April 23, 2014, 09:16:08 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: What if fighters that defend an SBR have their territory captured during combat?  (Read 3385 times)
OutsideLime
A&A.org Bomber
*****
Posts: 2169



View Profile
« on: May 21, 2009, 07:29:28 am »
0

Hello folks,

During an SBR, the defender can scramble fighters to help defend. Those fighters are not allowed to help defend during normal combats in the same turn in their territory.

So what happens if SBR-defending fighters survive their dogfight, then their territory is captured out from underneath them? I understand that they can't participate in the combat, but are they simply destroyed? Or do they get a chance to fly to safety?

Thanks!

~Josh
Logged
Battling Maxo
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 8202



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2009, 12:20:48 pm »
0

Although not defending I believe they are considered in the air during the attack so they shouldnt be destroyed. However, I'm not sure if they can move their full movement on ncm or just 1 space like planes on carrier which was sunk.... I'm thinking the latter. Lets see what Krieg has to say.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2009, 05:36:13 pm by Battlingmaxo » Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4321


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2009, 12:31:18 pm »
0

There is no official rule for this situation.  An argument could be made that they have one movement point to land, as fighters whose carriers are destroyed do.  An equally valid argument could be made that they are destroyed, since there is no specific mention that these fighters also get a move to land.

Since the optional fighter escort and interceptor rules in AA50 indicate that they do get to move one space, it can probably be assumed that was the intent here as well.  This may be a good FAQ candidate.
Logged
Battling Maxo
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 8202



View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2009, 12:38:16 pm »
0

Boy , that was fast. Maybe you should change your moniker to Blitzkrieghund.
Logged
OutsideLime
A&A.org Bomber
*****
Posts: 2169



View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2009, 05:15:28 am »
0

Okay, well how does it get proposed as a FAQ question, and to whom? Thanks!

~Josh
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4321


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2009, 06:54:33 pm »
0

Consider it proposed.
Logged
murraymoto
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 232



View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2009, 01:56:52 pm »
0

There is no official rule for this situation.  An argument could be made that they have one movement point to land, as fighters whose carriers are destroyed do.  An equally valid argument could be made that they are destroyed, since there is no specific mention that these fighters also get a move to land.

Not that I would necessarily get a vote as to the FAQ per se, but I would vote for the fighters to get a move point, ie CV fighters as mentioned.  I would argue that it would be more likely in the rules to make note of what is destroyed than not and without a direct statement as such, that remaining fighters are destroyed, they would be free to move to possible safety.  As all combat is simultaneous, they would still be in the air during the battle.
 
Great question OutsideLime!
Logged
OutsideLime
A&A.org Bomber
*****
Posts: 2169



View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2009, 02:11:41 pm »
0

Thanks! I personally believe that they should get that extra movement point to find a landing-spot; the similar scenario of destroyed carriers sets a sort of precedent. Just wanted to see if there was an official ruling on it.

~Josh
Logged
xzorn
A&A.org Mechanized Infantry
**
Posts: 89



View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 08, 2009, 05:11:35 pm »
0

Who bombs a territory that they intend to capture?
Logged
Joe Cold
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 5297


A Real American Hero


View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2009, 08:02:38 pm »
0

Boy , that was fast. Maybe you should change your moniker to Blitzkrieghund.
lol good one, Max!
Logged
maverick_76
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 655


Eye of the Tiger


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2010, 01:16:58 pm »
0

I thought that a SBR was considered combat and thus, you cannot conduct two different attacks in one turn on the same territory. I guess I was wrong in assuming this.
Logged
Battling Maxo
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*
*******
Posts: 8202



View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2010, 03:35:26 pm »
0

I thought that a SBR was considered combat and thus, you cannot conduct two different attacks in one turn on the same territory. I guess I was wrong in assuming this.

 Your assumption is correct, you can do both.
Logged
maverick_76
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 655


Eye of the Tiger


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2010, 03:38:15 pm »
0

Man that kinda makes me mad because in last night's Europe game I intentionally did not invade Leningrad so I could SBR it. Next time I know that I can SBR, then invade.
Logged
knp7765
A&A.org Bomber
*****
Posts: 2425


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: February 08, 2011, 04:12:34 pm »
0

Who bombs a territory that they intend to capture?
In this game, SBR hits cost the owner of the factory IPCs that must be returned to the bank.  So, it could be advantageous to perform an SBR as well as an invasion of the same territory, unless that territory is an enemy capital, in which case the SBR would simply be lowering your plunder if you take the territory.
In the later games, like AA50 and the 1940 games, where you put damage chips under the factory, it is not a good idea to SBR if you also intend to invade.  If you capture the territory and the factory, then you have to spend the money to repair the SBR damage.  I would guess the only possible benefit in that case is if the defender scrambles his fighters as interceptors in the SBR, they can't defend in the invasion so it might be easier to conquer that territory.
Logged
OutsideLime
A&A.org Bomber
*****
Posts: 2169



View Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2011, 12:57:20 pm »
0

Who bombs a territory that they intend to capture?

Since the invention of bombs, I would say just about everyone.

~Josh
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2014 Support Drive
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Field Marshal Games

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2014 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!