Still not clear on this 'declaration of war' & 'unprovoked attack', even after reading the redone format in the FAQ. Played it different ways a few times, and just want to grasp the way it is intended so we know what becomes the house rules..
The US cannot declare war on Japan unless they are attacked by Japan or an unprovoked attack by Japan on UK or ANZAC.
The phrase "unprovoked attack" no longer appears in the political rules. Attacks may not be done without a declaration of war. The US may not declare war on Japan before the Collect Income phase of its third turn unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against UK/ANZAC.
So, if the UK/ANZAC attack Japan first, can Japan counter without bringing the US into the war?
This would not be an 'unprovoked attack' by Japan, but would require the declaration of war by Japan on the subsequent turn to UK/ANZAC. Japan could certainly defend itself in the UK/ANZAC attacks, but if they go offensive their next turn it changes the status of combatants. It seems that this is indeed what it is meant, however the wording still seems ambiguously vague.
Again, the phrase "unprovoked attack" no longer appears in the political rules, and attacks may not be done without a declaration of war. It seems to me that declaring war upon someone that has already declared war upon you is not "unprovoked". Forgive me, but I'm not seeing any ambiguity.
Declarations of war must occur at the beginning of a Combat Move phase before movement (ie, no moving past ANZAC or US ships through one SZ to conduct combat in another SZ surrounding an island on the other side of ships)
So if the US blockcades the SZs around Hawaii then Japan would have to fight in those SZ's a space away from Hawaii on one turn before next turn moving to the Hawaii SZ?
True, unless the Japanese ships begin the turn in one of those sea zones.