile
« Reply #244 on: March 22, 2013, 06:38:03 am »
0



Triple A would let him hold it back, and a lot of players would probably assume it's legal.  But like Veqryn says in his disclaimer, it's the players' responsibility to know the rules.  Might as well make a note of it if you're not going to fix it, though.  I mean, there are a lot of rules and most players don't bother to learn every single one accurately.  They're going to depend on the engine sometimes.

Very nice russian example Gamerman01!

Absolutely, one more reason to fix that problem or take it in the notes, because it's like gamerman says many players probably assume it´s legal but it isen´t.
Logged
Veqryn
A&A.org Bomber
*
*
*****
Posts: 2310



View Profile
« Reply #245 on: March 22, 2013, 09:09:51 am »
0

Ahem,

According to Revised and older rules, you lose any and all units that you do not place.  TripleA handles this correctly.

According to AA50 and Spring 1942 rules, you do not lose units you don't place, you get to try to place them next round.  TripleA handles this correctly.

According to Global 1942 rules, you must place all units if you can, and ones you can't get refunded.  TripleA handles it according to AA50 rules instead.

Since gamerman was able to come up with an example that doesn't deserve a swirly, I'll add it to the list of stuff to do.


Also, FYI, there are 2 types of "bugs" in triplea: real bugs (bugs that are forced on you), and incompleteness bugs (bugs not forced on you)

Examples:
A real bug would be TripleA disallowing a valid move.
An incompleteness bug would be TripleA allowing an invalid move.

While I do aim to fix everything possible, my time and energy is limited.
Real bugs take priority.
Incompleteness bugs are a very low priority because "you know the rules and be playing by the rules".

Just like in a real face to face game, there is nothing really stopping me from moving my bomber 9 spaces.  But you don't because you want to play by the rules.
So, disclaimer again: know the rules and play by them.
Logged
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35690


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #246 on: March 22, 2013, 01:32:20 pm »
0

Cool, thanks
Logged
Zhukov44
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 7321


View Profile
« Reply #247 on: March 25, 2013, 08:02:23 am »
0

anything else i need to change (that is specific to this map) ?

Perhaps you've already dealt with it, but last time I played the VC victory conditions don't quite work right.  Not a playability bug, but it causes confusion sometimes.

Another minor thing is add/remove units in edit mode for China.  This can cause problems because if you remove the fighter it can't be added back (without going back and redoing everything).
Logged
Veqryn
A&A.org Bomber
*
*
*****
Posts: 2310



View Profile
« Reply #248 on: March 25, 2013, 10:42:16 am »
0

The proper VC victory condition is in the game notes.

I changed how the Engine determines what units you can add with edit mode.
Previously, you could only add whatever units you could produce (which for China would normally be just infantry).  This was done because the engine does not know what units you have "artwork" for.
Later I changed it to see what units you currently already have, and add those as possibilities.
Now I've updated it again so that it will actually check what unit images are in your image folder, and allow any of those as well.

Logged
Veqryn
A&A.org Bomber
*
*
*****
Posts: 2310



View Profile
« Reply #249 on: March 25, 2013, 11:47:12 am »
0

Global 1940 2nd Edition, version 3.7 is released

download it now!

changes from 3.6 to 3.7:

1. fixed japanese national objective so that if germany/italy takes india and/or the other power centers in asia, that japan gets her money

2. allowed rockets to gang up on infrastructure

3. Added some things to the game notes about what is NOT covered by the engine (and therefore, what you need to manually keep in mind):

Rules the engine does not do, but you must follow:
* Do not allow blitzing or movement through Friendly Neutrals.
* Air units may not land in or move through Friendly Neutrals, including the same turn they are captured.
* Friendly Neutrals can not be 'captured' with an AA Gun, only by land units with an attack power.
* Air units may not move through Unfriendly Neutrals unless they are attacking them.
* Air units may not move through a Neutral territory IF that neutral territory had been attacked on some previous turn by some power (because technically that neutral stops being neutral at that point, and joins the other side).
* If UK Pacific captures Japan, the money goes to UK Pacific, even if UK Pacific's capital is occupied.
* Do not allow USA movement to end in any Sea Zone that touches a Japanese owned territory (Sea Zones 6, 17, 19, 20, 22, 32, 33, 34, 36, and 37).
* You must place all units you purchased if you are able to, or as many as you can. Any units not placed get refunded to you (triplea instead carries them over to the next turn).
* The victory conditions must be held for a full continuous round after they are achieved (so for example if Italy takes Egypt as the 8th European VC, then the Axis must hold 8 VCs continuously until Italy's next turn).


Lastly, I wish to introduce 2 things that everyone may not know already exist within the TripleA engine:

1. Edit Move Units
To "Edit Move", you must first be in some movement phase.  
Then turn on Edit Mode.
On the right side you see some tabs: "Action" tab, and "Edit" tab, and other tabs.
When you turn on edit mode, you switch automatically to the 'edit tab'.  However you can still perform 'actions' during edit mode, and edit mode changes those actions to reflect that you are in edit mode.
So now click on the "Action" tab, and then move the units just like you would normally.
Because you are in edit mode, the movement validation is turned off, so this allows you to basically move units where-ever you want, including moving enemy units, or even making an enemy attack, or loading transports, etc.


2. Game Comments (aka: a way to tell what fighter is on what carrier, among other things)
Click "View" menu, then select "Show Comment Log"
From there, you can type out and add comments to the game.  The comments will go into the History Panel, and be permanently added to the game save.
Things you could possibly use this for: telling your opponent which fighter is on which carrier, when you have a mixed-nation fleet.


« Last Edit: March 26, 2013, 02:14:04 am by Veqryn » Logged
Babubaer
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 63


View Profile
« Reply #250 on: March 25, 2013, 12:42:01 pm »
0

Excellent work Veq, grin

Big big thxs to improve TripleA, it's the best software out there.
 
Logged
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35690


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #251 on: March 26, 2013, 08:37:24 am »
0

All I see is version 6.4 still....
Logged
barney
A&A.org Tank
***
Posts: 337


View Profile
« Reply #252 on: March 26, 2013, 04:05:41 pm »
0

it's not a new triplea just a updated version of global
Logged
Gamerman01
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*******
Posts: 35690


Rules "Deputy", G40 league mod


View Profile
« Reply #253 on: March 26, 2013, 05:37:36 pm »
0

Oh - thank you - I'll see if I can manage to download it properly
Logged
wheatbeer
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 13849


In glorious Technicolor


View Profile
« Reply #254 on: April 21, 2013, 07:19:02 am »
0

http://www.axisandallies.org/forums/index.php?topic=28562.690 (original question post #688)

TripleA allows the Soviets to collect the SZ125/Archangel NO when at war with Italy (but still neutral to Germany) even if a German sub is in SZ125.

According to Kreighund, the presence of a German warship prevents the collection of that NO even if Germany isn't at war with the Soviets.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2014 Support Drive
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Field Marshal Games

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2014 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!