October 17, 2017, 05:13:12 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: Submarine Alpha +2 Rules  (Read 739 times)
Boktze
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 5


View Profile
« on: February 17, 2011, 05:08:09 am »
0

1.Do submarines have two strikes (surprise strike + regular attack after that)  or it depends on situation (is there an enemy destroyer present or not) which one of those two they will have?
So: Surprise strike + regular attack (enemy destroyer present or not)  OR  Surprise strike or regular attack (enemy destroyer present)

2.Can a submarine attack other submarine and in which manner the battle is conducted? Does the attacking submarine have any kind of advantage or not?
In this situation, are the surprise strikes simultaneous or attacker has the upper hand?
Example of 1 on 1 submarine battle please. (Historically it never happened so...)

3.Is there an option for submarine to choose target if there are several enemy ships engaged in battle with it?

In general,the problem is that there is too much special rules that applies only for this type of navy unit, and frankly, it's very confusing.
NOTE:THE QUESTIONS ARE FOR THE NEW ALPHA +2 SET OF RULES

Thanks in advance!
Logged
docfav7
A&A.org Tank
***
Posts: 253



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 05:36:25 am »
0

They get one strike per turn.

If no destroyer is present then the "Surprise Strike" means if it hits the defender doesn't get to return fire.

If there is an enemy destroyer present, there is no "Surprise Strike".  Just regular combat as normal.

Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4671


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2011, 06:34:00 am »
0

Welcome, Boktze!

1. As docfav7 said, subs fire only once per combat round.  If there are no enemy destroyers in the battle, they fire a Surprise Strike before other units.  If there are enemy destroyers in the battle, they fire along with all other units.

2. Attacking and defending sub Surprise Strikes are simultaneous.  The only advantage that the attacker has is that he fires at a 2, while the defender fires at a 1.  Note, however, that any sub may submerge before any firing if there is no enemy destroyer present, so a defending sub may always submerge before the attacker can fire.  As a result, a sub can only attack another sub if the defender is willing to fight.

3. No.


These answers apply to both Alpha and OOB.
Logged
Boktze
A&A.org New Conscript

Posts: 5


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2011, 07:30:56 am »
0

Thanks guys. Fast and accurate answers. This helps a lot.

Cheers! smiley
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!