October 24, 2017, 01:35:08 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AAG40 FAQ Alpha+.2  (Read 4775 times)
BadSpeller
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1569


The Giant Squid: Mini-Expansion


View Profile
« Reply #15 on: January 26, 2011, 08:27:39 am »
0

in the Alpha+.2 Rules>#8

8. Strategic Bombing Raids procedure:
Escorts fire @1, and interceptor casualties are immediately removed.
Bombers fire @ 1 and interceptors fire @ 2. Remove bomber and interceptor casualties (escorts may be taken as casualties only after all bombers are eliminated).
Surviving bombers are assigned a specific target (IC, airbase or naval base) if more than one type is in the territory.
The target fires its AA defenses at the attacking aircraft - @1
Surviving bombers attack their target, looking for the highest number possible.

When bombing, each Strategic bomber rolls one die.
The number rolled +2 is the total number of hits the target will receive.
Gray chips are placed under the target for each hit received.

Tactical bombers
Tactical Bombers can also conduct bombing raids.
They are limited to attacking only naval bases and airbases, however.

Other wise they follow the exact procedure as strategic bombers presented above.
When bombing they roll one die.
The number rolled is the number of hits the target receives.
Do not add to the dice roll when bombing with tactical bombers.

I hope this answers your question.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4673


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 26, 2011, 08:28:22 am »
0

Does warships include aircraft carriers or submarines?

Warships includes all sea units except transports.


Did I read somewhere that Tactical Bombers can now SBR?

Yes, but against bases only, not against ICs.


Also, they roll damage with 1D6 and Strategic Bombers roll damage with 1D6+2  ?

Yes.
Logged
knp7765
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 3050



View Profile
« Reply #17 on: January 27, 2011, 06:02:57 am »
0

Does warships include aircraft carriers or submarines?

Warships includes all sea units except transports.

Thanks Krieghund.  So submarines ARE counted as warships as well.  I assume this is the case with that Soviet NO for controlling Archangel and having no Axis warships in SZ 125.  Germany can put a sub in SZ 125 and void that NO for Russia, right?
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48267


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: February 03, 2011, 09:44:26 am »
0

I could have sworn Aircraft Carriers lost their defensive ability in 1940. (Thought I read that in the rules, dont have my books atm since I'm snowed in and the temp is hitting -20 degrees Fahrenheit with wind chill so I don't want to try and get them anyway) The Battlemap, of course, lists them with defense = 2. 

Stupid question, I know, but I am working under the assumption they have defense value 2, unless told otherwise here.  And if they have no defense, does that mean an unprotected carrier is auto-sunk by an attacking submarine?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4673


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: February 03, 2011, 09:59:08 am »
0

Carriers have no attack value.  Their defense value is 2.
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48267


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: February 03, 2011, 11:44:41 am »
0

Kay, I thought so, but got confused between all the readings.
Logged
Cow
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 7985


MOO


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: February 05, 2011, 02:45:11 am »
0

Can Japan make a major industrial on Kiangsu? etc? Japan starts the game with them and the map is yellower than the rest of china.  Rules not clear.
Logged
Percy0715
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 78



View Profile
« Reply #22 on: February 05, 2011, 05:09:20 am »
0

Quote from: Cow
Can Japan make a major industrial on Kiangsu? etc? Japan starts the game with them and the map is yellower than the rest of china.  Rules not clear.

They have the Chinese roundel on them, which leads me to believe that they are liberated as if a Chinese territory.  This implies that Japan cannot build a Major complex on them.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4673


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: February 05, 2011, 07:02:57 am »
0

Correct.
Logged
Gargantua
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 14792


AA.org's Villain


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: February 05, 2011, 08:31:07 am »
0

So subs as a warship negect the Italian NO in the Med?

And...  when doing SBR.  It says escorts fire,  then interceptors and bombers fire.

Does bombers fire - INCLUDE tactical and strategic bombers?
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48267


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: February 05, 2011, 08:45:40 am »
0

No, because the Italian NO specifically excludes enemy submarines.

Quote
"Collect 5 IPCs per turn if there are no Allied surface warships in the Mediterranean Sea (sea zones 92 through 99)."

Submarines, by definition, are not surface warships.
Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: February 05, 2011, 09:19:38 am »
0

And...  when doing SBR.  It says escorts fire,  then interceptors and bombers fire.

Does bombers fire - INCLUDE tactical and strategic bombers?

Of course it does.  Tactical Bombers and Strategic Bombers are both BOMBERS.  Tactical Bombers can also never be escorts.  So the only time they CAN fire is with bombers and obviously only when being used to bomb an air base or a naval base.  Which makes perfect sense - they're bombers after all.
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48267


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: February 05, 2011, 09:21:52 am »
0

Really, I thought Tacticals were basically fighters that defended on 3 instead of 4, cost 1 more and could attack naval/air bases....interesting.
Logged
kcdzim
A&A.org Fighter
*****
Posts: 1014


Rules "Deputy"


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: February 05, 2011, 11:23:33 am »
0

Really, I thought Tacticals were basically fighters that defended on 3 instead of 4, cost 1 more and could attack naval/air bases....interesting.

The way I see it, it's a problem relating to naming conventions and historic unit roles.  Tactical bombers represent many types of planes: heavy fighters, night fighters, ground attack, dive bombers, torpedo bombers, etc, etc.  They're far less maneuverable than an air superiority fighter (though sometimes faster), more heavily armed, and capable of carrying a small payload of bombs (like, 3x500 lb or so) or torpedos.   Strategic bombers (which used to represent many of the tactical bomber roles) are now basically medium & heavy aircraft, long range, multiengine (usually) that carry a reasonably large payload. 

Originally in A&A, as I'm sure you know, Strategic Bombers were just called Bombers, and were renamed to Strategic Bombers in AA1940 to differentiate from Tactical Bombers.  But at that point, only Strategic Bombers could be used in SBRs.  And now both types can. 

That means a Strategic Bombing Run (which used to be limited to Strategic Bombers) has a name that seems to confuse everyone because Tacticals can now perform an SBR as well.  And Tactical Bombers can scramble like fighters (which still makes sense if you know the aircraft roles in naval combat), but is confusing from an abstract view of the rules where tactical BOMBERS can perform some functions with Fighters (scrambling) and some functions with Strategic bombers (SBRs on bases) but NOT as an escort (because they areno air superiority fighters).
Logged
Cmdr Jennifer
Site Moderator
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 48267


League and Tournament Moderator


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: February 05, 2011, 11:44:35 am »
0

On one level, that makes sense.  However, why is their defense value so high if they are not that maneuverable?  I would suspect a defense of 2 then.  (They do 1 less attack dmg than a strategic bomber, they do one defense more than a strategic bomber.)

Just a thought.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!