October 20, 2017, 03:38:23 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Want a t-shirt? Check out our awesome Axis & Allies .org T-Shirt Store! Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AAG40 FAQ Alpha+.2  (Read 4772 times)
BadSpeller
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1569


The Giant Squid: Mini-Expansion


View Profile
« on: January 21, 2011, 03:49:32 pm »
0

AAG40 FAQ for Alpha+.2 Only (This is based on changes from Alpha+.1)

(For OOB (Out Of the Box) questions please refer to the other thread.)

National Objectives have changed:
-------------------------------------------------------------
Have the starting IPCs changed?
The only income change is the U.K., which is now 28 IPCs (London) and 17 IPCs (Calcutta).  (TwistedAries Jan 14,2011)



What’s happened to the US NO of boosting income at war?
The US NO has been reduced and broken up into smaller blocks.   (Krieghund Jan 14,2011)




Scrambling (has gone coastal):
-------------------------------------------------------------

If German naval units are moving into the channel, and Germany attacks UK navy, can planes scramble to assist from UK?
Yes, in sea zones 109 and 110.   (Krieghund Jan 14,2011)




Major Industrial Complexes (IC) on foreign soil, not allowed:
--------------------------------------------------------------
What about the territories of Shantung and Kiangsu?
These are Japanese controlled at the beginning of the game, but show a Chinese symbol on them.
Can Japan build a Major IC on these territories?
No.
From the AAP40 Rulebook, page 9:Quote
Chinese territories on the game board have a Nationalist Chinese nationality symbol on them.  Some of these territories begin the game already under Japanese control.  They still are considered Chinese territories for purposes of original ownership.
(Gargantua,kcdzim,Krieghund Jan 19-20,2011)



A major IC may only be built on a non-island territory with your symbol printed on it and an IPC value of 3 or higher.
A minor IC may be built on any non-island territory with an IPC value of 2 or higher.  (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)




Say I'm Germany. The US takes West Germany. Major IC there becomes Minor while held by the Americans.
Then Germany re-takes it. Does Germany have to pay the 17ipc to upgrade the IC again? or does that happen automatically?
Germany must pay to upgrade recaptured ICs.  The cost is 20 IPCs. (Slacker,Krieghund Jan 20,2011)



Other Questions:
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If the U.K.on turn 1 declares war on Japan, can Japan on J2 enter the Dutch East Indies? or is this a DOW against America?
Japan may attack the Dutch territories without bringing the US into the war (or losing its trade NO, if using the Alpha rules). (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)
Just to clarify, this is only because UK declared war on Japan first. (Krieghund Jan 21,2011)


SBR
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
With alpha2 SBR rules when attacking multiple targets in the same square (1 srtat bomb on factory, 2 tacs on airbase, 3 escorts) do you have to assig escorts for each separate attack and interceptors for each or do the interceptors fire at the entire attacking airforce?  
There is only one air battle per territory.  After the air battle is resolved, the bombers are assigned individual targets within the territory. (Krieghund Jan 22,2011)


OOB (Out Of Box) Map Clarifications
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alberta/Saskatchewan/Manitoba and Central United States are adjacent to each other.
Quebec and New Brunswick/Nova Scotia are adjacent to each other.
Sea zone 106 and Eastern United States are not adjacent to each other.
Greenland is an island.
Scotland and Eire are adjacent to each other.
The Caspian Sea is a sea zone.
Korea and sea zone 5 are not adjacent to each other.  (Krieghund Jan 25,2011)


Ask your Alpha+.2 question below.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 07:05:12 am by BadSpeller » Logged
BadSpeller
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1569


The Giant Squid: Mini-Expansion


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2011, 03:54:33 pm »
0

Alpha+.2 Rules
12. The United States Navy, while being neutral, has the following movement restrictions. It can only move to sea zones that are adjacent to US territories in the Atlantic (more specifically Sea zones 101, 89 and 64). US warships (not transports) may also conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102. In the Pacific it can only end naval movements in sea zones that are not adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories and islands.

What does it meant by "conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102."?

Attacks while neutral?
Logged
94Canuck
A&A.org Artillery
*
**
Posts: 212


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2011, 04:02:42 pm »
0

Alpha+.2 Rules
12. The United States Navy, while being neutral, has the following movement restrictions. It can only move to sea zones that are adjacent to US territories in the Atlantic (more specifically Sea zones 101, 89 and 64). US warships (not transports) may also conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102. In the Pacific it can only end naval movements in sea zones that are not adjacent to Japanese-controlled territories and islands.

What does it meant by "conduct long range patrols into sea zone 102."?

Attacks while neutral?

No, SZ 102 is adjacent to 101, no German ships are placed there in initial set up.  I suspect that placing a fleet there might act as a buffer for a possible Axis eastern USA attack.  Not being able to stage transports there puts USA 2 turns away from landing when at war.  Also, you can't end movement with units on transports if you are neutral.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4671


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2011, 05:26:46 pm »
0

If the U.K.on turn 1 declares war on Japan, can Japan on J2 enter the Dutch East Indies? or is this a DOW against America?
Japan may attack the Dutch territories without bringing the US into the war (or losing its trade NO, if using the Alpha rules). (Krieghund Jan 20,2011)

Just to clarify, this is only because UK declared war on Japan first.
Logged
BadSpeller
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1569


The Giant Squid: Mini-Expansion


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2011, 01:39:33 pm »
0

Krieghund,

Subject :SBR Alpha+.2

AAE40 Rulebook page16>Strategic Bombing Raids>par2 "Fighters (not tactical bombers) can also participate in strategic bombing raids as escorts and interceptors.

Alpha+.2 Rule #8> Strategic Bombing Raids procedure:
• Escorts fire @1, and interceptor casualties are immediately removed.
• Bombers fire @ 1 and interceptors fire @ 2. Remove bomber and interceptor casualties (escorts may be taken as casualties only after all bombers are eliminated).
• Surviving bombers are assigned a specific target (IC, airbase or naval base) if more than one type is in the territory.
• The target fires its AA defenses at the attacking aircraft - @1
• Surviving bombers attack their target, looking for the highest number possible.

1) Should the first line read, "• Escorts fire @1, and Escorts casualties are immediately removed."


2) About the second line.  For clarity, which bombers are these?

I assume it means the defenders Strategic Bombers because it is mentioned in the same line as the interceptors.
Or does it mean Tactical Bombers? Or both?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4671


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2011, 07:58:29 pm »
0

1) No, it shouldn't.  The escorts fire, and the interceptors are taken as casualties.

2) It means all attacking bombers, whether strategic or tactical.  The defender has only interceptors (fighters) and no bombers of any kind.
Logged
aaron91
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 18


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2011, 01:22:31 pm »
0

Why is the U.S. barred from entering sz 121 in alpha+.2 when Greenland is a U.S. territory? I ask because if the U.S. puts a naval base on Greenland they are one turn from Scotland and Eire
Logged
Gargantua
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 14760


AA.org's Villain


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2011, 01:33:25 pm »
0

oooooo I like that question.  Aaron91 that's a GOOD one.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4671


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2011, 01:21:32 pm »
0

That sea zone was omitted by mistake.  It has been corrected.
Logged
anchovy
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 10120



View Profile
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2011, 01:50:32 pm »
0

Are Malta and Cyprus included as part of the original UK territories that are required to get the second National Objective for the UK?
Logged
Gargantua
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 14760


AA.org's Villain


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: January 24, 2011, 02:09:48 pm »
0

Yes.  They are Starting U.K. territories.
Logged
anchovy
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 10120



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2011, 02:19:42 pm »
0

Thanks.  That's what I figured.  I just wanted to make sure because the rule states:  "Collect 5 IPCs per turn if the United Kingdom controls all of its original territories in North America, Africa, and Europe." and not "...on the Europe board." 

I guess that Malta, Cyprus, and Iceland are considered part of Europe.  So, the requirement would exclude Guyana and Trans Jordan from the Europe map, I take it.
Logged
Gargantua
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 14760


AA.org's Villain


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: January 24, 2011, 02:21:59 pm »
0

Damn, and here I thought there might be a reason to invade Guayana.

Oh well... I'll still search for one.
Logged
knp7765
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 3050



View Profile
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2011, 07:48:36 am »
0

11.  "....  Transports are not allowed to unload land units for an amphibious assault in a sea zone containing an enemy sub(s) belonging to a power with which they are at war unless at least one of his warships was also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase."

Does warships include aircraft carriers or submarines?
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 08:10:05 am by knp7765 » Logged
FieldMarshalGames
A&A.org Destroyer
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*****
Posts: 1932


Official Sponsor of AxisandAllies.org


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2011, 07:58:00 am »
0

Did I read somewhere that Tactical Bombers can now SBR?

Also, they roll damage with 1D6 and Strategic Bombers roll damage with 1D6+2  ?

Please clarify.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!