August 29, 2014, 06:03:35 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Help support TripleA software development. Search me
  Articles  
   Home   Help Login Register AACalc  
Loading
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 »
  Print  
Author Topic: AA50 Rules Errata  (Read 85999 times)
Driel310
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 168



View Profile
« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2008, 05:32:09 am »
0

That is what I used to think as well, but since IL posted something drastically different above I wonder what the rulebook literally says (if said anything at all).  wink
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4377


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2008, 06:16:42 am »
0

When a destroyer is present, a submarine loses its unique capabilities regarding movement, submerging, and "surprise strike."  If all enemy destroyers are destroyed during the course of a combat, do submarines regain their capabilities during that combat?  It would appear that they do, in the area of submerging against aircraft.

Yes.  All abilities cancelled by enemy destroyers are regained if those destroyers are sunk.


Secondly, do submarines perform "surprise strike" at the start of every round of combat or just the first round of combat?  (Again, if enemy destroyers are present, there is no "suprise strike.")

Every round.


A second clarification, please.

May unescorted transports enter a seazone that contains only enemy submarines and ignore them in order to perform an amphibious assault?

Yes.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4377


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2008, 06:32:08 am »
0

tanks can blitz thru a territory that contains an enemy AA gun or factory.

No, they can't.


If your ally builds a additional factory and his home territory is under enemy occupation and the enemy takes the territory that he built the factory in, then you can take that factory and place your units in that factory as long as his capital is under enemy occupation.

This applies to any IC that's not in a capital, not just new ones.


Planes can move totally independently of the carrier, So the carriers move is no consequence as long as the fighter moves no more than 4 spaces.

Suicide missions are still not allowed, so you have to demonstrate that a plane has a possible safe landing space when you make a combat movement.


Subs cant move thru SZ that contains enemy destroyers. But the vice versa of this is possible.

Correct.


Bombers that have paratrooper capability can still attack, but no SBR. Also, both the infantry allocated for Paratrooper must start with the bomber and the drop is in the first enemy land zone entered.

Correct.  Also, the bomber must attack the same territory in which the paratrooper was dropped.


Seems to be some issue on sea invasions and the rules regarding attackers ability to retreat. To me it seems they can retreat land units.

Yes, in amphibious assaults units coming in by land may now retreat.  Units coming in by sea still may not.


Kwangtung can be occupied by the Chinese, but UK gets the IPC and its not counted as a Chinese territory.

Correct.


The US fighter that starts in China can never be rebuilt or placed.

Correct.


NO other units can enter China, but can enter Manchuria, Kiangsu, or Kwangtung. So the Soviets can capture Manchuria and UK or USA can place air units or whatever in that space.

There is no restriction on Allied units entering Chinese territory.


Placement of fighters: you can place a new fighter built on a carrier ( even an allies carrier) as long as its adjacent from your factory.

You can't place a fighter on an ally's carrier, but you can on your own carrier.


You can only offload into one enemy land territory. No bridging into two enemy territory's from one transport.

Correct.
Logged
General Di Caro
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 165


View Profile
« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2008, 07:34:58 am »
0

Do defending submarines fire a "surprise strike" if enemy warships (surface and/or subs) enter the seazone and choose not to ignore them?  (of course, destroyers negate this special ability).

For instand, a battleship and cruiser enter a seazone that contains an enemy sub.  The battleship and cruiser wish to attack the sub instead of ignoring it.  Does the defending sub fire first?

Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4377


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2008, 07:40:13 am »
0

Yes.  That's the hazard of hunting subs without a destroyer - the predator can become the prey.  evil

Of course, the sub can also submerge before any shots are fired.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2008, 07:41:49 am by Krieghund » Logged
General Di Caro
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 165


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2008, 07:49:28 am »
0

The new sub rules make for more fluid motion across the oceans, which make sense.  Even an armada is just a blip in the vast Pacific.

The 'hidden movement' special rule in Guadalcanal demonstrates this well.
Logged
Lynxes
A&A.org Destroyer
*****
Posts: 1602


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: November 20, 2008, 03:53:53 am »
0

Great to get quick answers Krieghund!

Another one: apparently there are no Chinese control markers in the game (I haven't got mine yet, just looked at the pics), but I guess this is since they can only enter Manchuria, Kiangsu and Kwangtung? I.e., a Chinese attack on Manchuria means that Manchuria is Chinese controlled and if there's an IC there it will then not be able to produce since China has no IPCs? And this is the same if for example Soviet Union attacks Manchuria since it is then liberated to revert to Chinese control?

Will not be very common in games of course, but good to get clarification.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4377


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: November 20, 2008, 04:13:30 am »
0

Another one: apparently there are no Chinese control markers in the game (I haven't got mine yet, just looked at the pics), but I guess this is since they can only enter Manchuria, Kiangsu and Kwangtung? I.e., a Chinese attack on Manchuria means that Manchuria is Chinese controlled and if there's an IC there it will then not be able to produce since China has no IPCs? And this is the same if for example Soviet Union attacks Manchuria since it is then liberated to revert to Chinese control?

This is all correct.  If there is an Axis control marker on Manchuria or Kiangsu, it belongs to that Axis power; otherwise it belongs to China.
Logged
Funcioneta
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 12858


AA50 '42 2010 League Champion


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: November 20, 2008, 10:16:27 am »
0

Another one about China (this is very uncommon but still...):

What if China conquers Manchuria and then Germany takes Manchuria? Reverts to japanese control or becomes german controled?
Logged
General Di Caro
A&A.org Artillery
**
Posts: 165


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: November 20, 2008, 12:37:09 pm »
0

If Germany ever takes Manchuria.. you will have won the game by then!!!  Those are some long range tanks.
Logged
jeffdestroyer
A&A.org Submarine
****
Posts: 936



View Profile
« Reply #25 on: November 20, 2008, 01:54:18 pm »
0

The German Manchuria question is a good one.  It would likely be a lone armor separated from Africa or an Italian transport with armor that ran from the Med.
  Not to likely to happen in AA50 with the long distances, but anything can happen in long games.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4377


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: November 20, 2008, 04:01:53 pm »
0

Japan starts the game in control of Manchuria so in the above example, the territory would revert to Japanese control.

Craig

Sorry, Craig, but that's incorrect.  China is considered to be the original owner of Manchuria, as indicated by the China marker on the map.  If Germany takes Manchuria, it becomes controlled by Germany.  Also, if an Ally takes Manchuria from the Axis, it is liberated to Chinese control.

I've talked this over with Larry, and it's going to be in the FAQ.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2008, 04:04:44 pm by Krieghund » Logged
Bardoly
A&A.org Heavy Bomber
*******
Posts: 9277


USS Battleship Texas


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: November 20, 2008, 04:17:54 pm »
0

Could someone clarify please,

One of the UK National Objectives states the following:

"Gain 5 IPCs if Allied powers control any territory originally under Japan's control."

This seems to indicate that if China or Russia captures Manchuria, and Japan doesn't take it back, then on UK's turn he would receive this National Objective bonus.  This might be more probable in the '42 setup, because of the turn order, Russia could capture it, then UK would receive the bonus then China would build units all before Japan's turn.
Logged
Silent Observer
A&A.org Infantry
*
Posts: 27


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: November 20, 2008, 04:21:18 pm »
0

As i understood it, Manchuria is originally a Chinese territory and therefore do NOT count towards the British NO.
Logged
Krieghund
A&A.org Battleship
*
******
Posts: 4377


A&A Developer and Playtester


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: November 20, 2008, 04:36:33 pm »
0

As i understood it, Manchuria is originally a Chinese territory and therefore do NOT count towards the British NO.

Correct.  Any time the rules refer to the original controller of a territory, it means the symbol printed on the map.  Otherwise, the original controller would be different for the two different scenarios, and the NOs would play differently.  China is considered the original owner of Manchuria and Kiangsu.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

2014 Support Drive
Support Level
Forum Username
Note: payee will appear as Livid Labs, LLC.
Buy Axis & Allies
  • Axis & Allies 1942 [Amazon]
  • A&A Pacific 1940 [Amazon]
  • A&A Europe 1940 [FMG]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • A&A D-Day [Amazon]
  • A&A Battle of the Bulge [Amazon]
  • [eBay]
  • [eBay]
  • WWII Themed Combat Dice [FMG]



Axis and Allies.org Official Gold Sponsor: Field Marshal Games

Axis & Allies.org Official Silver Sponsor: Historical Board Gaming
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP © 2014 Livid Labs, LLC. All rights reserved.
Axis & Allies is registered trademark of Wizards of the Coast, a division of Hasbro, Inc.
Note: the copyright below is for the forum software only.
Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!