I just need some clarification on the use of subs.
Can a sub attack an unescorted battleship or cruiser in the combat turn? If so, how does the warship defend? Can I keep rolling for the sub until the ship is sunk?
I love the A&A concept but find the rule book a bit unclear in places so I may be asking for more advice.
yes, a sub can attack any naval unit. the submarine fires, and unless a destroyer is present, if it hits, the naval unit is removed and does not get to return fire (unless its a battleship, then it takes two hits to sink). if a destroyer is present, the submarine has no special ability and attacks like any other naval unit.
Krieghund has final say on all rule clarification though. you might want to post this in Axis & Allies: Spring 1942 section for more advice