September 23, 2017, 09:30:38 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
  Print  
Author Topic: AAP40 FAQ  (Read 33623 times)
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« on: February 05, 2010, 06:07:33 pm »
0

The AAP40 FAQ is now up on Larry's website.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 06:09:18 pm by Krieghund » Logged
Van_Trump
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 104


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2010, 01:41:12 pm »
0

Can ANZAC (or UK) land fighters on unoccupied Dutch territories during non-combat move?
Does this count as taking possession of territories?
Logged
moompix
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 118


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2010, 01:57:29 pm »
0

Can ANZAC (or UK) land fighters on unoccupied Dutch territories during non-combat move?
Does this count as taking possession of territories?


The United Kingdom and ANZAC

... As a result, they are free to move units into these territories as a noncombat movement at any time, as long as they have not yet been captured by Japan. They may actually take control of them (gaining their IPC income) by moving land units into them.


The answers to your questions are
Yes
No
Logged
Col. Flagg
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 34



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2010, 10:29:03 pm »
0

The final wording of the Submarine question from the 8 page long thread is not the wording in the PDF FAQ (doesn't include the 2nd sentence about shooting at a group of transports)
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2010, 06:01:13 am »
0

No, it isn't.  The change didn't make it in on time.  It will be added at the next update.
Logged
allboxcars
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 724


Bellum omnium contra omnes (SPNBS)


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2010, 06:56:19 am »
0

(bump)
And hey KH, any insight into when we can expect a pdf of the Rules online somewhere?

Be nice to have them on hand for quick reference when reading some of these more detailed posts!


#447
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2010, 07:01:05 am »
0

I wish I knew.
Logged
Razor
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 963


A&A addict


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2010, 12:38:15 pm »
0

It will be added at the next update.

You plan on annual updates ?

I love you guys, we are all part of a game developement in progress.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2010, 12:47:41 pm »
0

It's hardly unusual for new questions to arise as people gain more experience with the game.  The only FAQ that hasn't been updated so far is AA42, and it's not very old.
Logged
Imperious Leader
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*******
Posts: 15220


Sgt. Saunders 351st, King Company


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2010, 04:25:00 pm »
0

Topic set as sticky for obvious reasons.
Logged
LuckyDay
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 549



View Profile
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2010, 08:18:44 am »
0

Still not clear on this 'declaration of war' & 'unprovoked attack', even after reading the redone format in the FAQ.  Played it different ways a few times, and just want to grasp the way it is intended so we know what becomes the house rules..

The US cannot declare war on Japan unless they are attacked by Japan or an unprovoked attack by Japan on UK or ANZAC. 

So, if the UK/ANZAC attack Japan first, can Japan counter without bringing the US into the war?  This would not be an 'unprovoked attack' by Japan, but would require the declaration of war by Japan on the subsequent turn to UK/ANZAC.  Japan could certainly defend itself in the UK/ANZAC attacks, but if they go offensive their next turn it changes the status of combatants.  It seems that this is indeed what it is meant, however the wording still seems ambiguously vague.

Declarations of war must occur at the beginning of a Combat Move phase before movement (ie, no moving past ANZAC or US ships through one SZ to conduct combat in another SZ surrounding an island on the other side of ships)

 So if the US blockcades the SZs around Hawaii then Japan would have to fight in those SZ's a space away from Hawaii on one turn before next turn moving to the Hawaii SZ?
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2010, 09:05:04 am »
0

Still not clear on this 'declaration of war' & 'unprovoked attack', even after reading the redone format in the FAQ.  Played it different ways a few times, and just want to grasp the way it is intended so we know what becomes the house rules..

The US cannot declare war on Japan unless they are attacked by Japan or an unprovoked attack by Japan on UK or ANZAC.  

The phrase "unprovoked attack" no longer appears in the political rules.  Attacks may not be done without a declaration of war.  The US may not declare war on Japan before the Collect Income phase of its third turn unless Japan first declares war on it or makes an unprovoked declaration of war against UK/ANZAC.


So, if the UK/ANZAC attack Japan first, can Japan counter without bringing the US into the war?

Yes.


This would not be an 'unprovoked attack' by Japan, but would require the declaration of war by Japan on the subsequent turn to UK/ANZAC.  Japan could certainly defend itself in the UK/ANZAC attacks, but if they go offensive their next turn it changes the status of combatants.  It seems that this is indeed what it is meant, however the wording still seems ambiguously vague.

Again, the phrase "unprovoked attack" no longer appears in the political rules, and attacks may not be done without a declaration of war.  It seems to me that declaring war upon someone that has already declared war upon you is not "unprovoked".  Forgive me, but I'm not seeing any ambiguity.


Declarations of war must occur at the beginning of a Combat Move phase before movement (ie, no moving past ANZAC or US ships through one SZ to conduct combat in another SZ surrounding an island on the other side of ships)

Correct.


So if the US blockcades the SZs around Hawaii then Japan would have to fight in those SZ's a space away from Hawaii on one turn before next turn moving to the Hawaii SZ?

True, unless the Japanese ships begin the turn in one of those sea zones.
Logged
DDG19
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 81


Game anyone??


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2010, 04:06:33 pm »
0

Quote from: LuckyDay
So if the US blockades the SZs around Hawaii then Japan would have to fight in those SZ's a space away from Hawaii on one turn before next turn moving to the Hawaii SZ?

Quote from: Krieghund
True, unless the Japanese ships begin the turn in one of those sea zones.

Sorry to ask for a clarification but this situation has come up more than once: 

During the non-combat phase, an opposing power moves into a SZ occupied by the ships from a neutral country.   The next turn, the opposing power declares war on the neutral country with the intent to attack it's mainland during the combat phase.  Do they have to attack the ships in the co-occupied SZ or can they go right to the land battle w/bombardment?

It would appear from your answer above that the attacker would be able to go straight to its objective, thereby avoiding the sea battle.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4660


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2010, 07:21:57 pm »
0

After declaring war, the ships would follow the normal rules for ships starting in a hostile sea zone, with the exception that transports may be loaded in the starting sea zone.  The situation I was referring to was if the US had blocking ships in sea zone 25 and Japan noncombat moved into that sea zone.  The Japanese ships would be in sea zone 25 with US ships when Japan declared war on its next turn.  The Japanese ships would then be able to move into sea zone 26 and attack Hawaii without fighting the US ships in sea zone 25, thus avoiding the block.  Any US ships in sea zone 26 would still have to be fought.  If the Japanese ships were in sea zone 26 when war was declared, they would still have to fight any US ships there before landing troops in Hawaii.
Logged
DDG19
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 81


Game anyone??


View Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2010, 02:08:21 pm »
0

Thanks, Krieghund, that clears up that issue.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2017 Support Drive

Read about this support drive.
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Field Marchal Games
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2015 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!