How to know when to buy air as Germany

• I am seeing a lot of references to buying some air units in turn one as Germany.

I am always afraid to buy anything but equal numbers of tanks, infantry and artillery. (Which I think I’ve figured out is the best ratio to get if you’re just thinking about advancing over land with land units–most attack and “hit points” for the buck.)

How does one know when it’s okay to forego a bit of your basic ground attack stuff to get a fighter or a bomber or two?

Yes, my name is Speusippus and I am Completely New To This Game.

• '16 '15 '10

It’s not cost-efficient to buy equal numbers of inf art and arm.  A better working ratio would be 6:1:2.5.  However, buys depend on the situation–sometimes you will want all armor!  It’s better to be flexible and adapt your buys to the game then stick to a pre-established ratio.   Also, if you buy air for Germany then less need to buy art.

Air pays because its dual-use–buying air forces UK to buy more ships while you use the air to wear down Russia.

G1 seems like a good time to buy a plane.  2 bombers on G1 has worked well, but lately I just buy 1.  The main objective is to deadzone all the zones UK could place ships in, but naturally the bombers can be used for all manner of mischief.

Whether or not Germany should continue buying planes after G1…good question.  There are plenty of good reasons to continue buying figs or bmbs, but who knows if its not more efficient to invest in infantry and armor.

Planes are a better value for Axis in AA42 than in Revised.  Some reasons for this are transports have no defensive value, and aas don’t shoot at flyovers.

• Thanks for the advice–I can see that you might want planes because they are a double threat (and you might want all tanks because of their movement speed).

Regarding optimal ratios, everything’s situational of course, I was just saying the 1:1:1 ratio is what I generally shoot for when I’m advancing my troops forward.