I meant how the ocean in SZ1 actually wraps to the edge of the board.
you mean how SZ 1 does not wrap to the side of the board, it stops at that white stuff at the top of Canada and top of the board..., being the ice cap. your nuclear subs can go under it, but unless you have that tech advancement, no, it doesn't connect to W Canada. No surface or subs can go from SZ 1 to 65 or 64 or vice versa. (for clarification, there are no nuc subs in the game)
As for the top and bottom of the board, see next quote, about how the top and bottom of the board does not wrap.
apparently I should have posted the rulebook excerpt. Thanks to TexCapPrezJimmy for it.
"Units can move between adjacent spaces (those that share a common border). The game board wraps around horizontally. Territories and sea zones on the right edge of the board are adjacent to territories and sea zones on the left edge. (Note that sea zone 20 connects to sea zone 55; sea zone 21 connects to sea zone 44; and sea zone 25 connects to sea zone 43.) The top and bottom edges of the board do not wrap around.
No changes in the rules errata to apply to SZ1, or any of the other SZ on the edges, so this list is exhaustive which totals 3 SZ on the right edge and 3 SZ on the left edge. Additionally, if you look at the line about territories and sea zones on the right edge connecting to the adjacent ones on the left edge, SZ 1 DOES NOT TOUCH EITHER THE LEFT OR THE RIGHT edge of the board, hence, again, not adjacent.
Everything in Canada on the left side of the board is Eastern Canada, that touches SZ 1. Everything in Canada on the right side of the board is Western Canada
you must be looking at this upside down
are you serious? put the boards together, (ya know it comes with 2, or if you printed it out, you have one all taped together) and look at it with north, ie Canada at the top (farthest) away from you. E Canada is in the upper LEFT corner of the board and W Canada is in the upper RIGHT corner of the board.
(in Classic, Revised & AA50, E Canada has always been in the same spot. And yes, so has W Canada)
I'll take one of those newcastles, man, I thought this was a pretty straight forward concept to grasp.
Where's Krieghund when I need him?