• I see strategy stuff about strafing… espcially if Russia can go first. The favorite target is EEU or Ukraine… But how well does this work?

The goal I imagine is to get rid of some armor, but that doesn’t seem to work since they will get rid of infantry first! My problem is that my troops will roll TOO well, and take out the terrirtory when I wanted to just leave one tooop behind… this sucks horribly since next turn I lose ALL my tanks.

So I’m just wondering how often are you able to strafe armor off and still not accidently get sucked into the territory due to your stupid dice rolling so damn good!

• I am no expert on this topic, but I will make a few coments.

What bugs me is how it can be called “strafing” if it includes inf or arm!! My understanding of strafing is that it is done with ftrs alone. However, if you are going to do it you have to call it something. Besides, why would you do it with ftrs only and chance losing even one ftr!?!

I believe I’ve seen some German players strafe to attempt to move some units from F/N and Ukr to EEu. Though they usually lose more than the move is worth.

• '19 Moderator

Basicaly it is a battle of attrition but strafe is shorter and easier to spell. :)

• @SilverGeneral:

The goal I imagine is to get rid of some armor, but that doesn’t seem to work since they will get rid of infantry first

On Russia1, if you go after Ukraine with a strafe in mind, yes you are looking to take a tank or two. However, depending on the way the rolls worked out, this may not happen. There are a lot of things to consider when ‘rolling one more time’, like:

• how did the other battles go (can I handle exposing my tanks)
    • if I accidently take, will I have enough to hold it (i.e. potentially taking it with 4 INF, 3 ARM or 1 INF, 3 ARM, etc.)
    • where was the bid placed?
    • planned non-combat movements
    • others…