April 20, 2014, 06:02:16 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Do you live near Cincinnati? Join us this weekend for A&A Spring Gathering XI on April 5-6, 2013. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GLOBAL MAP AVAILABILITY FOR MOUNTING AT HOME  (Read 4090 times)
Noll
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3991



View Profile
« Reply #30 on: February 02, 2011, 07:14:57 pm »
0

Italians weren't that strong during ww2, but they sell great magnets!
Try this company, they work great for this project (And I'm totally doing it!)  -->  http://www.supermagnete.it/eng/index.php?adwords_it_ita_brand&amp;gclid=CInZt46ct6YCFcKCDgodkU3-IQ <--

Nimitz, what kind of iron sheet did you buy?
Logged
nimitz1
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #31 on: February 02, 2011, 07:58:16 pm »
0

Its about .5 mm thickness, the sheet of mdf is 1500mm x 800mm, that is the size piece of steel im going to get and the size that i will have the map blown up to, so its a neat fit on the board. Im going to stick this new map on the back of the 1942 mapboard, then just flip it over when i want a change.
Logged
Noll
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3991



View Profile
« Reply #32 on: February 03, 2011, 02:13:50 am »
0

Hey Nimitz, they told me the metal sheet I need would weight around 50kg.
How do you place it in the wall efficently? I need your advices! Smiley
Logged
nimitz1
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #33 on: February 03, 2011, 04:33:35 am »
0

I think you might have told them 5mm??   its not 5mm thick, its point five i.e. 0.5mm (half a millimetre) thickness. they must have thought you were building a ��� tank. lol
Logged
cminke
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 778


I support FMG how bout u, i support HBG u should 2


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: February 03, 2011, 12:25:39 pm »
0

also great marshes?? its pripet marchs on the real map

He pointed that out the moment he posted it.

@ Nimitz: I have toyed with this idea for a long time, but do not have the skills to update the map.
So this will be a great help, if we're allowed to use it that is?
Thanks a bunch for your efforts.
sorry i dident see that
Logged
gsh34
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 653



View Profile
« Reply #35 on: February 03, 2011, 12:34:24 pm »
0

Nimitz,

What type of metal did you mount it to?  Was it stainless steel?  If it wasn't, I am wondering if you have had any corrosion problems beneath the vinyl.

Logged
gsh34
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 653



View Profile
« Reply #36 on: February 03, 2011, 10:00:55 pm »
0

Nimitz,

I noticed a misspelling on the Pacific side:  Paulau Island in sz 34.  You have it as "Pelau"

Also, if you don't mind my asking, some of the islands in the Pacific are distorted compared to the regular board (Philippines, Carolines, Gilbert, Paulau come to mine.  Actually, Gilbert doesn't even have a visible island, just the UK roundel).  Was this something you had to do in your 'paint' program to clean up the picture? I do not mean to offend, so please don't take it that way.  I only ask because of curiosity.

Logged
nimitz1
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: February 05, 2011, 02:19:41 pm »
0

darn my spelling...  yes your right about Palau...and correct about missing or different shaped islands in the pacific.  The paint program I was using allowed me to cut and paste the sea into the island zones but it meant chopping some of the islands out and having to repaint them.  I missed a few of the very small islands altogether (didn't bother putting them in) as they were so small as to be insignificant on the map anyway (you couldn't place pieces on the land anyway), so providing there was a name and a roundel in the sea zone it's clear enough that there is a land mass there.  Cyprus is a case in point (Its under the roundel. smiley..)   Though I was in a hurry to get the map done.. so these pick-ups by you guys are to be expected (and welcome).   If there is something serious that will affect game play then Id really appreciate if you could let me know and I will fix it up fix up, then I will do these few spelling errors (and put in a couple of "green spots" where the islands should be at the same time).  Thanks guys. smiley
Logged
nimitz1
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #38 on: February 05, 2011, 02:27:44 pm »
0

Sorry GH..only answered your second question.   Heres the first about the metal.  I used ordinary sheet metal, the same that is used for shaping air conditioning ducts.  Its thin and much more light weight as a result.  There's no corrosion under my current map but it is indoors all the time.  Also the plastic covering was folded around the edges before I glued it to the mdf board.  There is just no chance of moisture getting to it.  Hope that helps.
 
Logged
gsh34
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 653



View Profile
« Reply #39 on: February 05, 2011, 04:07:42 pm »
0

Nimitz,

You have two sea zones numbered 33.  I think the one by FIC is supposed to be sz 36. 

Logged
nimitz1
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #40 on: February 05, 2011, 04:34:48 pm »
0

Thanks...anything else let me know.  Looks like I have to do some amending after all.  Will redo and repost amended map. 
Logged
nimitz1
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #41 on: February 05, 2011, 07:17:06 pm »
0

Map updated and errors addressed...thanks for the input everyone smiley  I think its right now but anything else let me know.

link

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=13F1QLF0

Logged
TheDefinitiveS
A&A.org Aircraft Carrier
******
Posts: 2793


New Zealand


View Profile
« Reply #42 on: February 05, 2011, 11:26:00 pm »
0

This is an awesome idea. Only if you are particular, but when they numbered sea zones they missed out on the Caspian Sea which you can build units in, so i guess that would be sea zone 128...no biggy though.

Also what size could you enlarge this to before you lose quality i dont mind putting together pieces of paper to make the map up...i think stationary stores have printers or copiers that do A0 or A1 size paper or would you keep it to the original size of the board game?
« Last Edit: February 05, 2011, 11:33:57 pm by TheDefinitiveS » Logged
nimitz1
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 40


View Profile
« Reply #43 on: February 06, 2011, 12:07:44 am »
0

I suppose it could go fairly big before it starts to lose some quality but it should do nicely for a map about 1.5 times the game boards.  Thats what I was aiming for, something about 1500mm x 800mm.  Whoever does your printing just make sure its scaled to suit your needs.
Logged
Noll
A&A.org Battleship
******
Posts: 3991



View Profile
« Reply #44 on: February 06, 2011, 12:19:59 am »
0

The original board is around 1750mmx800mm.

I think the best solution is to design a new map based on the original one with a better resolution. I never tried anything but IL does indeed have the skills to make one. I may try tough.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2014 Support Drive
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Field Marshal Games

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2014 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!